We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is great place to stay the view is awsome. Their rooms is big with a full kitchen with a very comfortable hot tub that over looks the lake. I come to this place because all my friends do you like to cook when we are out and about's colorful kitchen is a plus.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namai k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 313 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've stayed here a few times and all I can say is "What a beautiful little resort" The icing on the cake is the beach front. Kayaks and paddle boats are included!!!! We met some very nice people and Erin and Kelly at the Front Desk were super sweet. As a photographer I found it picture perfect.

Room Tip: The 2 bedrooms have killer lakeviews but are booked up pretty early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtennery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kelly at the Front Desk is an exceptional team member, glad to hear she was helpful during your stay. Thank you for sharing your pictures from your trip. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Delightful location, perfectly maintained, wonderful hospitality, gorgeous pool, kayaks, resort activities, dedicated staff -- Red Wolf Lodge just keeps getting better.. This is one of our favorite pools in the world, and walking down to the hot tub overlooking the lake, wrapped in a cozy Red Wolf robe on a clear cool autumn evening to watch the sun set is a great experience.

The kitchens are very well equipped and it is a joy to cook family meals (and a great way to save money). We've stayed in most of the rooms over the years, and always enjoyed it.

This is a true home away from home for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savolkhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had a wonderful 2 night stay here in number 2, which exceeded all our expectations. Apartment was clean, spacious, cosy and very well equipped. As previously mentioned there wasn't a view from the balcony, but this is not a hardship at all. It was a very short walk across the property to a gorgeous pool and private beach with beautiful views and plenty of loungers! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the complementary use of the kayak/paddle boats an added bonus! We couldn't fault the Redwolf and definitely the best place we stayed on our tour of northern California!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRW1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed 8 nights here last July on Unit 2. In spite of our confirmed and already paid advanced booking, when checking in , we were NOTIFIED - not suggested - that two days before our scheduled departure date we would have to change our baggage and things to another room. That was our first deception, since we did not intend to be packing and unpacking until last day , being free to do as we please. After arguing, we were told that these were the conditions of the Lodge that appear on the booking acceptance.Fortunately we had the written confirmation with dates, and which did not mention the "changing room condition". After that, we were told that our situation was going to be revised.. Two days later, we were given the OK to stay in our cabin until end of our stay. Second disappointment was, the advertised " balcony with a view"..¡ what a view:!! Trash Cans of the Lodge.,and behind them the main road with plenty of traffic and noise,- Windows could not be opened - and, if looking to the left, you could also enjoy the view of more cans..The cabin was well furnished, with full kitchen., good bed , Nice interiors. Thin walls to next cabin . One parking place in front of the room. Cleaning service not every day. Nice floral arrays at the Trash-Balcony. Excellent and well kept grounds. We enjoyed very much the lake, the swimming-pool, the jacuzzi tubs, the sourroundings. All the above mentioned inconveniences were soon forgotten while enjoying the beautiful Lake..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Booked on short notice for two nights. Upon arrival greeted by Aaron and given a choice of available rooms. We selected a 1 bdr ground level unit with kitchenette, fridge, & woodsy furnishings. The grounds are well kept, easy access to the lake with sandy beach and plenty of seating, a great spot to enjoy the morning and evening. Two jacuzzi tubs and a heated pool were a plus. Weber gas grills and outdoor table space didn't hurt.

Within walking distance is Safeway and Lanza's, an Italian reatsurant. Be at Lanza's by 5:15PM to avoid a line; good for Monday night football too. Service is good as is the food, large portions. For breakfast head north about a mile and some change to the Log Cabin. Good stuff.

Aaron was great and easy to talk to...We will vist Red Wolf again, worth the drive.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the property offer lake views. Check with Aaron, she is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in room 12, a 2 bedroom/2 bath condo. First the cons:
Road noise was very audible at night if you opened windows for fresh air.
No AC.
Pillows are extra thick and firm like bricks. Bring your own pillow!
Breakfast provided (pancakes,sausage, coffee, juice) - flier lists it as 8am, but wasn't served until 9:30am.
Hot tub in pool area was not heated.
Only one parking space allowed.
No pets (which could be a pro or a con depending on you)

PROS:
The grounds are very well kept
The staff is very helpful and accomodating
The condo was very clean and comfortable
The resort aspect was lovely (i.e. paddle boat and kayaks are included in price of rental, there are two hot tubs (usually heated i'm assuming), one pool, several BBQ's, ping pong table, lots of beach chairs and chaises)
42" flat screen TV's in each room
Small resort very family friendly
Full kitchen including dishwasher, stove/oven, microwave, fridge/freezer
Dining table for 6
living room with sleeper sofa
plenty of extra towels and linens



  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
10.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
2,011 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.1 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
0.8 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
249 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#4 of 7 in Tahoe City
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Address: 7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#2 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#2 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: $165 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge is a cozy, classic mountain retreat along the banks of Lake Tahoe. Guests enjoy unparalleled mountain and lake views, year-long outdoor activities, and a quaint ambiance that makes this resort an award winner. Accommodations include studio, one, and two-bedroom condominiums decorated in traditional mountain lodge style with warm, natural wood; and featuring a gas fireplace and fully-equipped kitchen. In the warmer months, guests enjoy an outdoor heated pool overlooking Lake Tahoe, an on-site beach, and a private dock perfect for taking in a mountain sunset. Outdoor enthusiasts will find endless hiking trails to explore the Sierra Nevada wilderness with spectacular lake and mountain views. A daily resort fee of $17 plus tax per night will be collected at time of booking. Guest must be 18 years of age or older with a valid ID and credit card to book and check-in. Front desk hours: 8am - 7pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing