We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$139
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $515/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $389/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tamarack Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$144
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$406
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$739
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkside Inn at Incline(Incline Village)
$252
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp Tahoe City(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$309
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepper Tree Inn(Tahoe City)
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
243
52
13
6
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
52
13
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatsfull kitchenlake tahoehot tubmurphy bedfree laundryprivate beach and docktwo bedroom unitdaily activitiesthrough rcismall propertybeautiful lakeenjoyable staynorth shorelove this placeping pong tableincline village
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 326 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Stayed there June 15-22, 2008. This was thru an RCI exchange. We had an studio which had a Murphy bed. At first it seems small, but you get used to it pretty quickly. It did have a full kitchen which we used for breakfasts and most lunches. It had a very cozy feel to it with it's wood interior. All in all, I liked the unit and the place. One drawback, was the carpet does need a cleaning. They are right on the Lake with a nice little beach. As part of your resort fee, you get to use their kayaks and paddle boats which are brand new. They have nice activities which we particpated in a few including their bbq on the last full day. You do pay $6/person for this. One thing we had to experience which no one will have to do the rest of this year anyway, is the construction on the pool and general maintenance on the units. The pool was closed until Saturday and our checkout was Sunday. It is now very nice and will be used quite a bit is my guess. The staff is very helpful and they respond pretty quickly. Erin is very knowledgeable about local hikes and activities. It's not the Hyatt up the road, but it serves your purpose of visiting the north shore of Lake Tahoe very nicely.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TraderRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

The lodge itself is ideally located on the NW shore of Lake Tahoe with bach access. We stayed in a one bedroom unit that was nicely furnished, but the coffee maker did not work for my wife and it tok three days before they assisted us with it after she had called each day. The resort had a dscount card available to use at local restaurants and merchants, but they did not provide this at check-in time. Instead, you have to attend a meeting the next morning to get the card. Due to a prior commitment, we were unable to get the card until the day after the meeting.

There was construction work being done on the pool & spa which we were aware of before the trip. However, there were also several units being upgraded, one of which was adjacent to our unit. We were not informed this was being done. The resort manager gave each occupant a letter indicating the pool construction work would not start until 9:00 AM. That work actually began at or before 7:00 AM each morning in addtion to the upgrade work. The workers in the unit adjacent to ours blasted a radio all day long which was quite annoying.

There were picnic tables available to use as well as beach chairs, but they decided to paint all of them in two days and they were not available to use for nearly the entire week as they were roped off for use.

After the upgrade work was completed in the unit adjacvent to urs near the end of the week, an alarm clock started going off at 5:00 AM the next morning and it sounded as if it was right in our unit itself. Since there is nobody at the desk at that time, it continued to go off for the next three hours. Extrremely annoying.

The staff was generally very responsive to our needs when we had a concern. Parking is very tight and due to the construction, some vehicles had very difficult times getting out of their assigned parking spaces. Several units left early due to the issues related above.

It is nice placd to stay, but obviously we picked the wrong week to go there for vacation. We'll look elsewhere before we would ever consider this resort in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeg3894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erincedarwolf, Resort Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2009

Great news, the pool remodel was completed on time by July 1st. We appreciate all of our guest’s patience during this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

When we go on vacation we like to lounge by the pool and relax in the hot tub. Unfortunately, they were both closed for maintenance and will remain closed until further notice. The staff said they were sorry but offered no compensation. We are sorry too -- sorry that nobody told us in advance and sorry that we ever booked this place. This vacation cost us thousands of dollars, and what we got was noise and a view of a construction area. We will never stay here again!

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank RCI_Exchanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed at the Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge May 4-10, 2008, Unit #8. The unit was a one bedroom, one bath. The bathroom was accessible from the LR/DR/Kitchen combo and the bedroom. Interior features included slate floors in the bathroom and kitchen area, carpeting in all other areas, granite counters, good quality pine wood furniture, queen size bed, two TV sets with cable and DVD players, CD player, plenty of blankets, sheets, towels, and pillows. The unit was clean. There was maid service on Tuesday; however on request, they came on Thursday also. There is a complimentary washer/dryer on premises and a wonderful Safeway grocery store and RedBox DVD 1.49 rentals within an 8 minute walk or 2 minute drive if you prefer not walking on the dirt path of N. Lake Blvd.. It was still cool so we didn't take advantage of the kayaks but we did admire views of Lake Tahoe and the sunset from the beach at the resort. We left the windows open (night temperatures went down to what felt like the 50's) since it was warm in the unit and there is no AC. Most of the nights it was fairly quiet. On Friday, however, we did not sleep very well because there were lots of noises (friends yelling at each other, car noises, etc) to be heard. I agree with a previous review and avoid at all costs the unit that faces the heavily traveled N. Lake Blvd. I would recommend staying here when we did (off-season around mid- May). Yes, the pool is not open then, but it least it's quieter, less problems negotiating the parking lot, easy accomodations in all the great restaurants, and nice hiking. When it's busy, I can see how it would not be as pleasant at the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RunnerPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

This review pertains to Unit #13 (1 bedroom unit):

If you are assigned to Unit #13, demand to be moved to another unit. You would be surprised at how the rest of the 1 bedroom unit differ from Unit #13. Unit 13 does not look like the pictures we saw on the resort's web page and our Shell Owner RCI traveler book. The entire place, size, etc., looks like a "cheap" motel converted cheaply into a 'TINY" condo.

The desk clerk (who is not a regular employee at the resort but an employee with Squaw Valley Lodge) was also very surprised at how small the unit was and how structurally different from the rest of the units. The edge of the sofa bed (when open) sits next to the kitchen floor. The blankets had holes in them. The television was on a stand right next to the refrigerator. There is only 1 sofa bed and the dining area is the living room area. In the bedroom unit, to get to the other sideo of the room, you would have to walk side-ways.

The unit is good for 1 person or a couple. But it is not made to accommodate a family of 4.

We were eventually moved to Unit #9. The unit looked just what we expected from the pictures we saw. However, there were also problems not with the unit but with the overall resort. The porch lights were on a timer and didn't turn on until 9 to 10 p.m. We mentioned this to the manager at the time but was of no help. The lights in the jacuzzi area didn't turn on until after 10 p.m. Again, the manager was no help.

The resort was considered to "Gold Crown". I say that it is below that. I've stayed at other resorts that were not considered a "gold crown" and was much better than this resort.

We didn't consider the resort to be of high standards. We were extremely disappointed with how we were handled. If it were not for the nice person at the desk (who wasn't the regular employee), we probably would have had a terrible experience.
In addition, the person from RCI was of no help either. He insist that the unit was like the others. The person had the attitude that he couldn't care less what happens to our vacation. He could care less if we had young children (4 and 9) with us. He just had an extremely poor and unprofessinal attitude.

Stayed: February 2008
4  Thank RaquelValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews