We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Night Getaway”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had the best stay at the Cedar Glen Lodge. The property just underwent a total renovation and it shows everywhere. From Martha's warm greeting to the personal tour of the rooms by Alan, everything was all about service.

The bonuses were the s'mores that they bring out for guests in front of the nightly campfire and the wide selection of breakfast items in the morning.

We'll definitely be returning to the Cedar Glen Lodge and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 900 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

We just made a return visit to Cedar Glen Lodge after having not gone for several years because the accommodations and service had deteriorated. Under the new ownership, the lodge is completely revived and lovely, with all of the "old Tahoe" charm and updated amenities. Soft new linens, and comfy matresses. The knotty pine remains in the cabins but carpet and furnishings have been updated. There is a wonderful new pride of ownership and a warm and welcoming feeling. Everything is clean, the landscaping had been rejuvinated and the views remain spectacular. The new lobby is stunning and I can imagine the restaurant will be wonderful. It was opening a week after our visit. The great family feel has returned, and people gather in the evenings around the fire pit to visit and make new friends. We are making week long reservations for next year, and plan to make it an annual tradition.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to find out the different types of rooms. Cabins, apartments, with kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

A fantastic lodge in a fantastic place ,if you get the chance to stay here grab it

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great place to enjoy total relaxation;walking distance to the beach and restaurants.We already are thinking of coming back for a vacation next summer.

Room Tip: The lodge at the top of the hill is great.We had a beautiful view of the lake and a nice outside spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattiB943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Beginning with making our reservations and continuing through check out, Alan and Martha and their staff made our experience wonderful in every way. The facility was not just spotless, but the level of maintenance and attention to tasteful, aesthetics of furnishings, outdoor furniture, reception lodge and dining area, the grounds was truly amazing. Our girls enjoyed the pool & jacuzzi, and "helping" Alan build the nightly campfires for the s'mores they provide for one and all. The cabin was very comfortable, the lake/beach just across the street, it was quiet at night, the very satisfying and healthy continental breakfast was more than ample. Our stay there could not have been better in any way big or small. We look forward to returning to this fantastic place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfsong1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We found Cedar Glen Lodge to be perfect for our needs. It was easy to find, affordable, and close to the lake and everything else we needed. It was squeaky clean,well maintained and charming. We loved our little studio-it was just what we were looking for but we are planning another trip for skiing and would love to rent the GORGEOUS 2 bedroom unit we snooped in. Martha was SUPER helpful and fun and we loved the s'mores around the fire pit.

Room Tip: Our studio was just right for two of us... The rooms at the end of the driveway on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our family of 4 recently stayed (June 2012) at Cedar Glen and had a great time. We liked it so much that we tried to extend our stay but unfortunately the lodge was full for the weekend. We were in family cabin (#19) and found it to be very comfortable for the four of us. As mentioned in our TA reviews the rooms were spotless and the beds and pillows are very comfortable. Alan spent a good 5 minutes when we checked in highlighting all the great things to do around Tahoe with an emphasis on kids and family. His restaurant recommendations were very helpful as well.

In order to highlight some things that families might be interested in here's a summary:

1. Our kids loved the heated pool and hot tub (Tahoe can get chilly)
2. CGL is not on the lake but it is a 5 minute walk to a suitable beach for the kids. The lodge even has beach chairs you can borrow! Note: take some swim shoes as the local beach is a little rocky near the edge of the water.
3. There are tons of restaurants within a few miles to suit all budgets and preferences
4. Up the hill from CGL is a very nice playground area that is part of a larger park
5. The lodge has a nice continental breakfast. This is not a stale danish and juice breakfast--instead they had fresh fruit, multiple cereal options, yogurt, bagels and more. All fresh!

And for some suggestions on family things to do in N Tahoe in the summertime:

1. Raft the Truckee river. It is a very mellow ride that even the little one can do safely as the river is a controlled release
2. Go to Sand Harbor State Park on the NV side. I could have spent a few days there.
3. If you are a cyclist, there are miles of bike paths around Tahoe--many are away from the road

I would definitely bring the family back to CGL. Thanks to the TA community for getting visibility to places like this who offer a great value for travelers to the Tahoe area!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnydaze_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
493 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
308 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: $182 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Glen Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where good taste meets serenity - Cedar Glen Lodge is an award-winning, Eco-friendly resort that offers a sophisticated and elegant rustic Tahoe charm nestled under a canopy of majestic pine trees. It offers an array of beautifully and tastefully appointed cottages and comfortable suites with high-end modern amenities . Some accommodations feature fireplaces, kitchens, AC, therapeutic BainUltra ThermoMasseur bathtubs, granite counter-tops, custom made furniture and breath-taking views! On-site wine bar, sandy beach right across the street, outdoor seasonal heated pool, hot-tub, sauna, picnic areas, BBQ's, nightly campfire with complimentary s'mores (weather permitting), volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station. Centrally located to all Lake Tahoe activities: kayaking, paddle boarding, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping, winter sports at world-class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing