We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll enjoy staying here and want to keep coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Live Oak, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You'll enjoy staying here and want to keep coming back”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The staff and activities are the best. Lake Tahoe is majestic and this is a lakeside property. The rooms have a "Mountain" theme and all have full kitchens if you decide you want to fix your meals yourself. Otherwise, there are lots of great restaurants in the area. We enjoy it so much that we don't "exchange" our week through RCI or Grand Pacific Resorts - we would rather stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gprfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    46
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
103
130
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We spent a week at the Lodge, trading a banked timeshare for a week at Tahoe Vista. The cottages were great, even though we had a Studio. The lodge funishings and decorations were really well done. The staff and maintenance crew were very welcoming and professional. We were halfway back and it was very quiet. Do not get one of the front cottages, as they border the road and would be very noisy. The pool was closed due to it being winter, but the spa was great. Sitting in the Spa while it snowed and looking at Lake Tahoe can't be beat! They have robes for you to wear to the Spa, but you need to ask for then when you check it, at the office.The view from the decks are awsome-they look over the Lake and all the mountains. They offer activites daily and one of our favorites, was a talk by a local Historian-very interesting, As for food, there is a Safeway just up the street (you could walk), try Jason's on the Beach-fabtastic Hamburgers! Take a ride to South Shore and through Nevada. When you get to Incline Village, be sure to take the local road. I think it's called Lakeshore Blvd-the homes are amazing and so well suited to the Mountains.
We plan to return again, for sure!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We made a reservation at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge almost two months prior to our visit through Hotel.com. Two weeks before our stay, we re-confirmed the reservation and were assured everything was in order. We arrived with our printed confirmation in hand only to be told that the resort had no availability. AND, our credit card had already been billed for the entire stay!!

They blamed it on Expedia saying that Expedia was called three days prior to our arrival and told they had to relocate us. I called Hotels.com (not Expedia) and they had no record of a phone call from Red Wolf Lodge. Here we were with our kids on a much anticipated ski vacation and no place to stay! The guy at the front desk finally got on the phone and found a hotel down the road and relocated us. The new place was a dump! Our vacation was ruined!!

Be very, very careful about making a reservation here. Even if it's confirmed, it's not guaranteed! The guy at the front desk said this happens all the time; that even if we had made the reservation a year in advance, it wouldn't have been guaranteed. He said they bumped four other reservations that same day!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank PacificaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockln, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

This was a last minute find. What a treat. My husband & I enjoyed the quaint cottage. It had a full kitchen, fireplace, seperate bedroom, jacuzzi tub. The walk to the pier & pool was beautiful, we also walked to eat lunch the next day at the Blue Onion. We are excited to return to the Red Wolf, I would recommend this place in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginabina41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We had a great time at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the room was clean, warm and inviting. We had wonderful views of the lake and easy access to the beach as well as their pool and spa. The lodge was located near many great local restaurants and shops, not to mention the beautiful lake. Overall our stay was fantastic and exactly what we were looking for. Our thanks goes out to the staff at Red Wolf for making our stay such a pleasant one. We will definitely be returning to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge as soon as we can.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naowge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

First my full disclosure - I'm a timeshare owner at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, and have been visiting here nearly every year for the past 10 years or so. I keep going back because I love it so much. I go in the Fall (early November) when it is quiet - no crowds. The pool and hot tub overlook Lake Tahoe, and they keep them both heated, at least during the time I visit. The staff is wonderful - very responsive and friendly. There's always at least one or two activities I take advantage of, and spend the rest of the time relaxing and enjoying my stay. It's a beautiful time of year in Tahoe, and the weather can be warm or cold and snowy. Since I am an owner, I can book my stay 2 years in advance, which I do. The grounds are well-maintained, and the furnishings are vintage Tahoe - rustic-looking but top quality. I use a one-bedroom, and there are TVs/DVRs in both the bedroom and living room, as well as a CD player. There's a nice beach with chairs, and a dock out into the lake. The resort has paddle boats and kayaks available, and a nice deck areas near the pool and around the pool, overlooking the beautiful lake. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loves2travel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, NV
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

The quient lodge and rooms with on-site lake access (beach, pier, pool/jacuzzi yds away from the lake itself) is hard to beat. We never felt crowded with only 20+ units. We were able to relax on-site, and when we felt like it, took great day hikes nearby. The interior decor is so like Lake Tahoe (5 star pine furnishings, great beds). O'yeah, the kayaks for free checkout are definitely 1st class.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelin365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
10.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#4 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
0.6 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#5 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Property: Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Address: 7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing