We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

The Rustic Lounge at Cedar Glen Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Rustic Lounge, is an Award Winning restaurant and wine bar that offers a unique dining experience for the guests of Cedar Glen Lodge while providing the local community a casual fine dining experience. The menu features seasonal offerings ranging from classically-inspired entrees to festive fusions. An adjacent wine bar and cozy fireplace will entice the outdoor enthusiasts as well as those simply looking for a relaxing environment to unwind and reflect on the day. Both the restaurant and bar offer stunning views of beautiful Lake Tahoe.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely mountain restaurant with top notch comfort food, nice, reasonably priced wine selection, and seamless service. Don't miss the truffled Mac and cheese. Small and cozy. You need a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    31
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Should be#1 in all of Tahoe”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very small restaurant (10 tables) in the lodge where we stayed. Food was amazing and is becoming very well known in the Tahoe area. We ate there on a Friday night and enjoyed every bite. Saturday we met our "foody" friends for dinner who live in Tahoe and they shared with us that the weekend before they had dinner at the most delicious restaurant in Tahoe, yup - The Rustic Lounge. When we got back to the Bay Area our neighbors who have a vacation home in Tahoe City told us they had heard of an amazing restaurant in Tahoe Vista - The Rustic Lounge. The word is out and every word is true. What is not to like, great food, great service and a great price. They also serve a full menu in the wine bar if you don't have reservations, but I highly recommend to make a reservation. Note: Since we were staying at the Cedar Glen Lodge we had an assigned parking place, but if you are coming for just the restaurant parking is on the street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The place to Eat in Tahoe!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We ate 3 times out of our 4 nights in Lake Tahoe as the food & service were simply fantastic. Some of the best meals we have had in the US and we have been visiting for a number of years. Every meal was superb, fresh and tasty and wonderfully presented. The filet mignon was the best we have had and you must try the Peanut butter & jelly cheesecake for dessert - you will go a long way to have a better dessert!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elliotj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wow; Simply incredible”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It is with some trepidation that I write this review because this is one of the best kept secrets on Tahoe's north shore. The menu was delightful, the food just incredible, and the service great! We will definitely return. The meal I had at the Rustic Lounge, was simply one of the best meals I had every had. Every portion of the meal was cooked to perfection and very, very tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MandB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Tahoe!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We dined at the Rustic Lounge on the last night of our stay in Tahoe. We were also staying at the Cedar Glen Lodge, so needles to say, it was convenient! I've been visiting Tahoe for almost 20 years, and I have to say this was probably the best meal I've had in Tahoe. I was extremely pleased with the quality of food we had. Every single thing we ate was absolutely delicious. I still dream about the mini heirloom tomato salad! The service was top-notch, and I love the bar and lounge area in the lobby! If you are staying in North Tahoe, you MUST make this one of your evening meals. You can even dress up for this restaurant (not too common in Tahoe), but casual works too! I 100% recommend this place. Eat here--you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rustic Lounge at Cedar Glen Lodge also viewed

Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing