We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, convenient little cottages in Tahoe!”
Review of Rustic Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahoe Vista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rustic Cottages
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Rustic Cottages for a family reunion for 2 nights in July. We stayed in the Manzanita, a charming little cottage, perfect for our family of 4 that includes 2 teens. The cottage looks like a rustic cabin but it is very clean, and housekeeping was excellent. We loved the cozy feel of the cottage and getting to the gorgeous lake beach across the street was a piece of cake. It's a great change from the cookie cutter hotels like Marriott and Holiday Inn. It's locally owned and the staff does a great job trying to accommodate guests. I was a little worried booking the cottage after reading the four negative reviews, but we found our stay nothing short of FABULOUS! All of the 40+ "very good" and "excellent" reviews are more on the money! When we arrived were were pleasantly greeted by the owner and his wife who go above and beyond in service. Another front desk staff member, Cathy, was incredibly helpful and friendly, too. We loved the coffee, muffins, juice, and waffles in the am and the lemonade and fresh, homemade brownies and cookies in the afternoon. Also, we got simple free souvenir coffee mugs from the Rustic Cottages - nice touch. In the evenings, the staff recommended convenient nearby food options - go with the owner suggested pizza (I think it was called CiCi's Pizza) - NOT China Wok like we chose although we were warned. Rustic Cottages staff also let us borrow (free) movies to play back in the room, and we did turn on our cute fire place even though it was not too chilly at night just for atmosphere and to make the cottage even cozier. In the mornings we found that there were hiking/running trails just up Agatam (part of North Lake Tahoe Regional Parks) which was much better than exercising on the road like many runners do. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and we highly recommend this to those guests looking for comfort, convenience and friendliness.

Room Tip: try to get away from the road....back cottages are the best, but they are also bigger and more expen...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FV4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Rustic Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

The cottage was very nice and cozy and was quite comfortable. For all its rustic feel I was very pleasantly surprised to find complimentary wifi. The beach and lake is just across the street, eliminating the hassle of driving to a beach and parking. Also had free waffles for breakfast and there were plenty of other food options nearby for lunch and dinner. If you want some exercise there are plenty of jogging trails nearby too. Great place to stay in Tahoe

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage located away from the road because it is quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZengMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

FABULOUS STAY! We just returned from a two night stay at the Rustic Cottages. We stayed in the Edgewood, one of the largest cabins and found it had more room than we needed for our family of 4. While the cottage is rustic, it was perfectly cozy for us. There was a great king bed for the adults and day beds for the kids, a convenient kitchen, and a beautiful deck out front, In addition, there was a fire place inside which would be perfect for cool nights. The staff was incredibly kind and tried to fulfill our every need/wish including free rentals of movies, lemonade and cookies/brownies, suggestions for restaurants, etc. We found a Safeway grocery store just down the street, and the beach is right across the street. Gorgeous in the morning or any time of day! Since there is a lot of traffic around Tahoe in the summer we were thankful that we could just walk across to the beach instead of finding parking. Another bonus we found was NORTH TAHOE REGIONAL PARK which has a lot of easy hiking/running/biking trails AND sports fields/playground. Everything was great!!! Our only regret was we didn't have more time in Tahoe and at the Rustic Cottages. We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: The back units are away from the street and makes you feel a little more secluded. We loved the Edg...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bos4pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I found this place under a cabin search and it was just what we wanted. We spent our first anniversary here last week! The staff is really friendly and laid back. They will help out with any info you need and help out with anything you ask. The waffles we got to make in the morning (Free breakfast) were amazing! Also, the cookies and brownies were tasty too!! It was quiet and near lots of places to eat and the beach across the street. I highly recommend this place and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last winter over a three day ski weekend, and we really enjoyed our time. It was very convenient to have a place to stay between Northstar and Squaw. Our cottage was nice and cozy during a snow storm, and the gas fireplace made it even better. We stayed in the smallest "studio" type of cottage, and while there was still a kitchen and bathroom, it was a little cramped. Next time, we will stay in a larger cottage, probably with a nice jacuzzi tub for a soak after a long day skiing.
The daily breakfast in the lodge is included with the stay, and we love the free coffee mugs that are yours to keep after you finish breakfast. There is a large DVD library at the front desk, and every cottage has a TV with DVD player. Durring the winter, the owners will also let you borrow snow shoes or sleds to use at the golf course that is right behind the cabins.
The cottages are best for couples, but there are some larger multi-bedroom cabins that would be great for families or groups of friends.
Bottom line: The cottages are perfect places to stay for a quiet getaway in North Lake Tahoe and my wife and I will be back many times.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyzapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great location to explore the area. Easy drive to almost everything you would want to see and not near gambling. Small beach across the street and several larger ones within walking distance or very short drive.
Home made brownies and cookies, waffles for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janb3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the cottages twice now and are making it a fall/winter tradition. The cottages are small but incredibly cozy and comfortable. The ones we stayed in even had a fireplace and all of this at a fraction of the price you would pay elsewhere. They are perfect for curling up in bed at the end of the day to watch one of what seem like hundreds of movies that you can rent for free at the office. While you're picking out your movie, don't forget to bring back some of the free fresh baked cookies and coffee that are put out for the guests every day. Tahoe Vista is on the west shore of the lake which is a much quieter, less touristy area than south lake. This makes for a very mellow, relaxing stay. We almost had the whole place to ourselves, and that on a weekend! Free breakfast is served every morning in a room off of the main office that is decorated in typical rustic Tahoe style with antique snowshoes and skis decorating the walls. We have stayed here in the fall to enjoy fall colors and crisp mountain air, as well as during the winter whilst skiing at Northstar. If you are skiing west shore resorts this is definitely one of the most affordable places, and in my opinion nicest places to stay. If you are looking to party in the casinos, stay in South Lake but if you are looking for a quiet, cozy retreat this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annadive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
0.2 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
302 reviews
20.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,081 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#5 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
#6 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Cottages

Address: 7449 North Lake Blvd, PO Box 18, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: $74 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Tahoe Vista, California, Rustic Cottages Resort and Motel consists of two properties with over 35 rooms and three full-sized houses available for rent. The rooms are comprised of suites, stand-alone cottages and duplex cabins. With a variety of floor plans, we have warm, clean and cozy options to meet the needs of any sized family! Originally the sawmill and labor camp of the Brockway Lumber Company, the property was converted to vacation cottages in 1925. Our cottages are all different--each with its own charm and modern conveniences. The Rustic Cottages is centrally located on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe, across the street from the lake--and just a stone's throw away from a sandy beach and the water's edge. We're just minutes from great restaurants, shopping, North Shore casinos, and the worlds best skiing. All Cottages Include:-Romantic Benicia Iron Beds with comfortable Serta mattresses with nice linens-Microwave Oven-Refrigerator-Televisions with HBO and Video Tape/DVD Players-Coffee Maker-Porch with Benicia Patio Furniture. Many Cottages Include:-Fireplace-Kitchen, Little Extras Included With Your Stay:-A Continental breakfast of homemade muffins, waffles, orange juice and coffee in our lodge every morning;-Homemade treats, such as chocolate chip cookies, candy and brownies;-Souvenir Rustic Cottage mugs;-Over 500 movies on DVD and video tape for our guests to borrow;-Free high-speed WiFi;-Firewood for cottages with wood-burning fireplaces;-Barbeque grills for our guests to borrow...-Croquet set to borrow, and a horseshoe pit;-Sleds, discs and snowshoes to borrow in the winter season;-If you're looking for ultra-modern Lake Tahoe accommodations, this may not be the place for you. But make no mistake, the cottages are clean, comfortable and the Rustic Cottages is a very friendly special place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rustic Cottages Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing