We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful hotel right on Lake Tahoe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel right on Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was very happy I found this little gem on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe. It's in a quiet part of Tahoe Vista, and it has its own beach with the softest stand I've ever felt between my toes! I stayed in Room 123, on the second floor on the west wing. There was a wall of windows that looked out onto my patio/deck area, the beach, and Lake Tahoe beyond. My room was large with vaulted ceilings, and even a refrigerator and sink.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, and I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Tahoe. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle's G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    44
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
74
67
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Forestville, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Booked 10 rooms May 18-19/2012. Everyone was amazed with the ambiance and the likeability of the Mourelatos. Beautiful views and laid back environment. Many rooms have kitchens and grills are available so picnicking and eating on the premises is easy and fun for a crowd. The staff is wonderful at all times.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

All rooms have great views of the lake! The staff was very friendly and informative. All of their recommendations for restaurants and activities were great. We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to this area and highly recommend this hotel for its views, location and staff! We arrived after 1:00 am due to an airline issue (imagine that) and were worried about checking in that late. But when we pulled in, there was an evelope taped on the door to the office with our name and the info about the room and key inside. Great welcoming touch! We didn't have to start our stay feeling guilty about bothering someone so late....Only small negative at all was the sound of running water from other rooms early the first morning. Second day we closed the bathroom door the night before and the problem was solved... Highly recommend this as a quaint, low key, relaxing place to stay while at Tahoe!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyAbilene_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Mi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

My son and I visited the Tahoe area for the first time in April 2012 for some Spring skiiing. We wanted to spend our first night on the lake before heading up to Northstar. This hotel couldn't have been better. We stayed one room back from the front suite and had a great view of the lake from inside our room. Room had 2 queen beds and had a great little kitchen, all for a little over a hundred bucks. The staff gave us great information on what to see and where to ski. Nice location, just 20 minutes from Homewood, and less to Squaw, Northstar and Diamond. Perfect place to stay. Cost was 1/3 of Northstar, and looking back I wish we would have just stayed down at the Mourelatos. Will definetly stay again if ever back in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here in one of the lake front rooms this past weekend, and wow, what a treat. The room was comfortable and the kitchen was fully stocked with all pots/pans/dishes/refrigerator/coffee maker/toaster. I enjoyed my morning coffee in the kitchen while watching the sun come out on the lake (without freezing as it was still snowing outside!). I could see this place being perfect for a wedding/wedding party to stay. I met the owner, Alex Mourelatos, and he was so nice, and so down to earth. Very family friendly. I couldn't have had a better experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieBonelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent an evening at Mourelatos after a great day of skiing at Squaw. The staff there was excellent--they made sure we stayed in a room that had a great view of the lake and the room was really comfortable. The hot tub was killer after skiing, and the continental breakfast was a nice surprise the morning we left.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We had a great time here. Beautiful views and friend staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely return and recommend this location for friends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
9.3 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Property: Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Address: 6834 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-9803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ON THE BEACH AT LAKE TAHOE. Nestled on the magnificent pristine beach of Lake Tahoe's north shore, Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort offers a stunning lake-front lodging experience in Tahoe Vista, California, which is much more than just a place to stay. It's a treasured spot where the spectacular views of Lake Tahoe from the 32 well-appointed and spacious studio suites are just the beginning of what you will experience from its convenient and central location. For over 30 years, the family-owned Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort has been an escape for those who seek a natural, peaceful and unmatched setting to do it all, or do nothing at all, on the edge of Lake Tahoe. This intimate fully-remodeled all suite-motel sits on the edge of a 275 foot private beach and could not be more optimal and central for those who seek a location to enjoy all that Lake Tahoe has to offer. It's where you can truly take break from modern-day stress, a hideaway for families to reconnect, a romantic interlude for couples ... And an extraordinary getaway for active travelers from all over the world in one of the most beautiful settings on earth. Best of all, you will be hosted and spoiled throughout your stay with the owner's personal and authentic Greek hospitality that brings guests back year after year. ENDLESS ACTIVITIES ~ FOR ALL AGES. From your "home away from home", you can walk the beach with no destination in mind, sip morning coffee from your covered porch, watch your kids play on the sand, or let the day slip away while kayaking, boating, paddle boarding ... Or just soak up the scenery under the warm Sierra sun. Just across the street, the eighteen acres of private trails are accessible for hiking, biking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. And within a short scenic drive east or west, there are over a dozen internationally-acclaimed golf and ski resorts, gourmet restaurants, shops that showcase local artistry and arts and culture events year-round. YOUR PLACE TO ESCAPE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourelatos Lakeshore Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing