We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveler rating
324
161
67
36
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
161
67
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranlibakken resortropes courseski hillmain buildingfull kitchentennis courtsfamily reunionnational foresttree top adventurebeautiful locationheated poolgreat for familieshiking trailsking bedsquaw valleyfresh fruitpine trees
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 612 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2016

We had a great stay (2 adults, 1 toddler) over the New Years. The staff is super friendly, and goes out of their way to make your stay as comfy as possible. Rooms are clean and modern. The breakfast is super delicious with changing menu every day! The New Years Eve party was great and the fact that they had a kids program too was impressive. The facilities are very good, and the slope right at the resort is fantastic for people sledging, learning to ski and for kids. We will be back!

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SylviH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

Thank you for your glowing review of Granlibakken Tahoe! Our New Year's celebration is included in all rates, and is great for families, with food, dancing, and kid's activities. We also offer celebrations for Thanksgiving and Christmas that are a great value. We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service here at Granlibakken Tahoe, and we are always happy to hear when our staff goes above and beyond for a guest. We look forward to hosting your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2016

Our stay was from 12/30/15-1/3/16. Great breakfast, excellent New Year's eve celebration with good food, and if you sign up for the last seating at 8pm. there was a DJ and dance at 9pm.

Just be aware that when you rent a townhouse, the three bedrooms actually sleep 6 but it says max 8ppl. You will have to rent a rollaway bed for more than 6 people. There are a few townhouses with a loft that may sleep more.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christineL1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience here at Granlibakken Tahoe! Our holiday celebrations for Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's are included in all lodging rates, and are a lot of fun! We do offer some townhouses that have lofts and a greater number of beds, but those do need to be requested when the reservation is made. If a three-bedroom townhouse with a loft is unavailable when you book, we do offer rollaway beds for additional sleeping accommodations. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2016

Had a great time. We made last minute reservations and they happily obliged us. Check in was easy and also finding our room was simple. It would have been nice to have an elevator instead of pulling everything 3 floors up. Everything about the lodge was very clean. The studio had a Murphy bed and a pull out sofa bed. The unit was fully furnished. The room had a few deficiencies but nothing that would ruin a weekend in the snow. The sledding hill was great for the kids. They had a blast. The snowboard instructor my kid had was really great with her. Breakfast was great, we had lots of choices. We made dinner in our rooms and had all the utensils to do so provided to us. The room was a bit cold at night and the rooms only come with only 4 blankets. The heater felt as if it couldn't pump out enough warm air. I suggest taking lots of extra warm blankets. I would say 99% of everyone there was super friendly and helpful. Kids spent time in the warm pool but had to leave because people brought wine and began drinking. There is a no drinking sign but no one around to enforce it.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mommabear2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Granlibakken Tahoe! Our studios are a perfect fit for small families, with a small living area and a fully equipped kitchen so that you can make some of your own meals if you choose. Our sled hill is also great for beginners and families, and day passes to our ski and sled hill are half priced for lodging guests at Granlibakken, which is a great value! Our breakfast comes standard with all rates, and offers a great selection for everyone. We are sorry to hear that your room was a bit cold, we do offer additional blankets upon request, and we can also have maintenance look into the heaters if they are not sufficiently warm. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope that you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2016

well we arrived arround 1pm and of course they refused to check in us pushing that the policy is at 4 . My husband had a fever and i requested to try even with additional charge they told me that do jot have room ready . I requested to check if they can expedite cleaning considering that someone feels bad . Of course they know only how to say sorry but do not solve the issue ...very common in US. The worst was that they gove us the room when i start asking to call manager or Doctor which proofs that room was ready .... Anyway the resort location is good and we had good time !

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karineaW3525PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Thank you for sharing some of the highlights and shortcomings of your stay here. Guaranteed check-in is at 4PM for all of our rooms, however, if an early check-in is requested, we do our best to expedite housekeeping services. It is best to contact the hotel in advance if you need an early check-in so that we can notify the housekeeping department prior to your arrival. I am sure that housekeeping did their best to get the room ready when they were made aware that you were waiting, so I am glad to hear that you were able to check in prior to 4PM. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, and we hope that you will visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2016

Great locatiob for learning to ski without the crowds. The suite was exceptional...very high end! Breakfasts were great every day
Would love to come back again. Very froendly staff! Lots of lodging options.

Room Tip: Many room configurations. Let th know whay you need.
Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Granlibakken Tahoe. Our ski hill is perfect for beginners, with few crowds and a relaxed atmosphere. Skiing and sledding day passes are also half off for lodging guests, which is a great and inexpensive way to get on the slopes. Our wide variety of lodging options can accommodate groups of any size comfortably, and a hot buffet breakfast is included in all rates. We hope that you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews