We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Granlibakken Tahoe
Nearby Hotels
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp Tahoe City(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$235
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tahoe City Inn(Tahoe City)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cottage Inn(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepper Tree Inn(Tahoe City)
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chinquapin(Tahoe City)
$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
$129
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort at Squaw Creek(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
$219
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveler rating
310
151
54
33
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
151
54
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranlibakken resortropes courseski hillthe main lodgetennis courtsfull kitchencedar housetreetop adventure parkfamily reuniongreat resortnational foresttree top adventurebreakfast was excellenthiking trailsgreat for familiesblintzeslift tickets
Filter
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 571 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised when we got this last minute booking. Our room was recently updated and included a kitchenette. Tasteful simple lodge style decor and comfortable mattress. Pool and hot tub were great. Breakfast very good. Had some trouble with our room keys that took a few tries to get fixed, but that was the only complaint. Best thing? The ropes course and zip line on site!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of our Granlibakken and for taking the time to share such kind words with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our recent renovations and that your experience was a hospitable and playful one--the ropes course is a perk you won't find in many other properties. We'd love to have you back to experience more of our unrivaled offerings, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return trips to the region. Many thanks again for your time and review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife, I and five year old daughter loved Granlibakken. It’s rustic, it’s casual and it’s fresh air and walking and swimming with an accommodating staff. We look forward to next visit. It’s near Wolfdale and Sunnyside, the two best restaurants in the area.

Peter Dwares, Esq.
San Francisco, CA

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pdwares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of our Granlibakken and for taking the time to share such kind and thoughtful words with us. It's a true pleasure to be able to share our one of a kind property with loyal guests like yourself, and we're thrilled to hear that our services and serene setting lent themselves to a relaxing and enjoyable visit. We'd love to share more of them both with you in the near future, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan returning trips to the region. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to see more of you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was a very pleasant surprise to discover the Granlibakken. This resort is within walking distance to a range of water sports at the nearby Tahoe City, expands thru out acres of beautiful California native forest, and offers within it's grounds a range of fun activities such as a jungle obstacle course, pool, spa, hiking & tennis courts. The staff is cordial & attentive to details & the rooms have that old quaint charm.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Many thanks for being a guest of our Granlibakken and for taking the time to share such kind and enthusiastic words with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property and its many engaging amenities. Combine these with the serenity of our natural landscape and the attentive services of our team, and we're proud of the package that we're able to offer valued guests like yourself. Many thanks again for your stay and review; we'd love to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our Family of 10 adults stayed at the resort for our yearly weekend family getaway and we had a wonderful time. The Resort was very nice. The location was central to many great reasuarants and activities that we found to be of great interest. The accomodations were very nice to boot.
Room #1 (Upstairs) Suite with a Kitchen & Living room that had a King Bed plus a Double Bed. (We were able to comforatably sit all ten of us in the dining or front room space at one time with just the shifting of a few chairs.)
Room #2 (Upstairs)Two Queen Beds with a bath
Room #3 2 Queen Beds with a bath (Downstairs)
Room #4 1 King Bed with a bath (Downstairs)
Room #5 2 Queen Beds (Downstairs not in same entrance BUT connected to Room #4)
If needed we could have easily fit 6 more people if you don't mind sharing rooms and / or beds, depending on the mix. It's kinda like a duplex - We all but one entered the same door to go to our four rooms. Three being like a hotel room and one being like a mini apartment, if that makes sense. I'm trying to paint a picture for large families looking for the same thing. Sometimes the search can be quite difficult. As a Bonus, our stay included a pretty nice buffet breakfast with a nice variety of items to choose from and each day they served something a little different which was great! We will be back, even if just my husband & I for a little get a way, we found it to be a nice find for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DonnieNTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Many thanks for being a guest of our Granlibakken Resort and for taking the time to share such kind words regarding your stay. It's an immense pleasure to be able to share our one of a kind facility with families like yours, and we're happy to hear that our spacious accommodations were able to lend to a memorable experience. We'd look forward to hosting you again soon and hope that you'll reach out as you plan return visits to the area. Thanks again for your time and review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My daughter's softball team had a tournament in Tahoe City & Incline Village, NV., so the team decided to stay at the Granlibakken. We were really excited to visit this property due to all the great reviews on Tripadvisor and Yelp and all on-site amenities on the property. We booked a studio room that was very nice, but a bit pricey at $255 per night (w/o tax). We've stayed at really nice resorts in Hawaii and in Mexico for a lot less. I guess is the location!!! Overall, our stay was great except for a few things that could've been mitigated from the hotel staff.

Our room was nice, had a fireplace, full kitchen and a small deck. There was a huge stain in the green carpet that seemed fresh and should've have been cleaned as I don't like to wear shoes in doors, but I felt I had to in our room. Breakfast was included in the price, but I didn't think it was worth it as it was all self service with minimal options.

Overall - it was a pleasant experience, but my expectations were a bit high due to the prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the check in area as it's close to the restaurant and pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ralicast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of our Granlibakken Resort and for taking the time to share your stay with us. We're happy to hear that your overall experience was a pleasant one, and that you enjoyed the peaceful serenity of our incomparable location. That said, I'm sorry to hear of your housekeeping concerns, and I will certainly pass these along to the team to prevent reoccurrence. We'd love to host you again soon, and we hope that you'll reach out should you return to our region. Thanks again for your time and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews