We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place for the Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were upstairs facing the lake.
The place was clean, quiet, and in a great location to walk across the street to the beach or do some window shopping. Oh, great parking as well!!!

We were a little disappointed in the breakfast, but what can you really expect for this amazing price! They did have very good coffee, juice, and danish.

Room Tip: Ask to face the golf course! It's really nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hannahbannana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    68
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
53
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The summer special was a good price and we also got coupons for restaurants close by for 10-15% off. Location is perfect, we did not move our car for 2 days. The staff was friendly. The place is worn. The shower and beds were comfortable. There were four of us and we needed a roll away and they fit it in the room and did not charge us, which other motels would not do. I would not stay here on a very hot day as they have window AC units and they are noisy. Our room faced the golf course and was very quiet, we did not need to run the AC. I would stay here again, the price is right.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSwengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Good:
Super location at the hwy 89 junction, were able to bike and walk everywhere. Right across from the beach/park.
The staff was nice and helpful.
The pool and spa was enjoyable and clean.
The rooms were clean, the a/c worked wonderfully and the mattress was newer (room 228).

The Bad/Ugly:
No bad, just ugly.
The exterior is worn (but that's typical for the snow/sun cycle location).
The rooms need updating (the 80's live on).

Would stay again. Got great $$ deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familytravelerswith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Co-Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review of our motel! I was happy to see that your "Good" reviews far outweighed the "Bad" or "ugly". Yes, the exterior of our motel does show age because it was built to open for the 1960 Squaw Valley Olympics. As you drove around the lake, you probably noticed that most of the motels are even older than ours. The TRPA (Tahoe Regional Planning Agency) has restricted all building of new hotels or motels for over 30 years to stop the deterioration of our beautiful Lake Tahoe. We are in the "Activity Center" of the lake and most Tahoe City businesses prefer to keep the rustic look and not become another overbuilt South Tahoe. You indicated that our location in the center of town, between the lake and the golf course was "super" and that you "would stay again". We hope you do return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at how cetrally located this hotel is! We could walk 2 minutes in every direction and find a park, beach, hiking trail, or restaurant. Although the rooms might need an updating, it was very clean, esp. the bathroom. We will definitely come back to this hotel again :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anajbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

When you first view this motel you may think 'what have I done?'...but don't be fooled by appearances..there are strict ordinances which prevent Tahoe City buildings being changed, apparently, so as to preserve the appearance of the lakeside communities (and possibly to prevent them becoming like South Lake Tahoe which is an awful place!) The accommodation inside took us by surprise. We had booked 4 nights but extended our stay by two nights because the room was so comfortable and clean...and because of the ideal situation to Commons beach and the lake. Although situated on the often busy main road we were not bothered by noise. We loved sitting on the little hot tub verandah watching the lake and the world go by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cantrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Co-Owner, Carl Pendleton at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We are so happy that you had a "Very enjoyable stay" and extended your stay to a total of six days. Yes, you hit the nail on the head concerning hotel appearances. The TRPA stopped all building around the lake over 30 years ago to, as you stated, "preserve the appearance of the lakeside communities and prevent them from becoming like South Lake Tahoe", which is the place to go if you prefer the gambling. Isn't it great to sit in our "LAKE VIEW HOT TUB" and, as you stated, "watch the world go by"?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great location. Walking distance to Boathouse Mall, Marina, Jakes on the Lake, Lakeside Pizza plus all the shops on the main drag in Tahoe City. Across the street from Commons Beach.

While the hotel room seemed very clean (smelled like cleaners) it looks like the 80's left their calling card on the decor. Oh my! It could use a serious updating, but my guess is that the owner knows people will keep booking rooms based upon the location alone. We are talking serious Hotel Impossible potential here. Mauve wallpaper, forest green carpets and acoustic ceilings are out.

The pros: there were plenty of pillows, the bed (mattress) itself was comfortable, and there was a nice view of the golf course. The pool was clean and uncrowded although in the middle of a parking lot and unattractive. My only problem with the room other than the tacky polyester bedspreads and scratchy blanket was that when someone smoked outside, the air conditioning intake blew cigarette smoke right into our room. We had to turn it off and this made for an uncomfortable night's sleep because it got stuffy and hot. Not nice!

I'd probably try to stay somewhere else if given more time to plan ahead, but for a last minute reservation this worked for a decent Tahoe getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fosterchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Co-Owner, Carl Pendleton at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Yes, we are at the best location in Tahoe City between the Golf Course and Commons Beach, a six million dollar investment made by the city about four years ago, including a wonderful playground for the kids.
I'm sorry for your experience with tobacco smoke. All of our rooms are NON-SMOKING and even the non-smokers prefer non-smoking rooms. There was probably a guest on the deck outside your room that went outside the room to have a smoke and your room air conditioner could have picked up a little of the smoke. However, I am sure that had you turned the air conditioner off momentarily, the smoker would have gone back to his room shortly. It was unfortunate that you turned it off for the rest of the night. Guests prefer our motel because we are the only motel on the North Shore having individual room air conditioners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

First visit here based on all the reviews. Great location - right across from Commons Beach. The staff was friendly, the hot tub had nice views of the lake and the pool was generally clean and nicely heated. We received the ABVI discount (15% off room fees plus free upgrade) and got a nice room facing the back of the hotel (patio views of the golf course with no street noise at all). The king beds were really firm and all 3 of us (2 parents, 1 kid) slept well. The breakfast is sparse (brewed coffees, OJ, packaged danishes). Maintenance was also responsive - they fixed our room fans upon request. One suggestion - they might want to put up signs not to leave food in the outside trash/cigarette bins (either bears or raccoons knock them over every night). Another suggestion - remove the rope in the pool that separates the shallow end from the deep end (it is very sharp and actually cut all 3 of us).

Room Tip: Get the ABVI discount card (free registration online).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EpicPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Co-Owner Carl Pendleton at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
It is very gratifying to read such a glowing report on our motel and the fact that you found our King Bed so firm and comfortable for "all 3 of us-2 parents and one kid"! It sure takes me back to my younger days, although in my younger days, there were no King Beds.
I want you to know that we replaced the pool rope as soon as we read your suggestion. We do value our guest's suggestions very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
2.3 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
4.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,386 reviews
18.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pepper Tree Inn
Pepper Tree Inn
#6 of 7 in Tahoe City
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
1.2 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
Address: 455 North Lake Boulevard, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been AAA rated for over 34 years,FEMA-Approved and the only hotel on North Lake Tahoe having individual heating/Air conditioning units-Activity-Centered between the lake and Golf Course,across street from COMMONS BEACH PLAYGROUND, Amphitheatre and picnic/barbecue facilities & easy walking distance to shopping malls, boat marina and museum. Only 15 minutes from Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows and Homewood Ski Areas-Ski shuttles are available. We have a seasonal outdoor heated pool and a year-round LAKEVIEW HOT TUB. Enjoy our Premium Beautyrest pillow-top beds, FREE wireless Internet, local calls, inroom coffee/tea makers,continental breakfast, Cable TV/HBO, irons/ironing boards and FREE Parking, large enough for trucks & motor homes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe Hotel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing