We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, friendly people, great facilities!”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 15, 2011

First and foremost, the staff at Cedar Glen Lodge are excellent. They go out of your way to make sure you have an enjoyable stay: from making sure you have everything you need for your beach visit (towels and chairs) to everything you need for smores by their fireplace at night. The other facilities such as pools, bbq's, etc were well maintained.

All that said, this isn't luxury accommodation, as it is a lodge (though the staff more attentive than a 4 star hotel). It also isn't lakeside, but the lake and a nice beach is across the street. With that in mind, and given the value factor, I would highly recommend Cedar Glen lodge for anyone looking for a nice relaxed stay in Tahoe...I know I'll be staying there on my next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mothflakes3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 900 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

This place turned out to be better than I expected. We liked staying in the cabins, everything was clean and well kept. Its right across the street from the beach, and you can sit outside on the lawn and look at the lake. What we liked the most was the personal care the owners, Martha and Allen, showed my whole family. they were more than helpful and very accomodating. We especially loved the campfires at night and the complimentary s'mores. I still miss those nights. the continental breakfasts were more than adequate and on the weekend they make delicious waffles, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We also loved BBQing and sitting outside on the picnic tables gazing upon the lake. the staff was very helpful in helping us pick things to do in Tahoe. We definietly would recommend this place to anyone and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We arrived at Cedar Glenn Lodge on a Saturday, July 30th without a reservation because we were on our motorcycle and had no idea when we would arrive at Beautiful Lake Tahoe, I mean really beautiful Lake Tahoe !! We arrived and asked the owner Martha if she had a room ? To our surprise we would be acommedated for the rest of the week. Yeah ! Thank you very much we love it ! We stayed in almost every form of lodging on the property. We met some grear folks, we had great evenings by the fire and ate somores !!!!!! The location was the best, right across the street was the Lake !!. The folks who worked there were all hard workers and it showed. Thank you very much, I believe that God placed us exactly where we were meant to be. Thank you !!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our group of 7 families really enjoyed our 3-night stay at the beginning of August. Martha and everyone at Cedar Glen made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable - including buying and setting up two new BBQs within an hour of us mentioning that one wasn't working properly. The children in our group (14 of them, middle and high school age) all loved the facilities (pool, ping pong, volley ball, etc.) and never complained about having nothing to do. The rooms were cleaned and it's obvious that they're working on more improvements. A number of the families are already looking into going back for their own family trips. We'd definitely go back - either as a big group or with just our family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustJoan080490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband And my self Alex & Lauren Williams stayed there for three nights. When I say beautiful I mean Beautiful! The rooms and cabins are just fantastic! They were very clean, and the decor inside the rooms were just perfect for Tahoe. The lake is right across the street. The owners are just beautiful people they make you feel at home and would do anything to accomadate you. The grounds were imaculent, they have the fire pit going at night and they even provide the fixings for you. The staff was very nice and the hospitality was above the top. I would recommend Cedar Glenn Lodge!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williams16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Having never been to Lake Tahoe, we decided to end our one week trip through the peaceful Hwy 49 gold country, with a couple of nights at the Cedar Glen Lodge in the middle of July (the bad ) After a two hour drive over Yuba Gap and through beautiful Sierra Valley, we finally arrived at North Lake Blvd. (the ugly) The main road around the lake was totally torn up and under heavy constructon, we almost couldn't enter the Lodge as the driveway was torn out. The road was down to one lane and the bumper to bumper traffic reminded me of being back in L.A at rush hour, not exactly the peace and quiet I was expecting. A jackhammer blasted it's echo through the Lodge property, I totally freaked out. Entering the office I requested innkeeper Martha and explained this was not what I expected. (the good) Martha took us to our room and calmed me down saying that Tahoe has two seasons, Winter and Construction and that the noise would cease at 5PM. Martha was very nice and we decided to give the lodge a chance. We had room 33, a very basic room with a bathroom door that wouldn't close. Noisy neighboors gathered on the deck in front of our room late into the night. The following day we braved the traffic jam to explore Tahoe and had a great time. The second night was better and we left with good feelings. In summary, the Cedar Glen is an excellent value for the price, Innkeeper Martha's main objective is to satisfy her guests. The only thing I would recommend is not to visit Tahoe until later in the summer when the road construction is finished or in the winter. The setup of the property seemed that it would be perfect for family or group gatherings. Sorry if I rambled on in this review, I do plan on returning to the Cedar Glen next winter and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ragsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarglenlodge, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear ragsdad,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is equally important to future travelers and our management. I am so happy that after all, you were able to relax and enjoy your stay in Lake Tahoe and at Cedar Glen Lodge!

The road construction this year was probably as bad is it can be since it involved repaving the highway. The worst part was that we were never informed of this work and once they started, we never knew when they would show up again. I am happy to inform that the work is finally finished (at least in our area) and the new road looks really nice. Peace and quiet is back in beautiful Lake Tahoe!

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!

Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Cedar Glen for 3 nights on our first trip the Tahoe area. The cottages and the rooms look rustic at first but the amenities and the actual rooms are excellent. We would rate the interior decor, furnishing etc to be better than the regular top notch hotels. The owners Martha and Alan have put a lot of thought into this property and their effort shows. We stayed in one of the motel style rooms on the second floor and loved the view.

We also received good tips for our visits around the region from all of the friendly staff. They were also genuinely interested in our experiences touring the area which is very endearing. We definitely recommend this place without any reservation whatsoever.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssrini_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
493 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
308 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: $185 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Glen Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where good taste meets serenity - Cedar Glen Lodge is an award-winning, Eco-friendly resort that offers a sophisticated and elegant rustic Tahoe charm nestled under a canopy of majestic pine trees. It offers an array of beautifully and tastefully appointed cottages and comfortable suites with high-end modern amenities . Some accommodations feature fireplaces, kitchens, AC, therapeutic BainUltra ThermoMasseur bathtubs, granite counter-tops, custom made furniture and breath-taking views! On-site wine bar, sandy beach right across the street, outdoor seasonal heated pool, hot-tub, sauna, picnic areas, BBQ's, nightly campfire with complimentary s'mores (weather permitting), volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station. Centrally located to all Lake Tahoe activities: kayaking, paddle boarding, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping, winter sports at world-class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing