We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WoW what an amazing, super, funtastic place, Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Petaluma, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WoW what an amazing, super, funtastic place, Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We have been coming here for around 8 years!! The new owners have really turned things around!! The sauna was great! We had the romance cabin with jet tub!! More than big enough for two!! I love the kitchen and fire place!! Was warm and cozy!! Never made it in hot tub, but looked great!! same with pool!! I love that it's down the street from snow parks and safeway!! Short drive away is Northstar and Boreal!! 40miles away is Reno!! I love this places and it's only getting better!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishSnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    140
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
329
364
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My wife and 2-year old daughter stayed Super Bowl weekend. We were warmly greeted by Martha the owner who checked us in and offered suggestions on restaurants. She also gave us a 10% discount on the 1BR lake view room which was good size, very clean with an updated kitchenette which included a mid-size refrigerator, a range top and a microwave. Althought the lodge is across the street from Lake Tahoe, the room did have a nice view of the lake. It also came with a large flat-screen TV which I was able to watch the game on and which the family was able to enjoy popcorn and disney movies on. The wall heaters kept the rooms toasty, even sometimes a bit too warm. The only criticism I have about the room is that the bathroom also needs to be updated. The sink did not drain properly. However, this was a minor inconvenience. The location in Tahoe Vista was a plus and we were able to take our daughter to a sno park which was approximately 1 mile from the hotel. It cost $5 per person plus $3 for parking and included sleds and saucers. There are also snomobile rentals on site. The only other minor disappointment was that Martha did not have the nightly fire pit as promised on Sunday evening. However, she may have had Super Bowl plans which prevented her from doing so.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Well, let's see... I love Martha. Who is Martha exactly? Martha is the owner of Cedar Glen Lodge. She checks you in. She makes you laugh. She cooks breakfast (super delicious waffles and bananas foster!). She builds fires in the pit. She roasts you marshmallows at said pit while wearing flip-flops in 25 degree weather. She ROCKS.

The lodge itself is great! We stayed in cabin #5. It shares a wall with number 4 but we couldn't hear a peep from there so it felt like we were alone! It was very clean, the heater made you feel like there was a roaring fire in your room, and there was even a cute little welcome bag of handy things in the bathroom.

The grounds of the lodge are super clean. There is a good amount of parking, friendly staff, and did I mention Martha, the owner?

I have already told everyone who will listen about how great a weekend we had there and I can't wait to go back for the summer so I can see Martha's warm time rituals!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiaharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarglenlodge, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. We truly enjoyed your visit and look forward to the next one! The "summer rituals" are all about the pool, the lake, the fire-pit (of course), the wonderful water sports, hiking, biking and some times chasing bears away from our property. So, if you are up to all of those, we'll see you here this summer!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed here one night and had a great time here. The lodge is located less than a mile away from a wonderful snow park--just $5/person for all-day sledding. It's across the street from the shore of the lake.

But the strength of the lodge is the relatively new owner named Martha. She goes out of her way to make sure everyone enjoys their stay. At night, we sat around the fire pit roasting marshmallows with other guests. In the morning, we ate Martha's freshly-made waffles before heading out. And when we forgot our baby's blanket in the room, her staff called us right away so we could turn around and retrieve it.

A really pleasant stay for a fair price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here the week of January 9 and had a wonderful time. The lodging was very spacious and comfortable, wi-fi was excellent, and the hot tub was very refreshing after each day's ski trip. Conveniently located to Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows, Northstar and Diamond Peak. Martha was very accommodating, providing an extra mattress for my son, who joined us mid-week. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dniles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 weeks in the month of December. The cabins were cozy and comfortable. They were very clean, which is what my wife really cared about. There was free Wi-fi and cable TV. We stayed in the studio cabin and there was plenty of room for my wife and I with a small round table where we could eat. There was a walk-in closet. And since we were staying for such a long time, Martha was gracious enough to supply us a microwave and minifridge!
One of the greatest things about this place was Martha and Allen! The greatest hosts we have ever met. We got to know them on our daily trips to their office for their free breakfast, which consisted of fresh fruit, bagels, waffles, juice, and pastries. The people we met there along the way were from all over the world - Australia, New Zealand, UK, Brazil, as we gathered around the fire pit for hot chocolate.
The location is excellent. Just a short drive to Norsthstar, Alpine, and Squaw Valley. Safeway was very close by (would be walking distance if it weren't for the crazy snow storm). There were plenty of nice restaurants around too, our favorite was El Sancho's fish tacos.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hebrews121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My wife found the Cedar Glen Lodge on the Internet. We were looking for an alternative to a place we read about in the paper.We were looking for a place in the snow where the family could get away for my birthday. The Cedar Glen Lodge was the right choice.Owners, Martha and Allen are gracious, personable and very accommodating hosts.We stayed in one of the rustic little cabins on the property.They surprised me with a birthday card and a box of chocolate candy. There was a full equipped kitchenette,free WI FI, TV with cable,a king sized bed for my wife and I ,a Queen sized sofa bed for my son, and a nice bathroom with great hot water.There is a pool,hot tub and sauna. The snow park was a 5 minute drive .I walked to the lake in about the same time. There were nightly gatherings around the fire pit and guests socializing over smores,cocoa and hot apple cider.There is a light breakfast served daily, Martha makes a mean bananas foster for the waffles. We liked it enough to stay an extra day, and plan to come back this summer to hang out at Lake Tahoe.It's family oriented and quiet and close to everything you need. I think I found my spot .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emanon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
433 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,837 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,001 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Glen Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing