We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the road from the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Across the road from the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My sister and I stayed for two nights and found the motel-inn convenient, clean and basic. Location is just across the street from the lake in the middle of town. Some good selections for restaurants all within walking distance. I was surprised that we had a very quiet night's sleep. Breakfast, as already reported, is minimal but OK. Good bargain.

Room Tip: I would not have stayed on the ground floor if I were traveling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrLucyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    64
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
31
50
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MIDLANDS UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had some difficulty booking this hotel - the offer we wanted was phone-only - but we managed that hurdle.

Hotel was easy to find and reception was friendly and anticipating our arrival.

Room was in line with our expectations - clean, large, comfortable bed, balcony area, WC/shower.

Breakfast was a little basic but in line with the hotel pricing.

Would be happy to use this again for a basic no-frills break.

Room Tip: Keep back from the front road (probably)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIDLANDS-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This Motel is very nice. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Price very reasonable for South Lake Tahoe California. Tahoe is beautiful and this Motel is a nice place to stay. Staff at desk was very friendly. Will definately stay here if ever near Lake Tahoe again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Right on the main drag. Very nice rooms with golf course in back. Clean and adequately spacious rooms. Front desk very friendly and helpful. They provide discount coupons for restaurants only a few feet away. A cinema right near as well, all within 2-3 min walk. Tahoe is pricey for lodging and even off season this was nit a bargain but Trip Advisor comparisons to others it turned put to be all that was described. Lake Tahoe is loaded with lodging and with a little more search one could probably find a better deal but this was fine for one night. If i did not have a recommendation on any other I would return. The lake is spectacular and is partially visible at this hotel location. Lots of extra touches in the room. Some rooms have refrigerators but you will pay $10 more.

Room Tip: I think any of he rooms would be fine. If the back golf course rooms are less select that a the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecamel2363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My Mom and I just visited Lake Tahoe and stayed at Americas Best Value Inn--Tahoe City. We couldn't have been more pleased. Each and every member of the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating; the rooms were nice and clean; and the hotel was close to some wonderful restaurants and shopping. We would both recommend this hotel, and we will definitely visit it in the very near future.

Room Tip: Being that my Mom is older, we required a room on the bottom with two queen beds. We stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A group of 8 of us stayed in Superior Queen rooms and found the Inn to be comfortable, very clean, and with good service. The location is perfect for exploring the north and west sides of Lake Tahoe. A special thanks to the reservation personnel who helped me coordinate our rooms. Michelle (Yuba City, CA)

Room Tip: The superior rooms with fridges and microwaves are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

For the price (approx $90), this was an excellent deal for our spur of the moment vacation in Tahoe City. We originally planned to stay 2 nights, but ended up staying 4 nights, Monday through Thursday. Our room was on the second floor with a nice view of the Golf Course (a source of entertainment early each morning). There is a common balcony through a back door in the room. The room and bathroom were much smaller then newer chain hotels but we quickly adjusted. The architecture is from the sixties so it was nicely quaint. Our room was very clean and fresh every day. The location cannot be beat, across the street from Common's beach. There is a small breakfast provided (coffee, Juice, plastic wrapped danish), just what you would expect for the price, however, the coffee was excellent. Only small cups are provided, so bring your personal mug to get the required jolt in the mornings. There is an outdoor pool, again it is small in accordance with the architecture, and I believe there is a spa (jacuzzi) over the office area (we did not use). You cannot beat the location and the cleanliness of this motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a second level room facing the gold course. There is a common balcony and a good place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesToTravel2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you Sue M. from Los Angeles. I'm so happy that you had such a "wonderful stay" at our Americas Best Value Inn, Tahoe City. It's always nice to hear how pleased a guest is to find such a "friendly and accommodating staff" at a hotel. We certainly hope you return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
2.3 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
4.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
18.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pepper Tree Inn
Pepper Tree Inn
#4 of 7 in Tahoe City
3.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
Address: 455 North Lake Boulevard, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been AAA rated for over 34 years,FEMA-Approved and the only hotel on North Lake Tahoe having individual heating/Air conditioning units-Activity-Centered between the lake and Golf Course,across street from COMMONS BEACH PLAYGROUND, Amphitheatre and picnic/barbecue facilities & easy walking distance to shopping malls, boat marina and museum. Only 15 minutes from Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows and Homewood Ski Areas-Ski shuttles are available. We have a seasonal outdoor heated pool and a year-round LAKEVIEW HOT TUB. Enjoy our Premium Beautyrest pillow-top beds, FREE wireless Internet, local calls, inroom coffee/tea makers,continental breakfast, Cable TV/HBO, irons/ironing boards and FREE Parking, large enough for trucks & motor homes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe Hotel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing