We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge and down home in the woods feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great Lodge and down home in the woods feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in a room in the yet to be finished main building at the top of the hill. It was kind of fun to be in a building with nobody else. We looked out on the lake and the other cabin type rooms. Ours was a large 1 bedroom suite with a full kitchen. Fresh from it's remodel with a whirlpool tub, granite countertops, wood floors and a comfortable bed. They have done quite a good job on their remodel. Considering some of the surrounding motels/resorts this one stands out.

Room Tip: I think the upper rooms (when finished) in the back building would be best due to no foot traffic ab...
See more room tips
Green Features: Being a Certified Green Builder and a LEED Green Associate I'm glad they are making a conscious effort to be green and get a rating.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaJason3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are done with all the renovations of the lodge. In addition, we finished our putting green. We are so happy with all the improvements. I so wish you come back and see the final product. I am sure you will love it!

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    132
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
295
328
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
362 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Cedar Glen Lodge has so much going for it. First, is their manager, Martha. She is personable, efficient, and very knowledgeable about the lodge and the Tahoe area. Next, the location is fantastic! Then the suites are very comfortable, clean, and safe. Many restaurants and shops are near by so you don't have to venture far to have access to the great abundance of supply and demand. The beautiful lake is just across the road with their own beach area so What A Package!
AND they are still perfecting!

Green Features: I couldn't help but notice how strongly Martha feels about the Environment and their practices to do what is best to save our planet.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Manager at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
My goodness! Thank you so much for your kind and sweet words! Frankly, guests like you make me love my job so much, that it doesn't even feel like "work," at all. Thank you!!!

I am so glad you were able to enjoy beautiful Lake Tahoe and our property as well. As you mentioned, our location is fantastic, and we keep working hard to renovate it. The putting green should be finished in a couple of days. We had a three days delay due to rain, but it just made everything more green and beautiful.

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

First off the location and scenery are perfect. The hosts are the true definition of hosts. The cabins are really mini homes, comfortable, clean and a true retreat. Now let's talk about dinner at the Rustic. Truly a four star resturaunt, impeccable service and the food, well let me say if we could have ordered everything off the menu we would have.
Owner pride is ever present the Cedar Glen. Martha and Alan are in constant motion renovating and improving the property for their guests.
This our first visit to Tahoe and we thank Martha and Alan for making our memories wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are very glad that you had a good time with us and also that you enjoyed The Rustic Lounge!

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!
-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a great time at the Cedar Glen Lodge. Our cottage had just been renovated and we were the first people staying in it. It was just perfect. Couldn't ask for anything more. Martha and the entire staff made us feel so welcome and thought of every detail to help us enjoy the resort and the surrounding area. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Tahoe.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23, a pet friendly room. It was very close to the dog area so that was nice for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We appreciate you "test driving," room #23 and are very glad that you all enjoyed it. Please say hello to your sweet nephew and I hope to see you all back soon!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The rooms were comfortable, the atmosphere relaxing, and the staff amazing. My fiance and I spent a wonderful weekend with Martha and the Cedar Glen crew and we wouldn't take it back for anything. It should be a visit everyone should make at least once in their life.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, dear Donna L! I had so much fun spending time with you and your fiance' as well and can't wait to see you back!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was a really pleasant stay there. The lady at front desk gave us all the information we need, even the road condition! The cottage is really clean and the kitchen is awesome! Definitely the best lodge in lake Tahoe area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weiheng_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very glad you enjoyed your Tahoe getaway at our property and hope to see you back soon!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had the most amazing time at the Cedar Glen Lodge! Martha, Alan and their entire staff made us feel at home during our wedding weekend. The lodge provides a bed and breakfast experience - intimate and casual yet inviting in their mountain lodge decor! They thought of every detail to ensure our stay at the lodge was completely memorable!

Our wedding dinner on Sunday was a five star experience! The presentation of our meal was exceptional and the service was incredible!! Anna and Dave created an astonishing 5 course meal for us to savor (even our wedding cake and cupcakes were over the top)!

We had family arrive from across the country and each of us had a fantastic experience...being a part of Martha and Alan's extended family!! Thank You Cedar Glen Lodge for creating the most extraordinary winter wedding memories at your lodge!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaiS815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dearest TaiS815,
Thank you so much for such kind and wonderful review. I really can't tell you enough what a great joy and honor it was to host your wedding at our property! I will always remember all of you very fondly and hope to have the joy to seeing you come back.

Once more, congratulations on your beautiful wedding and thank you so much for everything!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an onsite award winning restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and a wine bar, in addition to cozy cottages with fireplaces and kitchens, some with AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing