We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely will stay here again!”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We loved this charming lodge. Stayed in a one bedroom cabin with a living room and kitchen. Everything was spotlessly clean with brand new bedding and plenty of towels. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and it was quiet and peaceful at all times. We've never experienced such genuine kindness and hospitality at any lodging we've ever stayed at. We got going too late our last morning there and breakfast had already been put away and Martha insisted on bringing us some food of our choice and when asked about pet friendly rooms took us on a tour of all the different rooms. It was very fun and I can't wait to see the updates she plans to make soon! Also, the evening home-baked desserts were fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahsue67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 900 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

Only complaint was the bed - the type where the mattress sags in the middle. We wew in the cheap rooms near the st and could hear road noise. If these don't bother you, you will love it! Very nice people manage it. Basic. We don't spend much time in the room, so it was fine. After 4 nites the bed really got to us.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Very cozy, newly renovated cabins. We stayed in #15 which was very nice. I especially liked the hoit-tub and thought the location in Tahoe Vista was perfect. Very quite and comfortable facilities. The hosts, Martha and Daniel, were as top notch as anything I have seen at a Ritz Carlton; they were very inviting and made you feel at home!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank zelenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I felt more like a guest of the family than a hotel customer at this charming old North Tahoe resort that is sure to go from funky to gentrified under the new ownership of Martha from L.A.. In fact, someone could make a great sitcom out of the story of a lady from Marina del Rey buying a vintage Tahoe resort and making it her new home. We have a son in college so it was time for a budget vacation, but we found a great value at this hotel. We stayed in an efficiency the first two nights, but decided (wisely) to upgrade to a little cabin with a bedroom and full kitchen for the second two. The decor is still a little dated and worn, but Martha has already purchased all new mattresses and bedding, plush towels and sweet citrus soap, and she's embarked on a complete redecorating project. The biggest plus here (besides the fanastic deal--two nights for the price of one in October!), was the personal, caring service. We got knocks on our doors in the evening to bring some home-baked goodies from the office. There is a lovely hot-tub, great dry sauna, and seasonal heated pool, as well as free wifi, free movies (with popcorn!), a continental breakfast , firepit and barbeques, games to borrow, and ping-pong. We were warned about food-scavenging bears and I did see one dumpster diving on Halloween night, but no harm done as Martha fearlessly chased him off with a foghorn (see what I mean about the potential sitcom?) My sleep was somewhat disturbed by a bright light outside our cabin window one night, but that was taken care of when I reported it to the office. All-in-all a very nice place, great value, and the friendliest folks you could meet!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

That's it, Martha and Danny not only will make you feel at home, they become your friends and most surely you'll get back to this nice place :)
Prices are very competitive, the cabins quite comfortable and the always warm pool an jacuzzi are definitely a plus. I hope to be able to come back to Lake Tahoe this winter. If so, I'd definitely stay with these guys! Best regards to Martha and Danny.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agustin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The Cedar Glenn is a wonderfully cosy spot with an excellent host staff who will make your stay special. A great location as well. We especially enjoyed the nightly fire pit!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wintercrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Cedar Glen is very cosy, good location at Lake Tahoe, the hospitality of Danny and co. is way above average, feels like being home, a great place with nice pool and spa. Has everything, even a very good continental breakfast. I can only give thumps up to everything here and urge everyone to come. A small thing that could be better is a table and extra chair in the living room of nr 14 and also a bit more cutlery. But thats minor things to make the place even better in the future!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliettegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,896 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,110 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: $193 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Glen Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing