We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect a good night's sleep but the hot tubs are nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tecopa Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tecopa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tecopa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Tecopa B&B and Inns
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't expect a good night's sleep but the hot tubs are nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Our room was clean but short on amenities: we didn't expect a TV, but there was also no clock, radio, kleenex, nor any cleaning during our 2-night stay. Worst of all was the heating system: it was very loud and cycled on and off frequently during the night, so it was hard to sleep. And the tap water smelled sulphury. On the plus side, the hot tubs were the great: perfect temperature, clean and soothing after a long hike (and no smell). The food at the Bistro was wholesome and delicious, if a bit overpriced, with friendly service and atmosphere. If you stay here, don't forget to go to China Ranch date farm, and do the hike from there -- magical!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    18
    2
    7
See reviews for
16
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This motel in the desert is spare but quite clean. Biggest problem is that the mattresses are awful! The mineral springs tubs, right beside the rooms, are sparkling clean and straight from the earth. Pastels Bistro (closed Tue/Wed) is excellent and such a rare find in this little town out in the desert.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Quiet place by Death Valley. The rooms are ok, nothing special and a bit worn down. It's not bad, but not really worth the money we paid for the night ($110 without breakfast). The hot springs tubs are a plus. Unfortunately the famous bistro was closed at the time we were there, so we had to drive to Shoshone.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

As is true with most non-chain motels, there is an element of adventure. They generally have far more personality, and a few quirks. We enjoyed spending the night at the Tecopa Hot Springs Resort.
We picked Tecopa because we had spent the previous night in Beatty (north of Death Valley), all that day in Death Valley, and were driving to the Mojave/Joshua Tree the next day, so Tecopa was the logical place to spend the night. We had considered staying in the larger town of Pahrump, but, it was 45 minutes out of our way and the majority it's restaurants (and all of it's hotels) were part of casinos (which we have no interest in).
There is very little in Tecopa. It's at the junction of two state highways, has mineral springs & some interesting scenery, and it has a large number of RV parks. There are no restaurants or grocery stores. There is a bistro at the resort, but it was closed the night we were there - - so, we had to drive to Pahrump for dinner afterall. The main area of Tecopa Springs has a spring fed bath house, but since the resort had it's own, we did not use it (and I don't know what it's like or what it costs).
At the resort, the water from the spring is run into 'hot-tub sized' pools. The water is not actually 'hot', it's warmer than a swimming pool, but cooler than a bath. I must say that it felt great to relax in the spring-tub after a day sight seeing at Death Valley.
The resort itself seems 75% 'RV Park' and 25% 'motel'. It has, I think, a large regular RV clientele, as the people checking-in ahead of me were frequent/repeat customers. The lady at the desk was friendly, and helpful, and there was quite a lot of (local?) artist's work in the desk building and around the property. The resort and buildings are not new, but the room we had was large, clean and well maintained with a good air conditioner unit. The bathroom was clean and in good shape - be careful as the tub is higher than is sometimes the norm, and I slipped (without incident) stepping out of the tub. The room has a television and a VCR - but there is no television reception in that part of the desert. This was not an issue for us --- as, we don't watch much TV, however, it could be an issue if traveling with children.
We awoke to the sound of owls - more than I remember hearing at one time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil1ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

For a place which features an art gallery in the lobby, it's pretty astonishing that the rooms have bare walls and curtains which are falling off the rods. That was our first impression of the 'Resort'. When we tried to get into the mineral baths, they were all in use, and if the 'resort' is full, good luck actually getting into one when you so choose. Once you get into the baths, there is a note up that says to limit your time to 20 minutes if folks are waiting to use them. I'm sorry, but for $106, we should not have to worry about leaving the mineral baths after twenty minutes. It's hard to relax when you've got your eye on the clock.

It wouldn't cost the management much to make this a nice place, along the lines of Benton Hot Springs or Calistoga. Put a coffee maker in the room for one. Add a few pieces of art to the barren walls. Get rid of the empty one gallon plastic grow pots that dot the front entry to the rooms. Fix the peeling paint in the baths. I 'get' funky, but this isn't desert funk, it's lack of concern for their property.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank juliethegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

Don't expect modern, pristine - this is a place of character - complete with on-site hot springs which have to be tried. Certainly helped me sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyKrumlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deckerville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Spent 1 night, room nice, hot spring/bath wonderful, restaurant outstanding food. This is in a place you wouldn't expect much, it isn't fancy but the owner was great and we had a very good time. Don't forget to visit the China Date Ranch. If you want to go back in time this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quenie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tecopa
0.4 mi away
Delight's Hot Springs Resort
7.5 mi away
Shoshone Inn
Shoshone Inn
#1 of 1 in Shoshone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tecopa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tecopa Hot Springs Resort

Property: Tecopa Hot Springs Resort
Address: 860 Hot Springs Road, Tecopa, CA 92389
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Tecopa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tecopa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tecopa Hot Springs Resort offers a wide variety of Lodging, R.V. Spaces, Camping, Mineral Hot Springs, Tecopa Basin Artists Group Art Gallery, Well Being Services, A Bistro (Restaurant), A Serene Environment, Breath-Taking Views, and most of all, a place to come Relax and Rejuvenate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tecopa Hot Springs Hotel Tecopa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing