We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal North Tahoe spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firelite Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Firelite Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal North Tahoe spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Unlike most north shore motels, most of Firelite's rooms run parallel to the shore, so many rooms have great lake views. Third floor rooms 25, 26, 27 all have fabulous views with balconies. (Other rooms may also, especially on the third floor.) Squeaky clean; gas fireplaces; 'fridge, microwave, sink; good TV; comfortable bed; lovely pool & hot tub; breakfast. Immediately across the street from a small public beach. Close to all north shore activities. We will definitely stay here again. A gem.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SightseeingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    82
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
74
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A great place to stay on North Shore, California side of Tahoe. Friendly and helpful hosts. Good location across from easy lake access. Clean rooms with fireplace/heaters. Lots of breakfast choices. Midweek winter rates are especially good.

Room Tip: top floor has partial lake views. bottom floor has easy access to swim pool in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed Friday and Saturday nights over MLK day weekend on the second level (room 17). The room was SUPER clean and obviously recently refurbished (very faint smell of paint, everything looking brand new and some unfinished wood trim).

We had everything we needed: reliable and easily accessible wi-fi, microwave, fridge, coffee maker. The continental breakfast was perfect: coffee, hot cocoa, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, waffles that you make yourself, fruit, muffins. The beds are comfortable too and you get lots of pillows!

Our room did not have a view, but most of the rooms seemed to have a fantastic view of the lake and mountains. The room was heated by a gas fireplace controlled by the thermostat and it worked great. Front desk staff are friendly and professional. Location is close to ski resorts. Lots of restaurants and safeway nearby if you need groceries.

I must say, you have GOT to visit the little hole-in-the-wall Mexican restaurant next door to the hotel called El Sancho's -- it was AWESOME.

The one and only con (and reason for the 4 stars) is that the walls are thin. We could hear our neighbor's TV (I'm sure it was turned up pretty loud) while we were trying to sleep. Luckily I had earplugs which worked great!

For the price, I expected much less, but was VERY pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a view, but most looked like they did, so request a room with a view if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 1 week ago for snow skiing. We stayed in one of the larger upstairs King Rooms with a view of the lake. It had been recently remodeled and it appears the whole place is in the remodel process. The room was very nice and conveniently had a small bar, sink, fridge and microwave. Unfortunately after the first night my wife became ill and we had to leave after one day of a four day reservation. The manager was very understanding and refunded our balance. We have stayed there several times and will be going back to ski again as soon as my wife is well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am always reticent to stay in a place that doesn't have the consistancy of a chain 4 or 5 star hotel. This hotel was a charm. The rooms had just been refurbished carpet new heating worked extremely well and new bathroom. Beds were quality. It is nicely situated close enough to resorts and plenty of parking. The reception staff was very friendly one of the great pluses. The price was right. We did have a problem that by luck during high season of the holidays Expedia completely messed up...common for them (the only reason I gave this a 4 rating. Would suggest not to use Expedia for booking). We only had one room when we booked two. The lodge was very accomodating and gave us the last available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeldonO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were only an hour away when we called to get lodging. What a find! The view of Lake Tahoe from our room could not have been better. Room was a little dated but nice, and more importantly, CLEAN! We were told the next morning, while enjoying a complimentary breakfast, that they were closing that afternoon for extensive renovations. So, it will probably cost more when it reopens, but it will be worth it. You can throw a rock and hit the lake!

Post office is almost next door and great restaurants abound. Try this place. We loved it. My only complaint is that I wish they had an elevator! We were on the third floor. Which of course afforded a better view!

Room Tip: Get a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaAntiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were lucky enough to be allocated a room on the second floor with a lovely view of the lake. Sliding doors opened onto a balcony - perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine. The room was spacious, clean and well furnished. There was also small kitchenette. The lodge has a pool and hot tub and reliable free wifi.
The buffet breakfast was good - being Brits, we found the waffle maker a great novelty! The lodge is on the main road, which inevitably means some traffic noise, but it's worth it for the view of Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: The rooms with King sized beds guarantee a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
0.6 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
20.8 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#6 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
1.1 mi away
Ferrari's Crown Resort
Ferrari's Crown Resort
#1 of 5 in Kings Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firelite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firelite Lodge

Property: Firelite Lodge
Address: 7035 North Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#3 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Firelite Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firelite Lodge resides directly across from a sandy beach and small marina, allowing our guests great views and access to Lake Tahoe. Kayak, Stand-Up Paddle board rental and sailing school/rental located at the beach. North Tahoe Regional Park is located less than 1 mile from the lodge. Great starting point to hiking and mountain biking. Mountain bike rental located at the property. Outdoor hot spa and seasonal swimming pool. All guest rooms are equipped with gas fireplaces, microwave ovens, refrigerators, coffee makers, 42" LCD TV with premium programming: 5 HBO and 4 ESPN channels, Blue-Ray DVD players. WiFi and Continental Breakfast is included in our room rate. 100% Non smoking lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Firelite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firelite Hotel Tahoe Vista
Firelite Motel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing