We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate place for a Tahoe Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“Ultimate place for a Tahoe Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had our wedding here a few days ago and it was absolutely wonderful. We had 170 people at our wedding, the majority of whom stayed at Mourelato's for two nights (Fri/Sat). Alex (owner) and staff were wonderfully accommodating, allowing us to put welcome baskets in each room, move room assignments around, and even helping with cleaning of the dishes.

We had our ceremony right on their private beach and our reception under a giant tent in the parking lot. Choosing Mourelato's for our location allowed us to pick our own caterers for food (Men Wielding Fire) and have an open bar. Our rehearsal dinner was right across the street at Spindleshank's, which was also phenomenal.

Alex and the Mourelato's staff were wonderful - they helped with set-up and were very flexible with clean up in and out of the rooms. They were up-front with contract and stuck by what it said (i.e. no fine print loopholes). They went out of the way to be courteous to the guests. Without their help, we could never have pulled off our do-it-yourself wedding.

Guests raved about the accommodations, the view, and the overall experience. I know many of them will be coming back for vacations and scheduling other events there.

HIGHLY recommended, and when I was looking at wedding venues, Alex talked about the improvements he had made to Mourelato's since taking over a couple years ago. Amazing location, wonderful staff, and absolutely perfect picturesque view of Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddisbrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    44
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
74
65
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

First, let me start out with saying that I had a great time while I stayed at Mourelatos. I will start out with the positive: Location and view were nothing short of AMAZING! It sits right on the lake on a beach. Also convenient to a Safeway and great dining. Truly a beautiful and relaxing setting. I doubt that there is hardly a better location in terms of view of the Lake on the lake. I could literally lay in my bed and look out over the lake as the sun rose every monring. I was in the room second to the end and it was a great location! I also enjoyed sitting on my porch in the afternoon and laying on the beach as the sunset. Words don't do the splendor of the view from Mourelato's justice! Beds and linens were very comfy. Loved the little patio and chairs that each room had. Also, the water while cold, is warm enough to get in briefly. Some people were playing in it. So if you are coming in July, August, early September, its location right on a beach is a plus. This seems like it would be a really good place for people with kids. Staff was very nice and helpful. Gave recommendations for restaraunts. Also, have menus and games in the check-in. Service (other than maid service) was great!


Now for the not so great: The room itself did not meet my expectations. Especially NOT for a $205+ a night room! From the reviews (and pictures) that it was not going to be "The Ritz" and I didn't expect it to. However, it did not even rise to the level of a Best Western or La Quinta or the like. Very dated. It was clean, roomy and and the beds were good, but that is about all positive I can say for the room otherwise. It also does not have A/C. This ended up not being a big deal as we just opened our window and door when it got a little warm at night. Most places I would have not left my door wide open in the middle of the night (and it did make me slightly uneasy), but it was fine here. The nights get very cool even when it gets up into the 80's during the day. Now I will say that if it had been10 degrees hotter during the day (90's instead of 80's), my experience might have been different regarding the AC.

The Bad: My two biggest complaints were related to the maid service and the noise. The maid did almost nothing. She changed the sheets and put in fresh towles, but that was it. Otherwise, I could not tell that she did a thing. Did not straighten up. Did not clean. Did not even put the toilet paper on the roll. Nada. I've been to condos where the maid only came when you left, but I've never had such poor service at a place that calls themselves a motel or hotel.

My other issue was the noise that the plumbing made by our upstairs neighbors. Honestly, I am not sure if it was the plumbing, but whatever it was sounded like a jack-hammer. It awoke me out of a dead sleep. And I had the misfortune of being underneath people who got up at about 6 a.m. There was no sleeping late for me. :(

This place is really more of a lodge than a "resort." It provides some outdoor beach toys and some other things, but it doesn't really rise to the level of being a "resort." No hotel/motel is perfect or quite like home and I would generally recommend the place if you are looking for more of a "lodge" or motel than a true nice hotel or resort. I guess my main issue is just that when I compare it to any other hotel I've spent $200 a night at (or even upwards of $150), they have all been alot nicer. This was my first time to Tahoe, so maybe I am not comparing apples to apples and this is just par for accomodations in the area. It seemed like ALOT of the places were very similar to Mourelatos - same style, older, rustic cabin-type places. So please keep that in mind when reading this. I did have a GREAT time there and I would recommend it to someone (especially a family), but if I come back I will probably spend the extra money to stay at the Hyatt or The Ritz or one of the more major resorts. But that is just my preference. I can definately see where others like it! :)

Room Tip: Try to get an end unit right nearby the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ibackbevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
I would like to thank you for your feedback.

First, I would like to apologize for the quality of maid service you received. Our daily service includes cleaning all bathroom surfaces, changing the towels, refreshing all supplies, make the bed and vacuuming as needed. Fresh sheets are provided upon request, with pleasure. Our staff also dresses the front entrance and patio of each unit. We do regular QA checks and follow-up immediately on any guest feedback or comments as well. As a result of your comments we met with our maid staff and reviewed your feedback with all of them.

Our rooms do not come with air conditioning as we are located on the shores of Lake Tahoe at 6,250 feet and rely on cool nights and regular northerly afternoon breezes off the lake to cool our rooms. We do offer portable fans for guests if needed on the few nights in the Summer where temperatures do not drop down or there is no breeze. As a result of your feedback however, we are purchasing a portable AC unit for future use in rooms as needed.

We have received similar feedback regarding your room and other downstairs rooms where plumbing noise is a concern. Again, we take this very seriously and are working on the flooring and internal insulation in the select upstairs rooms causing the issue to reduce the noise.

I encourage you to check in with us in the future as we are adding additional in-room amenities and outdoor recreational features based on what we learn more from our guests and our commitment to ongoing invest in the quality of our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Was very disappointed. Very dated and uncomfortable. One thing everyone needs when on vacation and away from home is a good mattress. This mattress had to be 30 years old. also did not understand why I was waking up with little bites. When I got home I checked online about bed bugs and showed what the bites looked like and thats what I had.
Worst place we ever stayed. Only good thing was the view and the area. Will go back but will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deb c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for your review. We very much appreciate feedback we receive from our guests. We truly apologize for your experience.

We are sorry your king bed was uncomfortable. The resort was re-built and completely refurnished from 1998 through the summer of 2001 making us the newest lake front resort on Lake Tahoe's North Shore. We continuously monitor our bedding and furnishings and invest in upgrading the content of our rooms regularly. We were unaware of any concerns during your stay and would have immediately addressed your concerns and comfort at that time.

The bed bug comments were very troubling for us as we have never had an occurrence of bed bugs here (or any lodging near by). We utilize the services of a professional pest control vendor who screens for bed bugs as part of a regular service schedule. We immediately contacted them and had our rooms tested as a result of your review and are happy to report that our rooms did not have any presence of bed bugs.

We hope you have an opportunity to return to North Lake Tahoe and enjoy the many lodging and recreational options offered in the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We've been staying here since 1994, when our daughter was young. The property is nice, but the beach is great, & it's close to a few of our favorite restaurant;s Garwoods, Jakes on the Lake, and Sunnyside. Since our daughter went off to college, we have had a tendency to stay at Sunnyside (which we love). But last weekend we opted for a romantic getaway & my husband suggested we return to Mourelato's (it had been a few years). The beach is great. The rooms are nice, and it's a very relaxing getaway. They list the property as a resort. Resort means to us a beach & pool, restaurants on site, servers bringing you drinks, spa, shopping on-site. To us this is not a resort like the Westin Kaanapali, or any of the resorts in Maui, Cancun or Cabo (that we also love). It's just a nice get-away on a beautiful beach on the northshore of Lake Tahoe that is in close proximity to to shopping, hiking, river rafting, & boat rentals to cruise the lake. For 17 years, we have always enjoyed our stay! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CAfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Nice lodge with great private beach. Large lakeview rooms are very clean but furnishings are somewhat dated (older pull-out sofa bed was not comfortable for our teenager). Seems to be popular with large family groups. Family owned and operated.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hitdaroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here for three nights with our children and had two separate rooms. The rooms are large and well equipped, although slightly dated now I guess. But, the location of the hotel is right on Lake Tahoe and it's beautiful. The hotel provides sun loungers for guests, and it's a 30 second stroll from the room to the private beach on the lake. The hotel also offers water sports such as kayaks, paddle boards, jet skis, dinghies, pedaloes and with only the hotel guests using them there's no worries about booking (although, just to make a point with the hotel, I think it would be helpful if they provided a price list of activities on arrival as it seems at first as though they are for free and it is only when you have to sign a form with the beach guy that you realise you're paying!). The rooms are kept very clean with practical touches such as a bucket and towel outside your door to dunk your feet in to avoid bringing sand into the rooms (which with our three children was a great help!). For families this hotel is great - there are loads of beach toys hanging around to play with, and for adults there's a double size hammock in the shade. The staff are friendly and helpful, and we wished we'd booked an extra night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

For many years we have meant to go and stay and finally made it this year! We had a wonderful time and have already booked for next year! Ideally located for hikes, rafting, mini golf and tons of other fun stuff but really the attraction is the location and warmth of the hospitality - thank you Mourelatos family for making such a lovely destination and see you soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nittler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
0.8 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
20.8 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#7 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Property: Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Address: 6834 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-9803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ON THE BEACH AT LAKE TAHOE. Nestled on the magnificent pristine beach of Lake Tahoe's north shore, Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort offers a stunning lake-front lodging experience in Tahoe Vista, California, which is much more than just a place to stay. It's a treasured spot where the spectacular views of Lake Tahoe from the 32 well-appointed and spacious studio suites are just the beginning of what you will experience from its convenient and central location. For over 30 years, the family-owned Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort has been an escape for those who seek a natural, peaceful and unmatched setting to do it all, or do nothing at all, on the edge of Lake Tahoe. This intimate fully-remodeled all suite-motel sits on the edge of a 275 foot private beach and could not be more optimal and central for those who seek a location to enjoy all that Lake Tahoe has to offer. It's where you can truly take break from modern-day stress, a hideaway for families to reconnect, a romantic interlude for couples ... And an extraordinary getaway for active travelers from all over the world in one of the most beautiful settings on earth. Best of all, you will be hosted and spoiled throughout your stay with the owner's personal and authentic Greek hospitality that brings guests back year after year. ENDLESS ACTIVITIES ~ FOR ALL AGES. From your "home away from home", you can walk the beach with no destination in mind, sip morning coffee from your covered porch, watch your kids play on the sand, or let the day slip away while kayaking, boating, paddle boarding ... Or just soak up the scenery under the warm Sierra sun. Just across the street, the eighteen acres of private trails are accessible for hiking, biking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. And within a short scenic drive east or west, there are over a dozen internationally-acclaimed golf and ski resorts, gourmet restaurants, shops that showcase local artistry and arts and culture events year-round. YOUR PLACE TO ESCAPE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourelatos Lakeshore Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing