We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family-friendly atmosphere and great owners”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Family-friendly atmosphere and great owners”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

A very warm welcome at this site. a set of cabins overlooking Lake Tahoe. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, trying to find us boat reservations, providing a birthday cake for the kids. The campfire with "smores" in the evening created a lovely village-like atmosphere wiht families mingling and there are plenty of other activities for children inclujding a good pool

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttonwoodwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    137
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
312
346
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Selma, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Cedar Glen Lodge for our family reunion in August 2011. We stayed in cabin 7 which was a perfect location. It was right by the fire pits, bbq, picnic area and not far from the pool. The cabin was perfect for us but next time we might check out the two bedroom one across the picnic area from us where my sister-in-law and her family stayed. The kids liked making the S'mores which Martha and the others supplied for us. And the breakfasts were good. I especially liked the weekend waffles and the delicious plums. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarglenlodge, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Kathy E! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Glen Lodge and very much look forward to your next visit.

Thanks again,

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This was our second time at the Cedar Glen Lodge and it was even better than the first! We love the rustic character and at the same time having clean and comfortable lodging. The owner, Martha, has done a significant amount of changes and improvements including new beds, flat screen TVs, landscaping and grounds improvements as well as interior upgrades. We even got a new toilet while we were there! Martha and her staff are super friendly, helpful and quick to respond. The sense of community created by the pool and firepit were wonderful as we met two family groups who were having reunions. We already made our reservation for next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timlauracn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The lodge is like a place away from home.

It has all the amnities that you need like the kitchen equipments, utensils, wine glasses, tv and DVD VCR, & bar-b-cue pit area. It enabled us to travel light. It is like going camping, with in-door accomodations. They keep the rooms clean daily, especially, the bathroom. The front desk, and the cleaning crew was very pleasant, hardworking, & always smiling. They provide us with plenty of clean towels.

The best part is the porch, with a first hand scenic view of the lake. It was very relaxing to sit anytime of the day, with the outdoor patio sitting.

The owners, Martha and Alan, are very pleasant people. It makes you feel like family. They are helpful in providing directions, and always check up on how we are doing. They provided healthy breakfast, and all day snacks & coffee at the front office. They have the evening smores at the front fire pit to enable us to meet other guests and to relax by the fire outdoors.

Over-all, it made our family vacation and our first trip to Lake Tahoe a memorable one. We are going back soon, & we are looking forward to the lodge upgrades.

All the best!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTMNinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

everything has been updated and painted. great family scene. their going to expand the breakfast area which will give much needed room for seating. we had a lake view room which made the stay nice. hosts are very helpful and friendly. lake is across the street and they have access. i would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I loved everything about this place: the looks, the staff, the fire and s'mores in the evening, breakfast in the morning, location. Location is great, right across the road from the lake.

Now, a couple of negative things: we were in room 4, very close to the road hence we could hear traffic in the morning. The beach across the street can hardly be called one, so do not be fooled.

Otherwise a great place to stay, would absolutely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patachok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

First and foremost, the staff at Cedar Glen Lodge are excellent. They go out of your way to make sure you have an enjoyable stay: from making sure you have everything you need for your beach visit (towels and chairs) to everything you need for smores by their fireplace at night. The other facilities such as pools, bbq's, etc were well maintained.

All that said, this isn't luxury accommodation, as it is a lodge (though the staff more attentive than a 4 star hotel). It also isn't lakeside, but the lake and a nice beach is across the street. With that in mind, and given the value factor, I would highly recommend Cedar Glen lodge for anyone looking for a nice relaxed stay in Tahoe...I know I'll be staying there on my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mothflakes3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing