We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay overall”
Review of Chaney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaney House
Ranked #3 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My wife and I recently spent four nights at the Chaney House - here are our take-aways:

-This is an upscale Bed & Breakfast located approximately 5 miles South of Tahoe City. There are four rooms in the home for guests. We stayed in the "Russell Room", which we recommend given the following: it is upstairs, has a king size bed, and is quite spacious.
-The home is run by Gary and Lori Chaney, which are a nice couple who make you feel at home. They put out wine, cheese, and salami each night for the guests enjoyment. They also have nice chocalates in the living room (which were amazingly replaced each time after my wife and I feasted on them!).
-The home is a more quiet option versus hotels in Tahoe City. This would not be a good option, IMHO, for folks with children.
-As I mentioned, the couple goes out of their way to give the guests a great experience. We had a couple problems when we were there but the Chaney's went out of their way to make things right.
-Lori makes an amazing breakfast, with ample coffee, fruit, and various souffles. She made a noteworthy fruit parfait for one breakfast (delicious!).
-Gary knows the area so well and goes out of his way to share his knowledge with you. Please do consult him if you are not sure what you want to do. He was kind enough to relate various beach options to us - as a result, we ended up at the fabulous Meeks Bay beach (which had wonderful white sand, a snack bar, easy access, and a huge shady tree - an interesting combination!).
-The house features beautiful stone walls, a patio, a small beach (fairly rocky but ok for short swims), as well as a dock that is very useful for star gazing. The Chaney's provide beach towels and blankets (to keep warm when star gazing).
-Value was reasonable for the quality - we paid around $235 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rock_of_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 40 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Chaney House is a rather unique place-a stone house with lots of atmosphere. Located right on the lake, it has a small private beach and dock-the dock is a lovely place to sit and read a book, or just contemplate the water. The only down side is that the road is in between the lake and the house, so you have to cross the road to get to the water, and you hear the constant white noise of the traffic.

Gary and Lori are friendly and helpful hosts, and Gary is very knowledgeable about places to go, what to see, where to hike, etc. The room we stayed in was cozy and comfortable.

One criticism-the living room, while an inviting place to sit, is so dimly lit at night that I found it impossible to read in there!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, don't stay in Jeannine's room-floor above creaks when someone wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank music33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon. Gary and Lori were so hospitable. Gary was very helpful making dinner reservations for us, telling us all about the different things to do in the Tahoe area, etc. He even offered and printed out our boarding passes the night before we had to leave. Lori's breakfast was outstanding!!! Each breakfast was different and excellent. My wife asked for the recipe's for one of them and Lori gladly gave it to us. We even asked if we could do a load of laundry and they allowed us to. A great bed and breakfast with wine and appetizers in the evening, right across the street from the lake with a great view, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majetito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We spent four nights at the Chaney House in mid-June and it was a delightful experience – easily the best B&B we’ve ever stayed at! The home is beautiful and comfortable, and located on a quiet, wooded property just across from the lake, but near excellent restaurants and great attractions. And the view from the lounge chairs on front patio is just gorgeous! Gary has lived in this house for 35 years, so he knows all the people in town and all the best spots. And he and Lori are happy to spend as much time telling you about the area as you want to spend listening. Lori makes a great and bountiful breakfast each morning, even accommodating vegetarians. After our visit, I can’t imagine staying anywhere else at Tahoe!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick_in_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Lori and Gary have a beautiful and historic home on the lakefront in West Tahoe. They have 4 rooms they rent to guests - but it's more like being invited to be a friend of the family. Very soon you will know a little about the 10 grandchildren, Gary will have told you all the best places to visit round the lake, and furtther afield. In the evengs, over wine and cheese, the menus of all the best restaurants in the area are on hand to help you choose where to dine (for something special try Christy Hill in Tahoe City) and Lori will produce a special and splendid breakfast each morning. They have a private beach and pier - there is a road between them and the beach/pier. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

My wife and I have done a lot of traveling. We generally prefer name brand hotels and stay away from B&B. The reason for this is, the variance in stay-experience is low with name brands and you don't expect anything fancy to start with. B&B on the other hand can be spectacular or disaster (larger variance in experience).

This B&B, Chaney House was on the "Spectacular" side of the spectrum and our stay couldn't have been better.

Last weekend (2010 Easter) we visited Homewood for some skiing. After a day of skiing on Saturday, we received a very warm welcome by Gary and Lori (the owners, and they have been married for 25 years)... we had some wine and cheese. And slowly settled in. Then they helped us select a dinner venue - the Sunnyside restaurant. Gary offered to make reservations. But we wanted to check the place before eating (we are both vegetarians).

They left the heat, the fireplace and lights on... so after we came back from dinner, we just relaxed in the grand living room besides the fireplace for a while... and then retired.

We stayed at the Jeannine room. The room and bed was comfortable. And the restroom was clean and practically laid out. The bed had electric-warmed comforters :)... and the room was appointed with several memorabilia.

When we woke up Sunday morning, they had a pot of fresh coffee ready. It was flavorful coffee and it was not burnt. They have this device to keep coffee warm with a small candle light flame.. that just does the job. Classy silverware. This was followed by parfaits (strawberry) and pancakes (that Lori called "Dutch Baby"). Yummy.

On the way out, my ski boots needed a little adjustment. Gary readily brought out a pair of pliers and a file to fix it. This was way out of regular hospitality. And we just want to say thank you!

We are coming back this winter again to stay at Chaney's.

- Crina and Pakshi

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PakshiAndCrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We found this B&B on Trip Advisor and liked what we read. We stayed one night during a road trip to the mountains.
The owner/mangers were a pleasure to meet and to listen to and learn about the B&B and the area. I'm a fan of eating a nice breakfast. It was outstanding.
Its hard to believe that when the owner looked at the B&B in the winter to see if they wanted to buy the INN 30 years ago the main door was under of snow.

This is the place to stay near the lake and out of town. A real hideaway. It only has a small sign on the main road so you will miss it if you by driving to fast. .

We wanted to drive thru a mountain pass . The owner called ahead to get the road conitions ( snow), and gave us some local inputs. They made our trip to this area a pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainBobKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
3.0 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
7.7 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,897 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cottage Inn
Cottage Inn
#1 of 5 in Tahoe City
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Crest Cottages
Cedar Crest Cottages
#1 of 3 in Homewood
42 reviews
4.2 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
533 reviews
11.5 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaney House

Address: 4725 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range: $155 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing