We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meeks Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tahoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meeks Bay Resort
Save
You added Meeks Bay Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahoma
Beds UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed at Meek's Bay for 3 nights in an RV. We had plot R2 which is close to the toilets & showers & very close to the beach. Site was very clean and the toilets were cleaned daily to a good standard & kept clean. Didn't use the showers as we had the RV, but they looked very clean & are "wet room style" so spacious.

The beach is wonderful & Lake Tahoe a pleasure to swim in, so clear & clean although a little cold! You can hire speed boats , canoes or paddle boards from the marina at Meek's Bay although we didn't get round to it unfortunately. The scenery is beautiful as you face the Nevada mountains and have pine trees all around you. A snack bar on the beach serving beverages & snacks like burgers & nachos etc at pretty good value. Ducks & Canadian geese walk around the beach which is quite bizzare as your mind is continually fooled as you think you are sitting on a beach by the sea!

The staff were very friendly & really helpful. We had run out of fire wood one evening & there was none in the shop but the staff delivered us some to out plot - no hassle at all.

There is a bus that stops outside the resort & you can travel around the lake with ease. Make sure you hop on it & go for a meal at Gar Woods in Carnelian Bay - absolutely beautiful lake front restaurant. They have a very interesting drinks menu where you can order a range of Wet Woody drinks & the food menu is excellent too.

The temperature drops dramatically at night so take a jumper - remember you are at an elevation of 7,000 feet! You are also in bear country so all rules about food & smellies in bear boxes apply. If you are in an RV though you can leave everything inside it as long as you draw the curtains.

I will definately return & next time will stay in one of the cabins or lodges that are here too. The cabins have balconies that hang over the waters edge - just beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Staveley-Stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Holy smokes! What a terrible resort! Evil....truly evil staff. Worst camping evperience EVER due entirely to staff from dock boys all the way up to hostile management. STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK! The boss came to our site at 9pm at nite and harrassed my wife and kidz and told them we had to move to another area only there was no where else to go! Then called us liars and told us that because of forest service regs we could not stay in the overflow site they appointed us to. Took our money then told us to get out. Will go down as a traumatic stay for my family. Think i have grounds to sue!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chad l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tahoma hotels

Atascadero, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I have camped at Meeks many times over the last 20yrs loved staying with friends and family due to the beautiful beach. But ever sence the older couple that used to run the reservations and store left the place has gone way down hill! The bathrooms are so dirty, toilet clogged showers cold! Not fun taking a cold shower after a day on the lake... way to much trash around the campsites left. (shame on you to those who leave trash in Tahoe.) who ever is taking care of this amazing spiritial peace of land, shame on you too! for not caring about this land! I wish this was a state owned park so at-least it would be taken care of.
FYI for travelers to the area,Sugarpine is a great place to camp and CampBliss is very beautiful too!
Frankly i really dont think the camp host even read this stuff.
PLEASE START TAKING CARE OF MEEKS BAY, DONT LET THIS PLACE BE NEGLECTED ANY LONGER. CHARISH IT LIKE A FINE GEM...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank glenda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We first visited Meek's Bay in 2009. We camped on a small site within close proximity of the bathrooms. When we arrived, our site was not clean. It was littered with trash from previous visitors. The bathrooms were not clean and were run down. The showers ran cold. At night, bears walked around the tents, rattled the dumpsters, and caused people to scream throughout the site all night long. They pulled the door off one RV, knocked over the trash cans in the bathroom, and tried to enter one tent where children were eating snacks. They banged on the bear boxes, and made it difficult to sleep at night. There were no pellet guns to deter the bears from visiting the guests. The guests were not monitored from leaving food out on their tables and in boxes that bears could easily rip apart. On the contrary, the beach was exquisite with white sand, sand bars in the water, and a beautiful enclave for swimming. We vowed it was a holy place - just as the indians believed. We stayed for a week, but had mixed feeling about returning. However, the beach brought us back for a second try. This time, the site was littered, the bathrooms were not clean, the showers were littered with razors and hair, and parties kept us up until 1am. Bathrooms were cleaned once during our stay, at 8am just when people were rising. Surprisingly, they were constructing a new bathroom which disturbed our quiet vacation. We wondered why this was not put off until after the high season - but we were glad to see the upgrade being made. The beach was as spectacular as we remembered it. The bears walked around but were not as disturbing as the year previous. We heard several coyotes barking within yards of our camp. We were not sure if they would invade our site, or attack the people in tents. Once again, we found it difficult to sleep. We hope that the Washoe tribe will take better care to clean between guests, to schedule bathroom cleanings when people are not using the bathroom, to monitor noise after 10pm and groceries left out at night, and to think of ways to deter the bears from coming to the campsites. This might mean having someone sit with a pellet gun to scare them off as they do in Yosemite. As everyone knows, if bears eat human food, they are not programmed to hunt the food they were meant to consume. This will ruin the species.

With a few improvements, this could be a very special place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We made RV reservations about 10 months prior to our arrival and paid about $250 to stay for 5 days. About six weeks before our trip we had to cancell due to financhial reasons. I called to cancel and was told that my credit card would be credited. After a couple of more calls and e-mails there was still no refund given. The reservation confirmation said that there would be a $75 charge for cancelations two weeks or more prior, and 50% with less than two weeks notice. This portion of the confirmation was hand highlighted and mailed to me. In August we still had no refund. I called again and was told that the camping spots were non refundable and that I should have read the fine print beyond the small print that was highlighted which said no refunds for camping spots. The staff was extremely difficult to deal with and rude at times. They have a nice spot on the Lake and they think that this gives them the right to take advantage of their patrons, treat them badly and deny refunds even with plenty of notice. Beware!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ekchity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

The Kehlet mansion at meeks bay resort is exactly what it bills itself as; a value for a seven bedrrom house with lake tahoe surrounding it on three sides. If you have researched the prices for renting lake front houses at tahoe, you will understand that this house is a great value. it does not have manicured gardens-it is natural around the house. it does have a private sand beach on a shallow area of the lake. the views from just about every room are wonderful. we kayaked and enjoyed the views for four nights. Can not wait to return - and I am someone who enjoys five star hotels. this house does not have tv or stereo, could not find any wine glasses, and had limited serving utensils and dishes, but it did have a wonderful view, great wood floors, and was build in the 30s.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank newcastleca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Yes Meek's Bay Resort is old and there isn't a TV or phone but the unbelieveable beauty, peace and quite are a little bit of heaven on earth. It's no wonder the Washoe people consider Lake Tahoe the center of the universe. The staff were friendly and helpful, it's a good idea to take snacks as the "coffee shop" is expensive. My entire family gives a big "thumbs up"; if you're looking for a peaceful location with views that won't quit then Meek's Bay is your place to stay!!

  • Liked — The views from the room
  • Disliked — The rooms do need to be updated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanabear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoma
10.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
10.4 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#19 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
11.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
14.5 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meeks Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeks Bay Resort

Property: Meeks Bay Resort
Address: 7941 Emerald Bay Rd., Meeks Bay, Tahoma, CA 96142
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahoma
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Meeks Bay Hotel Tahoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing