We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Great Staff, Great Amenities!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Price, Great Staff, Great Amenities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Especially for the price, this is the best place to stay on North Lake Tahoe!

Before our stay, they were gracious enough to make special accommodations for us when we realized we hadn't booked the appropriate room to bring our dog along, without any fuss, so we walked in the day of our trip with great expectations and they were more than met, they were exceeded.

The decor and amenities make for an authentic woodsy feel, the pool and hot tub make up for the lake being a bit too cold at times to really take a swim and the fire pit and picnic area allowed for some great socializing. The staff at check-in were great, asked us what interested us and provided a bunch of great, local knowledge activities to set out on. We're a bit snotty when it comes to food, so we chose to go out for brunch, but peeking into the continental breakfast, it looked great and there was a large selection.

The grounds were very dog friendly,including a fenced in dog exercise area (baggies and barrel included for waste) We went walking in the woods behind and encountered a bear about 50 ft from the hotel, after calmly walking away and notifying the staff, they were quick to act and resolved the situation without any fuss- they were pros!

All-in-all we were very impressed with the staff, the hotel and THE PRICE! We would recommend Cedar Glen to couples,families and dog people alike!

Room Tip: make sure if you have a dog, you specify at booking, they'll give you a dog friendly room, other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    129
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
282
318
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you are staying on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe, you definitely need to stay here. The Cedar Glen has everything you need for a great price. I have stayed in many hotels in this area, and Cedar Glen tops them all. The owner is so kind and accommodating. The staff is always there to get you anything you need! Your stay includes a yummy breakfast, and they have recently re-done the entry building to include a breakfast room, sitting room (with fireplace!) and wine bar! It's gorgeous. They also have a picnic area w/grills, pool and fire pit (with s'mores fixins'!). It's so great. We have stayed there several times, and we are always sad to leave. The place really has a community/family feel which makes the stay even more enjoyable. I DEFINITELY recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The lodge is very pretty, well-laid out and well-maintained. There are many large trees on the property that add to the ambiance We loved our kitchenette--small but designed so as to use the space well. It didn't feel at all cramped. The staff was helpful and friendly. The woods behind the resort is peaceful and serene. There are restaurants within walking distance, too. Overall, we had a great experience there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandy_wag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The place is great, the reviews we found all over the web were great and the staff was friendly. We had a great time there and, no doubts, we will recommend it and use it ourselves whenever we go back to the lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sowjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had the best stay at the Cedar Glen Lodge. The property just underwent a total renovation and it shows everywhere. From Martha's warm greeting to the personal tour of the rooms by Alan, everything was all about service.

The bonuses were the s'mores that they bring out for guests in front of the nightly campfire and the wide selection of breakfast items in the morning.

We'll definitely be returning to the Cedar Glen Lodge and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We just made a return visit to Cedar Glen Lodge after having not gone for several years because the accommodations and service had deteriorated. Under the new ownership, the lodge is completely revived and lovely, with all of the "old Tahoe" charm and updated amenities. Soft new linens, and comfy matresses. The knotty pine remains in the cabins but carpet and furnishings have been updated. There is a wonderful new pride of ownership and a warm and welcoming feeling. Everything is clean, the landscaping had been rejuvinated and the views remain spectacular. The new lobby is stunning and I can imagine the restaurant will be wonderful. It was opening a week after our visit. The great family feel has returned, and people gather in the evenings around the fire pit to visit and make new friends. We are making week long reservations for next year, and plan to make it an annual tradition.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to find out the different types of rooms. Cabins, apartments, with kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

A fantastic lodge in a fantastic place ,if you get the chance to stay here grab it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robmi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
4.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an onsite award winning restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and a wine bar, in addition to cozy cottages with fireplaces and kitchens, some with AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing