We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible horrible horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The customer service was horrible!!! The office is closed on Sunday after 5pm and they didn't even tell us that they were closed. We drove 5 hrs to show up to a empty office and no room for us. They claimed they put a envelope on the door for us with a room key but they did not. The least they could have done was call us and let us know they would not be there and there was a key on the door but I guess they forgot.... We had no where to go and we had a hungry tired baby. Absolute horrible horrible customer service. When we called the next day Mary the receptionist was extremely rude and blamed us for not seeing the envelope, but we all knew there was no envelope or phone call ever made. The plain truth is she forgot to put the envelope on the door and she never called us. Makes me never want to return to Tahoe. Lazy employees with no pride in their work.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Poorpietri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in cabin 20 (lakeside, right next to the sand). This is the place to relax and wind down. We attended a lovely wedding on the property. Very nicely remodeled cabin. Great place for families and great beach. Very nice staff too!

Room Tip: Lake front or lake side
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foothillschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family has been vacationing at the Franciscan for 40 years, more often than not. The place seems to only get better with time. Each unit is tastefully decorated in a cozy Tahoe way - themes of bears and trout abound. Each unit has a small kitchenette, equipped with what you need. gas bbq are scattered around the property for your use, if you choose. Aside from a sandy beachfront and pier to the lake, units across the road are close to a beautiful swimming pool and deck area, with plenty of loungers and chairs. The property as a whole is very well maintained and landscaped, plenty of parking. A great spot for families and kids. Over one of the weekends we were there, a group of six families vacationed together, spread over the property. Everyone seemed to have a great time, much like my memories vacationing at the Franciscan when I was much younger.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in number 14 for just one night in early August and really enjoyed it. It is so peaceful and quiet, and the beach is nice and not too crowded. The room was reasonably priced for the location, very close to the lake and very clean. You can walk to a few restaurants and bars which is nice. They also have a selection of movies you can check out for free from the front desk. Would love to come back and stay for a week!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank erinholly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Friendly staff with great facilities. We stayed at a lakeside deluxe studio #20. So cute with all kitchen needs covered on days we ate in.
Our family stayed in 64 with a full kitchen, a big BBQ to use outside the front and use of the games room which is attached to the house.
The beach is beautiful with plenty of beach chairs.
There are lots of restaurants locally to walk or drive. Safeway is half a mile away.
Franciscan is the perfect place to take a relaxing break but situated close enough to other great activities in Truckee and Tahoe City.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PunkFlamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

No a/c...otherwise LOVE everything. Cabin #53 by the trees not on lakeside (none available) felt like Tahoe +. Newly remodel studio cabin with queen bed. Flat screen cable TV, Fridge, gas stove, dishwasher ,microwave, couch, table,and bathroom with shower all new. It was our anniversary and it was great!Love the front porch, had barbque if needed too. Large clean pool was very refreshing. Still had cabin charm!
Private lake across the street with nice beach plenty of chairs and a grassy area too. I could walk out forever and be waist deep...LOVE IT. Private dock was great at night watched lightning over mountains- great show. Office has DVD to borrow lots of them. maid service excellent! Room had a box fan so set it up on table next to window to get thru hot night. The next nights we not hot so we were comfortable. State park next door to rent everything water , can't see it from beach which is nice. I WILL BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to stay across street by trees and pool. It was great...next time I might try la...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in Cabin 22 on the waterfront. Hands down, this was the best setting for a restorative summer vacation. Our three previous North Lake Tahoe trips have been spent in subpar lodging, all as an attempt to escape the hustle of the South side of the lake. I'm ecstatic to have found this place.

1. The photos are accurate. You're right on the beach. And, when the sun sets, it feels like you're the only people out there. It's quiet, restorative, and packed with shooting stars on a clear night. In the morning, there's a lull before people come to the beach. And, even then, there's enough space to avoid it feeling crowded or being loud. And, you're not walking through a parking lot or past other front doors. You wake up, and there's nothing between you and the lake.

2. The beach has lovely sand. Walking into the lake, the rocks are smooth and the water stays shallow (below 3') to the edge of the pier. This is great for wading (and it's warmer because it's shallower!) and great for small children.

3. The 'micro cabin' is well laid out, has a dishwasher in the kitchen, and felt clean without being sterile. The decor was typical knotty pine, but not offensively so. The deck has an umbrella and an awning, which were much appreciated during midday sun.

4. The property has a communal grill and easy parking. It's close to safeway - where you can buy kebabs for the grill. Aside from brunch (Blue Onion and Log Cabin Caffe), food at the surrounding restaurants was mediocre, so maximize your use of the amenities at the Franciscan.

Room Tip: Look at the map and chose a waterfront room. They're pricier, but worth the indulgence.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarWoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
0.7 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
302 reviews
20.7 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,088 reviews
9.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#5 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Lakeside Lodge

Address: 6944 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: $116 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franciscan located in Tahoe Vista is your home away from home. With fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes in every room, resort-wide wireless access, comfortable accommodations, and access to our private beach and pier, make The Franciscan your destination for your next getaway. The Franciscan is located in the quiet town of Tahoe Vista, just a short drive to many of Tahoe's great attractions, including Sand Harbor, Thunderbird Mansion, Kings Beach, and some of Tahoe's premier ski resorts. We are also located across the street from the Tahoe Regional Park, which boasts miles of hiking or snowshoeing trails, a disc golf course, playgrounds, playing fields, and a sledding hill in the winter. Stay entertained at The Franciscan at our long, sandy beach, at the volleyball courts, or in the heated swimming pool. Unwind and have a relaxing evening at our barbecue area, with views of the lake. Boat buoys are also available to rent at an affordable rate for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Franciscan Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing