We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABVI Tahoe City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here the end of October for a cycling trip and it was great! So, the hotel isn't too much to write about, but the price and location were perfect! It's a no-frills, older room in need of a remodel, but everything was clean and functioning. There is a small, free breakfast offered with coffee, fruit, and danishes. There is also a hot tub! The hot tub was perfect after a day of cycling and overlooks the lake across the street! The location is smack in the middle of Tahoe City. Walking distance to everything, including the brewery almost right next door! If you are looking for cheap, functional, and no-frills, this is your place. The gal at the desk was very friendly and there is free wifi.

Room Tip: There was hardly anyone there when we were, so all the rooms were very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StorkRN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjpendleton, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

I'm always happy when I read about our desk personnel giving our guests such great service. It is such a joy to receive comments such as yours. We strive to always treat our guests as Kings and Queens so they will keep coming back time and again. Thank you for the positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here a couple of days over the New Years holidays. The motel is centrally located, close to the center of Tahoe City. The room is basic, but functional - comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We reported a non-functioning light bulb and they responded right away. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rock124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjpendleton, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. Yes, we coach our management team to respond to any complaint, even if they have to personally deliver a light bulb to a guest at night. It's all about keeping our guests happy in any way we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Don't know if it was the best value in Tahoe City but it was a pretty good value at about $70+ per night in the off season of late October. The room was small for two queen beds with very little room to spare around the beds. Bathroom was also very small. Beds were comfy and room was clean and location was very convenient to the lake shore as well as restaurants and shopping. Free wifi worked well. The visitors center is just down the street at the intersection of highways 89 & 28. Breakfast was skimpy with only pastries, juice, coffee and fruit available in the very small lobby. No area to sit and eat breakfast so you go to the lobby, pick up whatever, and carry it back to your room. Golf course behind the motel – a sign in the parking lot warns that there is a remote chance that an errant golf ball might strike your car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We picked this motel for its location, and affordability. It is an old motel layout, but the owners have tried to update the amenities. The room was very basic, bed comfortable, amenities were as advertised, and the location was convenient to everything in Tahoe City.

Room Tip: We chose the Deluxe King room because it was at the back of the hotel and looked out on the nearby g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtngran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in Tahoe City across the street from Lake Tahoe and close to shops and restaurants. It is an older hotel so it the rooms are somewhat dated but they have flat screen t.v's, and the beds are comfortable. The front desk is helpful and friendly. The price is a good value off season and mid-week. The inside rooms can be noisy with guests opening and closing the room doors and the ice machine, and sometimes you can hear other guests talking. If you can get beyond this it is an average hotel for the value paid. Some of the rooms back up to a golf course with nice views, and an outside area where you can sit and enjoy the course views. The hot tub that is upstairs and has partial views of the lake is very nice too. The only thing good about the continental breakfast is the fresh fruit, juice, and maybe the coffee. The pastries are packaged store bought Svenhard's so we didn't eat at the hotel and there is nowhere to sit to eat. There is a bike trail close-by and we rode our bikes almost all the way to Squaw Valley from our hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGoddess61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel five or six times and it is always a good value for the money. Clean comfortable tooms, with new flat screen TVs, air conditioning, in-room coffee, suitable desk for work travelers, short walk to good restaruants.I will continue to stay here on business trips.

Room Tip: some ground floor rooms have rear patios that face a nice golf course and mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjpendleton, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Dan:
We're so happy that you continue to visit us so many times and hope you will continue to stay with us when visiting Lake Tahoe. I'm glad you noticed that we have the new 32"HD flat screen TV's and Air Conditioning. Our air conditioning units also heat the rooms quick when the cold weather visits us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great Motel, location walk to beach, shop's, staff were very friendly and helpful, Raphael was the guy who checked us in and he upgraded us to a spa suite which was spacious and spotless, continental breakfast was an added bonus. Great value in a beautiful area would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjpendleton, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Abbado 1 Cooroy:
I am so glad that our staff performed so well. Yes, our location, between the lake and the golf course in the center of all the activity makes for a very enjoyable visit. Come again, very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
4.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,983 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
634 reviews
5.4 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#4 of 7 in Tahoe City
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Address: 455 North Lake Boulevard, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range: $102 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been AAA rated for over 34 years,FEMA-Approved and the only hotel on North Lake Tahoe having individual heating/Air conditioning units-Activity-Centered between the lake and Golf Course,across street from COMMONS BEACH PLAYGROUND, Amphitheatre and picnic/barbecue facilities & easy walking distance to shopping malls, boat marina and museum. Only 15 minutes from Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows and Homewood Ski Areas-Ski shuttles are available. We have a seasonal outdoor heated pool and a year-round LAKEVIEW HOT TUB. Enjoy our Premium Beautyrest pillow-top beds, FREE wireless Internet, local calls, inroom coffee/tea makers,continental breakfast, Cable TV/HBO, irons/ironing boards and FREE Parking, large enough for trucks & motor homes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe Hotel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing