We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat the View...or the Service!”
Review of Holiday House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday House
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Reviewed July 28, 2006

We stayed at the Holiday House in Lake Tahoe July 22-24, 2006. Accommodations were exactly as expected..not plush but very good with a nice lay-out to the rooms. Each has a living room with murphy bed or fold-out couch, plus a seperate bedroom with queen bed. All include fridge, microwave, and stove so you can cook in the room. Grills are provided outside. Since Tahoe is expensive, this can provide a savings of sort. The best things about the place are: the VIEWS and the personalized service. The owner was very helpful and attentive to our needs...I am a smoker and knew it was not allowed in the rooms so she was helpful in placing me in an end unit where I could smoke outside and not bother other guests. The motel is at the top of Lake Tahoe on the CA side with unecumbered views of the lake...beautiful. A very good stay. Highly recommended. Especially for couples traveling with children in need of some private time and romance. FYI...there's a full-length mirror at the head of the bed in the private bedroom. Hope you all enjoy it as much as we did!

Stayed: June 2006
7  Thank gotarheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2006

This is a small motel in Tahoe Vista, just outside Kings Beach on the north Tahoe shore. It has 8 appartments on two levels. It is only 20 feet away from a rocky beach. You can hear waves from the room.
Appartments: we spent three nights in a one bedroom apartment. It has one bedroom with queen bad, bathroom with shower (no tub), living room with portable queen bad and small kitchen. Also, small TV with cable, fridge, microwave, pots, plates and cups. It has all you need, it is pretty clean but long overdue for renovation. It has 70's look and feel. So everything would be perfect if price is right. But here is what I think:
1. This is a "doggy" place. The owner is friendly to dogs and it comes with the price. We did not know that and were probably the only family with no dogs. Some other visitors let their dog poop in front of our door and did not clean.
2. Location is excellent, which also raises the price. It is next door to marina and pretty nice restaurant.
3. If they remodel the object and rooms, and there are no dogs, price would be right and it would be 5 stars. Otherwise, $200/night, incl. tax is too much.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank J_likes_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
0.4 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
#7 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tahoe Vistana Inn
Tahoe Vistana Inn
#6 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
90 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday House

Address: 7276 North Lake Blvd., P.O.Box 229, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: $201 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday House Hotel Tahoe Vista
Holiday Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing