We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We selected this hotel as it was highly rated on Trip Advisor. Maybe we were expecting too much but this is really only a poor quality 2-3 star hotel. The room was old and very tired, although they did say they were in the process of re-modelling the other rooms so they might be better. There were on-suite facilities but these were basic. We were told we shouldn't open the windows at night because of bears (sounds exciting but wasn't) so the room was stuffy and too hot but didn't have any AC. The breakfast was free but sugar coated so not to our taste, although they did have fresh fruit. There was no where to sit except outside (which was wet) or back in your room. We thought the price was reasonable when we booked but felt it was poor value for our money. The owner/manager was very friendly ...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarglenlodge, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear Steve3591, Thank you so much for your review and for the opportunity to help future traveler's set their expectations a more realistic way :

This is not "a poor 2 -3 star" hotel, it IS 2 stars!. If you consider 2 or 3 star hotels "poor," you need to be willing to pay for a 4 or 5 star hotel or will continue to be disappointed.

"The room was old and tired." Yes, it is old. It was build in the 1950's in a "Rustic Lodge" style theme and we strive to preserve it. It is too bad that you missed the new carpet, drapes, bedding electric features and cleanliness . If you chose the $89 room, you have picked our simplest accommodation.

"We were told we shouldn't open the windows at night because of bears (sounds exciting but wasn't) so the room was stuffy and too hot but didn't have AC." As far as I know, nobody in our area has AC as Lake Tahoe is always cold at night. We do not have AC, but each room has a fan and more are available upon request. I don't know what to think about bears sounding "exciting." However, we are in the mountains and bears are the natives, not us. It seems to me that some common sense is needed here.

"The breakfast was free but sugar coated." Our breakfast items: four cereals (mini-wheat bite size, raisin brand, cheerios and granola), bagels, English muffins, yogurt, fruit, different juices (one is tomato) waffles, whipped cream, bananas foster (only on Saturdays and Sundays). Of these items, only the bananas foster are "sugar coated." And yes, we do not have a seating area in our office, but our picnic area and pool are wonderful and most people love to eat there.

"We felt the price was reasonable when we booked but felt it was poor value for our money." It is a good practice for travelers to shop around and see what the price range of the area is and know what to expect. Our least expensive room is $129 and $89 on week days, but within 8 miles of our property there are a couple of 5 stars hotels. So, there's a wide range to chose from. Please be realistic and know beforehand what to expect for your money. In our rates is included our not so much "sugar coated" continental breakfast, and somewhat "sugar coated" waffles and bananas foster on the weekends and wireless internet connection. Our property features a large outdoor heated (82 degrees) swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, picnic areas with grills, fire-pit (the high light of every night in any season!), volleyball, horseshoe pit, ping pong, badminton, croquet and access to the lake right across the street in addition to a bunch of game boards. We have something for most budgets to choose from, but if you are expecting a luxurious 5 star property, please look somewhere else (as pointed by some reviewers!) and be ready to pay $500 per night.

Best of luck on your future travels!

Martha =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    137
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
310
346
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at Cedar Glen Lodge for a week. Martha was welcoming from the moment of arrival. She seemed to know everyone's names and made every effort for her guests.
Our room had a balcony with a direct lake view. It was clean and well equipped. If you needed something (eg we needed a screwdriver one morning ) Martha was only too happy to try and locate it.
The free breakfast every morning was great, and coffee and fruit were available throughout the day. There were games to borrow free of charge, and equipment for badminton and table tennis could just be borrowed from the office.
The only minor grumble was the the strength of the wi-fi signal - it was good down at the office , but slowly faded as you got further away.
Lake Tahoe itself is a fantastic place to holiday - lots to do (which for us included cycling, swimming, kayaking, water rafting and parasailing).
If we come to Lake Tahoe again - we will certainly be booking at Cedar Glen!

Room Tip: Our room was no 21 - a good view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordJulieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I was first introduced to Cedar Glen Lodge in the late 90's when it was under different management as my friend and her family and I came up every summer for a week. I hadn't been back until the summer of 2011 and it was as if the lodge had only got better - I didn't even think that was possible. Ping pong tables, board games, fire pit, parking, free breakfast, volleyball, badminton, pool, jacuzzi are all of the many great things you will experience here. The rooms are very well kept, very affordable and the staff is extremely accommodating. Additionally, this is a superb location as it's just a five minute walk from the water, five minute drive to the grocery store and seven minute drive to a state beach. I would highly, highly recommend this place for both families, couples and a group of friends alike.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The location of this lodge is ideal for hiking, kayaking, sight seeing and eating. This location is a short drive from Hwy 267, Kings Beach, Tahoe Rim Trail, Nevada state line, Carnelian Bay, Tahoe City and Truckee River. So much to see and do in just this small section of Lake Tahoe, we could only skim the surface all Tahoe offers on our five day family vacation. A large part of our enjoyment was the atmosphere created by the lodge owners Alan and Martha, they made every effort in making our stay comfortable and pleasant. A nice sense of community can be found at the the nightly camp fire, sharing stories with other guests while putting together s'mores and chowing down. Well kept common areas with picnic tables, games and BBQ grills. Thanks to Phil at the front desk for some tips on where to find various trail heads and the conditions on those trails. Phil's first hand knowledge of the area is an asset to the lodge and its guests. A lovely place to wake in the morning, step out your door and view spectacular Lake Tahoe as you breathe fresh mountain air and chug down your morning cup of coffee before heading out for a day of fun. Thanks again to Alan, Martha and Phil.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyL1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I met my sister-in-law from WA and our cousin from PA in North Lake Tahoe. We stayed at the Cedar Glen Lodge for 4 days. It is located right across the street from the beach, it has a heated pool and wonderful hot tub. At night after the children toasted their smores (all provided by the lodge) we sat around the fire pit and sipped a glass of wine and talked about good old family times. This is a family friendly place to stay and the cabins are well maintained and super clean. No need to go out for breakfast because Martha provides a wonderful free breakfast which you can take outside and eat at the picnic tables. My husband and I give this place a 5 STAR rating and will most certainly stay there again - J & C Broderick - Wilton, CA

Room Tip: The rooms and bathrooms are SUPER clean ! ~ what you see on the web site is what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahoe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulgson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The renovation of Cedar Glen Lodge is significant. Under new ownership there has been quite a renovation! We will be back next season.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at Cedar Glen Lodge for 2 nights during a tour of California for our honeymoon. We were hoping it would match up the reviews and we weren't disappointed. Martha gave us a wonderful welcome and couldn't have been more helpful when it came to information and advice on what to do. The place had everything we needed including both a swimming pool and access to the private beach across the road. The room was clean and very comfortable and had everything we required in it.

Martha helped craete a real community feel around the place and we even came back to find a bottle of free champagne in our fridge to help us celebrate...top marks all the way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holmesyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing