We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little bit of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franciscan Lakeside Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Farmersville, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little bit of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you stay here, rent one of the cabins on the water's edge. This is a place I go to renew and refresh my soul. The cabins are comfortable and inviting - decorated nicely. But the best is the deck with a view that rivals anything you can look at.
The staff is friendly and helpful. And for what you get the price is competitive. I highly recommend this location to all. We have returned there at the end of May for the last 6 years. Hopefully we will continue to do our yearly retreat there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    41
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
51
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I must say that i was pleasantly surprised by the comfort and coziness of the unit we rented. Staff was courteous and friendly, unit was clean and spacious, and the location was nicely situated. We enjoyed the calm of Tahoe Vista over the buzz at incline village. Would certainly choose to stay at this location next time. Great job Franciscan Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in a cabin here for 3 nights and had an amazing time. The location right by the lake in Tahoe Vista was great. We enjoyed sitting on picnic tables with a beer watching the sun go down over the lake. It was handy to have the full kitchen in the cabin to cook dinner one night. We had a great meal at Jason's Beachside Grille - the ribs were amazing along with an excellent selection of beer. We enjoyed staying on the North Shore and found lots of beautiful hikes around the lake.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice private beachside location. Rooms clean & decorated nice Tahoe cabin cozy. Full kitchen a big bonus. Highly recommended for spring/summer - haven't tried winter yet- but planning on doing so soon!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cat_kaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This place is great. Set right along the lake in Tahoe vista, rooms on both the lake and forest side. All rooms are a Value. Clean and comfy. Beds vary on terms of firmness. Kitchens great for prepping breakfast or dinner. All the basics right there. Safeway is a few blocks away. It's my choice place to stay throughout the season. Low maintenance and reliable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redding
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place for a family gathering because its spread out with more than enough cottages,smaller units , for everyone's budget. The people are very friendly and helpful and obliging. Close to everything on the North Shore.

Room Tip: The cottages on the shoreline are very nice facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doggonRedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in room #42, NOT on lake side. The bathroom, furnishings and kitchenette were updated, yet we felt as if we'd time traveled to 1959 - which is a good thing. Despite the room's twin plasma TV's, we were more inclined to hit the adirondak chairs on the front porch and meet the "neighbors". There's no bugs, no pests of any kind, and the lack of air conditioning didn't bother us one bit. Tip: keep windows open early morning to cool off your room, then shut your windows and curtains to keep that super-strong Tahoe sun out. The room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, including a full sized coffee maker, hair dryer, and dishwasher. Warning: construction is happening right outside the rear of the room, hence bedroom and bathroom windows look directly onto heavy machinery and their noise. The office offered us a small discount, but frankly I would have preferred a head's up when booking. Lakeside looks a heck of a lot nicer. Their porches face the beach while our's faced the parking lot. The heated pool was clean enough, but there's fairly loud and seemingly endless road noise . The beach is a dream - plenty of lounge chairs, a volleyball court, grass and shade with picnic tables and BBQ's. Kayak and other toys could be rented next door. Overall, a good value, clean place. Fun time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferAer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
0.7 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
20.8 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#6 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#3 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#5 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Lakeside Lodge

Property: Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
Address: 6944 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franciscan located in Tahoe Vista is your home away from home. With fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes in every room, resort-wide wireless access, comfortable accommodations, and access to our private beach and pier, make The Franciscan your destination for your next getaway. The Franciscan is located in the quiet town of Tahoe Vista, just a short drive to many of Tahoe's great attractions, including Sand Harbor, Thunderbird Mansion, Kings Beach, and some of Tahoe's premier ski resorts. We are also located across the street from the Tahoe Regional Park, which boasts miles of hiking or snowshoeing trails, a disc golf course, playgrounds, playing fields, and a sledding hill in the winter. Stay entertained at The Franciscan at our long, sandy beach, at the volleyball courts, or in the heated swimming pool. Unwind and have a relaxing evening at our barbecue area, with views of the lake. Boat buoys are also available to rent at an affordable rate for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Franciscan Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing