We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable, and Affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Firelite Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Firelite Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, and Affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2007

I have stayed at the Firelite Lodge multiple times when I travel to Tahoe. I find the rooms extremely clean, and the ammenities are wonderful. There is a small kitchen area: cabinets, larger than the normal hotel fridge, microwave, REAL GLASS mugs, and separate sink. The beds have been firm and the linens crisp.
There have been a number of reviews on this site complaining about the road noise at this hotel. Well, considering the cost and the view: directly across the road from the lake, I don't find the noise bothersome at all. However, I have made it a point to stay on the upper level of the back section.
I have never used the pool or hot tub, but that's usually because I've forgotten to pack a swim suit during ski season when I go.
My (and my fiance's) only real complaint has been the towels: they're small (by most standards) and very rough. We've even decided to take our own towels next time. It won't stop me from staying there, though.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, value
  • Disliked — Small, rough towels
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank kmskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    88
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
65
87
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2007

I can't speak for those who stayed at this motel during the summer, but for winter stay, this place is above average. This place is only 15 minutes drive to Northstar. That's the selling point to me since we were going up to Northstar to ski.

I have to admit that the noise from the street did pose problems for the first night, but being on the 3rd floor and in the back of the property helped a bit. The room is clean and the bed is reasonably comfortable. Breakfast included fresh coffee, orange juice (of course not freshly squeezed), milk, cereal, bagels, cream cheese, jelly and packaged danishes. I thought there was plenty of foods for the price i paid.

The only one problem really bothers me was that the hot water in shower was not hot enough for me but fine for my husband. Other than that, my stay here is fairly pleasant. If i paid $200 a night for this, i will rate differently. With the price I paid ($104/night for a room with king size bed), i am very happy and satisfied. Remember how much you pay and the going rate out there in North Tahoe.

I was hesistant to book this motel after reading some of the pretty bad review but ran out of options due to the last minute plan of the trip. At the end, i am glad that i stayed here.

  • Liked — The location, cleaniness of the room and the kitchenette
  • Disliked — The noise from the street.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA-GirlSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2006

Most of the reviews I'd read gave the Firelite good marks, but we found the place truely disappointing. The room was clean and the people at the desk were nice, but the furnishings were cheap and the towels were so flimsy you could practically see through them. The continental breakfast consisted of packaged grocery store pastries, tangerines & coffee.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DDJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2006

HAD TO ASK FOR ICE (NO MACHINE), Rattie looking front door, screws on balcony wall scratching the kids' legs, pool cold (upon arrival), asked about jaccuzi-we had to "pull off the blue plastic top if wanted to use it" per RUDE front desk girl, ant bait behind toilet, lights through windows, noise from road, bulbs burned out upon turning on, etc....
AT CHECK IN>>>I said "I hope this place is big enough for all of us". Her response was "you saw it on our website and you are here now, so...." I said "I just hope it's big enough". It was NOT big enough and I was ripped off for the next nights stay when we checked out in the morning. Manager was going to charge me for a total of THREE nights. One of our rooms did not have any balcony. The kids were cooped up.
IT WAS DEGRADING TO BE THERE !!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — CHECKING OUT
  • Disliked — No room for small children
  • Tips/Secrets — BE AWARE OF THREE NIGHT MINIMUMS
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sombeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

The hotel is clean and very accomodating. We arrived close to 11pm and that posed no problem for them at all. This is a family run hotel and they try hard to give you a pleasant stay. The kitchette in the room is ideal for families or those on a budget - just remember to bring your own cutlery and plates. The lake is right across the street and the Steakhouse next door is great. It is situated within walking distance to several great restaurants and Safeway. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2006

The location in Tahoe Vista is very convenient if skiing at Northstar. Squaw and Alpine are not far. This is an above average 2* roadside motel. We had a unit in the back so roadside noise was non-existent. There was a bit of noise from neighboring units although mainly it was toilets and showers that could be heard and it was no problem. The room was very clean and consisted of two queen beds, TV, set of drawers, and a kitchen area with sink, microwave oven, refrigerator, and cupboards. The heat worked well as did the free wireless internet access. The beds were comfortable. All the rooms are non-smoking but only some of them have a view of the lake (ours didn't). The hot tub was nice after a day of skiing. Continental breakfast, which consists of pastries, orange juice, coffee, and a fruit basket, is provided daily. It was a good value at $100 (rates are very high in the area during winter weekends) and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2005

The fire lite has clean rooms with microwaves and good size fridge. Great water pressure, Clean pool and hot tub. Roadside location can be a tad noisy, but similar to many places on lake Tahoe. A good value for Tahoe.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lookforeleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
0.6 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
20.7 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
7.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#4 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tahoe Vistana Inn
Tahoe Vistana Inn
#8 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firelite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firelite Lodge

Property: Firelite Lodge
Address: 7035 North Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Firelite Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firelite Lodge resides directly across from a sandy beach and small marina, allowing our guests great views and access to Lake Tahoe. Kayak, Stand-Up Paddle board rental and sailing school/rental located at the beach. North Tahoe Regional Park is located less than 1 mile from the lodge. Great starting point to hiking and mountain biking. Mountain bike rental located at the property. Outdoor hot spa and seasonal swimming pool. All guest rooms are equipped with gas fireplaces, microwave ovens, refrigerators, coffee makers, 42" LCD TV with premium programming: 5 HBO and 4 ESPN channels, Blue-Ray DVD players. WiFi and Continental Breakfast is included in our room rate. 100% Non smoking lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Firelite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firelite Hotel Tahoe Vista
Firelite Motel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing