We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View-The Boat House formally Capt Jon's”
Review of Captain Jon's - CLOSED

Captain Jon's
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Perched where land meets lake on the north shore of Lake Tahoe, Captain Jon's, is a restaurant that offers modern american dining, craft cocktails great wine list and a stunning view.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Spectacular View-The Boat House formally Capt Jon's”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

There is few views as breath taking as Lake Tahoe. This restaurant was formally Captain Jon's is now The Boat House. The service was solid, the menu small but very tasty. The Oyster Bar was very good. Sitting on the deck adds to the experience. If you dine in the evening bring a jacket. Parking Is marginal but workable.
Bar is very simple but it works. Go enjoy the view and the service while savoring the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    18
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This restaurant is closed - might be nice if they said so”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I made a reservation on line, using their website. Got a confirmation back, and was looking forward to having our cocktails while watching the sunset. We checked into the B&B next door (Shore House, very nice, BTW) and walked over to the restaurant - only to find it CLOSED. Our host later told us the restaurant had been closed for 9 months! Their website is still up and running and taking reservations, with no notice to potential customers that they will not be seated and will receive nothing to eat when they arrive. Anyway, we made the best of it - walked across the street to the steak house and had a very good and satisfying meal over there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset View”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Restaurant sits right on the beach. You feel like you're on top of the water. I don't think we could have had a better view of the sunset. My pork chop was amazing with pumpkin puree.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was good until....”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A lady at the table next to us found a human tooth in her food!! The staff were very quite and unfriendly. Very awkward environment when it came to the servers. Nice view, though. Very small space.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunch and View”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed a leisurely lunch on the deck of Captain Jon's overlooking Lake Tahoe. We started with onion rings - sweet onions in a beer batter served with BBQ sauce. I had a steak salad with large and delicious strips of steak. The serving portions were enormous. The wait staff was comprised of ladies from Romania who were part of a summer work program. It was fascinating to listen to their experiences and their admiration for the U.S. We highly recommend Captain Jon's for the cuisine, the view and the service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RLHKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Jon's also viewed

Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing