We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of Granlibakken Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granlibakken Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Spent a couple nights here in the fall during the off season. It was peaceful and quiet and just what we needed. The suite was clean and had everything including a fireplace, nice rustic decor, and view of the full moon. We bought groceries and cooked in the kitchen for dinner, and made sandwiches for day hikes.

The staff was friendly, breakfast was delicious, and the lodge feel and setting made us feel at home. There were lots of things that made us want to go back, the ropes course and the pool for sure. Overall it was a great stay and we were very happy to find Granlibakken.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Granlibakken thanks you for your review. We are thrilled that you had such a lovely experience at Granlibakken. Our resort does give a very warm, welcoming vibe. We love that you checked out the Treetop Adventure Park and experienced our famous buffet breakfast! Next time stop by our Ski and Sled Hill and grab a meal at Cedar House Pub. Please let us know how we can help plan your next trip to Granlibakken!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Granlibakken Tahoe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 531 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

In the one BIG snow storm of this drought year, we celebrated the wedding of our daughter and new son-in-law. Because the weather had been so mild, they were counting on having their ceremony down at lake-side. Three hours before the ceremony, with snow and rain falling, they decided the venue needed to be changed to inside at Granlibakken. The staff quickly helped us to make this possible and beautiful. AhHa~~ :-) George, and his staff, worked very hard to set up the room in just the way that we wanted.
Their banquet was fabulous. The buffet dinner was superb - catering to the special needs of many diets! (ex: Robert, the head chef, invented crab cakes that were glutton and dairy free ... yet very yummy!)
All the staff was very accommodating... They all made us feel very welcomed and all were willing to assist our entire group with whatever was needed. The two wedding advisors, Brooke and Christie, were always on task and super helpful in every way we could imagine!
BOTTOM-LINE: Granlibakken was a very special place to have a wedding.
Our three days there were **MAGICAL** with LOVE abounding. WOW!!
Marty DeJ. (Mother of the Bride)

Room Tip: Room are VERY nice. Our suite was far larger than we expected! Before choosing a room, have the sta...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

It's such a pleasure to be able to share our resort and your daughter and son-in-laws special day! We're happy to hear that the wedding went off without a hitch, despite the weather issues! Granlibakken would love the opportunity to help build your next memorable visit to the area, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan your next getaway. Many thanks again for being our guest and lending us such kind words! Congratulations to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here instead of staying in the Squaw ski resort valley lodges to save money. We simply needed a place to sleep while we were not skiing, so we didn't really take advantage of the other ammenities. Our room at the Granlibakken was in the main building and was quite sufficient. I called ahead of time to let the desk staff know that we would be arriving around midnight and they said the late arrival was not a problem and that if no one was at the desk when we arrived, we would be able to find our room keys on a nearby table in the lobby. It's a little concerning that someone else would be able to simply pick up our room keys, but it was a non-issue because the lobby desk was manned afterall and we were quickly checked in upon arrival. Decor was a bit outdated, but I was more than pleased with the cleanliness of the room. The hairdryer in the bathroom died one evening, but I called the front desk and a (brand new) replacement was brought to our room within just a few minutes. Customer service was great. I give this a 3 out of 5 rating simply because the price seemed a little high for average quality and lack of special touches, but cleanliness and proximity to the ski slopes at Squaw were great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We appreciate your review! Thanks so much for being a guest of our Granlibakken Resort and for taking the opportunity to reach out. It's such a pleasure to be able to share our site and services with you. We'd love to share much more of our amenities such as our Cedar House Pub and Treetop Adventure Park. We'd love to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The people who work here are the best. They really aim to please and I have only experienced great customer service. The food here too is wonderful, as well as the accommodations are too.
I highly recommend Granlibakken as the place to stay if you are in north Lake Tahoe!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lizspirit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Granlibakken is very pleased that you received amazing customer service. We always aim to exceed all of our customers expectations! Our executive chef recently won a food and wine pairing competition; he's an amazing chef. Next time, check out the Treetop Adventure Course if you can get away from the conference for a couple of hours. Please contact about your next trip to Lake Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Best place ever if you have small kids.
- Free breakfast makes life easy and hassle free
- sled/ski hill is perfect for the little ones
- The rope course is great for all ages

Just had a great dinner at the Cedar House (on site). Fine dining atmosphere, great food, and kid friendly!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zwebo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. Granlibakken is the perfect place for families with young children! We are so happy you enjoyed our breakfast with such a wonderful variety of delicious food. Our Cedar House pub is very kid friendly, while still having a wonderful atmosphere for adults with live music and fireside dining. Please contact us to plan your next trip to Tahoe and Granlibakken!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It’s a little off the beaten path, but the food is really good. The lunch counter has one of the best burritos in the area and the atmosphere is pretty cool (it has the feel of an old ski lodge). I have lunch here at least once a week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Derek, thank you for reviewing our Snack Bar at Granlibakken's Ski and Sled Hill. We have been told many times that the Snack Bar has the best Mexican food in town! Don't forget to check out our Cedar House Pub this winter, open Fridays and Saturday 5 - 9 PM. As a local, the Pub offers 2 - for - 1 entrees every Friday night! Thank you for your continued patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I and my family have stayed 4 ski seasons at Granlibakken. The staff are friendly and helpful going above and beyond in make us feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms are a very comfortable and relaxing to place to rest after a day on the slopes. Granlibakken is located with in minutes of great ski destinations such as Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows and Homewood.

We always start our day with a trip to Granlibakken's breakfast buffet. The food is delicious and fresh. My sons and I enjoy a finishing up the day with a good soak in the Hot Tub. Then we get ready to do all again the next day.

We have made trips to Lake Tahoe in the past 4 years and always look forward to our stay at Granlibakken.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldpowell0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Granlibakken thanks you for your continued patronage. We are pleased that you have gotten to experience all 4 seasons with us, and enjoyed our comfortable and relaxing rooms. Our on-site day spa sounds like it might be the perfect apres ski activity for you, in addition to our hot tub and sauna. Granlibakken would love to help you plan your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
4.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
18.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
12.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granlibakken Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granlibakken Tahoe

Address: 725 Granlibakken Rd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range: $166 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Granlibakken Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granlibakken's Tahoe's 74 acre, secluded valley is your very own cozy, alpine getaway. Perfect year-round for groups, weddings and families to connect in an Old Tahoe ambiance. Onsite activities include a treetop adventure park, historic ski & snowboard hill, groomed sled hill, hiking & biking trails, tennis courts and a year-round heated pool and a spa to relax in after all the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Granlibakken Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granlibakken Hotel Tahoe City
Granlibakken Resort Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing