We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
Nearby Hotels
Tahoe City Inn(Tahoe City)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Pepper Tree Inn(Tahoe City)
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp Tahoe City(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$335
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granlibakken Tahoe(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tamarack Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$144
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort at Squaw Creek(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Inn(Tahoe City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chinquapin(Tahoe City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
40
77
39
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
77
39
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseacross the streethot tubroom was cleangreat locationdiscount cardlake tahoecan hear your neighborspackaged pastriesno frillsfresh fruitdated decoran older hoteloutdoor poolrestaurants and shopsplace to staywalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 167 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

For the price (approx $90), this was an excellent deal for our spur of the moment vacation in Tahoe City. We originally planned to stay 2 nights, but ended up staying 4 nights, Monday through Thursday. Our room was on the second floor with a nice view of the Golf Course (a source of entertainment early each morning). There is a common balcony through a back door in the room. The room and bathroom were much smaller then newer chain hotels but we quickly adjusted. The architecture is from the sixties so it was nicely quaint. Our room was very clean and fresh every day. The location cannot be beat, across the street from Common's beach. There is a small breakfast provided (coffee, Juice, plastic wrapped danish), just what you would expect for the price, however, the coffee was excellent. Only small cups are provided, so bring your personal mug to get the required jolt in the mornings. There is an outdoor pool, again it is small in accordance with the architecture, and I believe there is a spa (jacuzzi) over the office area (we did not use). You cannot beat the location and the cleanliness of this motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a second level room facing the gold course. There is a common balcony and a good place for watching the golfers, the geese, and other wildlife.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesToTravel2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you Sue M. from Los Angeles. I'm so happy that you had such a "wonderful stay" at our Americas Best Value Inn, Tahoe City. It's always nice to hear how pleased a guest is to find such a "friendly and accommodating staff" at a hotel. We certainly hope you return very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel was located in a good place on the main drag. We were able to walk across the street to the lake and take a nice stroll down the paths. The room was neat and clean. For information, traffic was very bad on a Tuesday coming into Tahoe City. This is a very congested area even on a weekday. It would probably be extremely congested on the weekends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDLVKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were upstairs facing the lake.
The place was clean, quiet, and in a great location to walk across the street to the beach or do some window shopping. Oh, great parking as well!!!

We were a little disappointed in the breakfast, but what can you really expect for this amazing price! They did have very good coffee, juice, and danish.

Room Tip: Ask to face the golf course! It's really nice :)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hannahbannana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The summer special was a good price and we also got coupons for restaurants close by for 10-15% off. Location is perfect, we did not move our car for 2 days. The staff was friendly. The place is worn. The shower and beds were comfortable. There were four of us and we needed a roll away and they fit it in the room and did not charge us, which other motels would not do. I would not stay here on a very hot day as they have window AC units and they are noisy. Our room faced the golf course and was very quiet, we did not need to run the AC. I would stay here again, the price is right.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the golf course.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LSwengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Good:
Super location at the hwy 89 junction, were able to bike and walk everywhere. Right across from the beach/park.
The staff was nice and helpful.
The pool and spa was enjoyable and clean.
The rooms were clean, the a/c worked wonderfully and the mattress was newer (room 228).

The Bad/Ugly:
No bad, just ugly.
The exterior is worn (but that's typical for the snow/sun cycle location).
The rooms need updating (the 80's live on).

Would stay again. Got great $$ deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familytravelerswith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Co-Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for such a positive review of our motel! I was happy to see that your "Good" reviews far outweighed the "Bad" or "ugly". Yes, the exterior of our motel does show age because it was built to open for the 1960 Squaw Valley Olympics. As you drove around the lake, you probably noticed that most of the motels are even older than ours. The TRPA (Tahoe Regional Planning Agency) has restricted all building of new hotels or motels for over 30 years to stop the deterioration of our beautiful Lake Tahoe. We are in the "Activity Center" of the lake and most Tahoe City businesses prefer to keep the rustic look and not become another overbuilt South Tahoe. You indicated that our location in the center of town, between the lake and the golf course was "super" and that you "would stay again". We hope you do return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews