We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tahoe Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tahoe Sands Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

These rooms are actually small apartments. The one bedroom is quite spacious with a large bathroom, full kitchen, pull out sofa, nice bedroom, recently replaced mattress and very nice feather comforter. Our friends rented the two bedroom with the same amenities, bathroom was much smaller, living room had a gas pot belly stove. Nice quiet place to stay, we really enjoyed and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    95
    45
    17
    16
See reviews for
146
63
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Like some of the other reviews that you'll read on this site, I was also wary about booking a room here due to some of the negative reviews, but it was for New Year's Eve and there weren't many choices in my price range.

Let me first say that I am a very experienced business traveler, with probably close to a thousand hotel stays over the last 20 years, usually in three or four star hotels. I will not stay in a backpacker hotel or even a two star hotel if I can help it, but on the other hand I do not demand evey little upscale luxury and service that you'd expect at a five star hotel. Basically I look for comfort, quiet, cleanliness, safety, and the feeling of basic quality.

I was very happy at Tahoe Sands. Really comfy Queen sized bed, great heating, flat screen TV, free fast WiFi, spacious, clean and modern kitchenette and bathroom. Even though there was lots and lots of snow the parking was totally adequate and fully accessible without four wheel drive or chains.

I'm guessing that some of these negaive reviews that you'll see are old, because I honestly didn't see anything that some of these folks were complaining about. And other negative reviews are perhaps from people who have unrealistic expectations from a hotel in this area.

My recommendation is that I would stay there again with no hesitation, I'd have no problem bringing my wife there or recommending this place to family or friends. It's a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveMSacramento_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed at the resort this winter so we could ski at northstar ski resort. We arrived a little past 9pm in the evening on Friday night, discovered no one was manning the front office. They had a check in process and we were able to get our keys. Then, we had to drive up a fairly steep hill to get to our cabin. The road is not maintained at this time of the night, so we had some trouble making it through the snow up the hill. Through the process of pushing our car upwards, we lost our key. We called them but were told we needed to look for another hour to make sure we really can't find the keys, before they would send someone out.

So we were extremely displeased with the fact that management is so uncooperative, the road and parking spaces are not maintained and swept from snow.

The rooms are not top notch but they are clean and cozy. We even used the stove to cook some food the second night there. It was snow but it worked.

I'm sure this place is fine during the summer when you won't be freezing outside for an hour before the keys arrive, but I wouldn't come back here for the winter again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerTSR, Manager at Tahoe Sands Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Lake Tahoe is subject to extreme temperatures and snow storms during the months of November-March. This is an alpine mountain environment and there are slopes and valleys throughout the region. It is ideal to have a four wheel drive vehicle or carry snow tire chains for easier navigating.
Tahoe Sands Resort's lobby is open daily from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. However, after hours checkin is a very simple process...all you have to do is call the after hours telephone number to get the code to the outside lock box and retrieve your key. It is unfortuante that these guests lost their key and had to wait an hour for an on call emergency staff member to arrive at the resort to give them another one. The staff members delay getting to the resort was due to the inclement weather and driving conditions (icy, snowy roads getting to the resort) at such a late hour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

We ended up here by default, as everywhere else we wanted to stay was booked. After reading the reviews, we were very nervous about staying here. We are Timesare owners at the Westin Resort villas in Maui, HI and had some extra time that we had to use it before Jan or lose it. We did an exchange and we were offered a 2 bd/2 ba. Upon our arrival, we were offered a cabin or a room on te second floor. We were offered to check them both out and then decide which one we wanted. We opted for the upsatirs, Rm 213, and were very happy. The view was amazing, and true there is no elevator, but if you think about, you only ave to unload once and reload nce at the begining and end of your trip. It was very quiet and had everything we needed. The beds are all new, as was the sofa and carpet. The sandy beach was great for walks, (and a swim in the lake by accident, brrrrr!)
The staff was extremely helpful and eager to please, The hot tub was a nice way to end the evening, as was the sauna room (althoug the sauna could have been a little hotter, it was nice none the less)
We are already planning our return for next year. Granted, its not The Westin, (or even close) but if your looking to just get away to do some relaxing & skiing in a comfy, clean, welcoming place, then this is the place.
We will definately be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinmartinezs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

Unfortunately, I am a time share owner in this place and I am disappointed how this place looks. Every year they increase the dues but they don't do anything to the place. Honestly, we pay over half a million in repairs per year and I don't think they spend over $ 50,000 per year in repairs and maintenance. For the money, there are way better resorts to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justanotherguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay area, Ca
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

I read the review before going so I was expect not so great of a place. but I booked late and it was the only option. I was pleased and thought it was really not bad. I stayed in unit 215 it was fairly updated. The location was really good. I loved being next to the Lake. Stayed a week and was very satisfied. The unit was a studio unit next time I will book earlier to get a more roomer unit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ4ever2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

In desperate need of many repairs, updating and cleaning. The location is great, but the units have been neglected for way too many years. Doors, windows, and screens broken. Forget about using the sleeper sofa for sleeping - think springs, bars, and dirt. The carpets were filthy and the entire place needs a significant renovation. Do not stay at this place. Better, less expensive options nearby.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gapwool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
1.0 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tahoe Vistana Inn
Tahoe Vistana Inn
#8 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#4 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Sands Resort

Property: Tahoe Sands Resort
Address: 6610 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahoe Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tahoe Sands Resort. The sunny-side of the lake's best kept secret. Centrally located in Tahoe Vista, the Tahoe Sands Resort spans across four acres of open lakefront property and also offers a more private get-away hidden in the wooded acreage adjacent to the main buildings. Studios, 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units complete with kitchens are available throughout the property. The large open grass area offers a great recreational space or a relaxing place for all guests. Our private sand beach, one of Tahoe's best, is just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tahoe Sands Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing