We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoying the Lake”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed 8 nights here last July on Unit 2. In spite of our confirmed and already paid advanced booking, when checking in , we were NOTIFIED - not suggested - that two days before our scheduled departure date we would have to change our baggage and things to another room. That was our first deception, since we did not intend to be packing and unpacking until last day , being free to do as we please. After arguing, we were told that these were the conditions of the Lodge that appear on the booking acceptance.Fortunately we had the written confirmation with dates, and which did not mention the "changing room condition". After that, we were told that our situation was going to be revised.. Two days later, we were given the OK to stay in our cabin until end of our stay. Second disappointment was, the advertised " balcony with a view"..¡ what a view:!! Trash Cans of the Lodge.,and behind them the main road with plenty of traffic and noise,- Windows could not be opened - and, if looking to the left, you could also enjoy the view of more cans..The cabin was well furnished, with full kitchen., good bed , Nice interiors. Thin walls to next cabin . One parking place in front of the room. Cleaning service not every day. Nice floral arrays at the Trash-Balcony. Excellent and well kept grounds. We enjoyed very much the lake, the swimming-pool, the jacuzzi tubs, the sourroundings. All the above mentioned inconveniences were soon forgotten while enjoying the beautiful Lake..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    46
    12
    6
    11
See reviews for
103
133
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold River, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Booked on short notice for two nights. Upon arrival greeted by Aaron and given a choice of available rooms. We selected a 1 bdr ground level unit with kitchenette, fridge, & woodsy furnishings. The grounds are well kept, easy access to the lake with sandy beach and plenty of seating, a great spot to enjoy the morning and evening. Two jacuzzi tubs and a heated pool were a plus. Weber gas grills and outdoor table space didn't hurt.

Within walking distance is Safeway and Lanza's, an Italian reatsurant. Be at Lanza's by 5:15PM to avoid a line; good for Monday night football too. Service is good as is the food, large portions. For breakfast head north about a mile and some change to the Log Cabin. Good stuff.

Aaron was great and easy to talk to...We will vist Red Wolf again, worth the drive.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the property offer lake views. Check with Aaron, she is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, USA
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in room 12, a 2 bedroom/2 bath condo. First the cons:
Road noise was very audible at night if you opened windows for fresh air.
No AC.
Pillows are extra thick and firm like bricks. Bring your own pillow!
Breakfast provided (pancakes,sausage, coffee, juice) - flier lists it as 8am, but wasn't served until 9:30am.
Hot tub in pool area was not heated.
Only one parking space allowed.
No pets (which could be a pro or a con depending on you)

PROS:
The grounds are very well kept
The staff is very helpful and accomodating
The condo was very clean and comfortable
The resort aspect was lovely (i.e. paddle boat and kayaks are included in price of rental, there are two hot tubs (usually heated i'm assuming), one pool, several BBQ's, ping pong table, lots of beach chairs and chaises)
42" flat screen TV's in each room
Small resort very family friendly
Full kitchen including dishwasher, stove/oven, microwave, fridge/freezer
Dining table for 6
living room with sleeper sofa
plenty of extra towels and linens



  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

A great lake side lodge at North Lake Tahoe. Each room has a nice kitchenette. They are decorated in a rustic wooded style. We even slept in the pull out bed and it was fine. The grounds are very clean. You can take out kayaks or paddle boats for free. There is a nice pool, b'bques many chairs and a small price beach with a rock wall which makes it perfect for small children. And of course, it is on the lake!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcwillis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Always look forward to my stay! Wonderful atmosphere Great hospitality Perfect relaxation! To quote a friend people travel all over the world and we have it in our backyard! North Shore Is a beautiful place to visit with family and friends!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was an expensive motel room with a kitchen. We faced parked cars when we sat on the tiny porch. Our reservation had been paid in full in March for our August vacation but when we didn't get an upstairs room, as we had requested, we were told that it was "first come first served" at the time of check-in. The lake view accommodations are apparently reserved for the timeshare owners. None of this information was conveyed by Resortime when I made the reservation. I was also not aware of an $8/day resort fee. The room had no a/c and wasn't well ventilated. There was no screen on one of the bedroom windows so we were reluctant to open it. There was a noisy box fan but no ceiling fan in the bedroom. It sounded like the people above us were moving furniture until 1AM. All this for $219/night for the first two nights. Yes, the waterfront is beautiful but but the accommodation was a big disappointment. I have spoken with both the on-site staff and Resortime about these complaints. A lot of misleading information, especially that photo of the building facing the water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fjflax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the lodge for 3 days. We loved the Weber grills - there are 3 available in the property so you don't have to wait around. Most people seem to bring in food to cook, so it's a great way to meet other guests this way. Most people we met were repeat guests and were very generous in sharing their experience and recommendation of the area. Safeway (grocery) and public beach are within walking distance. The beach area is also very nice with pool, deck area, hammock and kayaks for guest use. We enjoyed the experience of craw fishing for the first time. From our hiking excursion, we learned from a camper that there are a lot of craw fish in the lake. The receptionists lent us a couple of nets and bucket and with some hotdogs/ham as bait, we spent some time at dusk scopping craw fish from the rocks.
The only input that we have for the resort is the bed. We were staying in the studio room with pull down bed. The bed wasn't very comfortable, so after 3 days of hiking and sleeping in a light spring bed, our bodies were aching. Perhaps bigger room with a more permanent bed might be more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Earthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.4 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#7 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
202 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
0.6 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#5 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Property: Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Address: 7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#2 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing