We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Would stay here again. Not Four Seasons but not ratty Days Inn. good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother Nature's Inn

Mother Nature's Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mother Nature's Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Inland USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would stay here again. Not Four Seasons but not ratty Days Inn. good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Attending conference at nearby resort. Resort full. I just needed bed and shower. This room better than I expected. Decor was a little different to me; which was a plus. Clean in appearance. Light wear visible in carpet. Had a short sharp noise - source unknown -which woke me. I think it was another guest operating something outside. One night, I could hear neighbors yappy little dog. But window A/C drowned the yap well enough. The window unit runs constantly. That is a plus vs on and off cycling. I used no service. Parking good. Coffee shop nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Old-Salty-Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at Mother Nature's Inn last September which is the start of Tahoe's slow season, but awesome weather in my opinion. Rustic cabin furniture, small refrigerator, TV, full bath. All you need. Walk across the street to Lake Tahoe. Walk to many restaurants and shops. Perfect place for an individual or couple to stay.

We go to Tahoe often in the Summer since it is only an hour and a half from our house.

This is where we like to stay before the Winter and then head to our Winter getaway at Villa La Estancia, Nuevo Vallarta. We are looking to see if Mother Nature's Inn would consider doing an exchange with us for our Villa. Maybe an special offer to their Summer guests on where to stay in Mexico in the winter?

Brad & Joey
Villa 1302
Villa La Estancia, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. No views from any of the rooms we've stayed in, but we are only in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradrocklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were here during the off season so had no trouble booking the day-of-arrival for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday). It is in the perfect location to walk everywhere in Tahoe City, the west side of the Lake. We checked in at the Mother's Nature Store and were greeted by a very friendly lady. The store closes at 5, but just call the phone number (530-581-4278 or 800-558-4278) and the innkeeper will come check you in if you arrive later. They have only 8 rooms but the rooms are decorated with a log cabin feel and are very homey and comfortable. There is a coffee maker in the room and a microwave in the hallway. The room had a coatrack, desk, phone, plenty of shelves, was spacious, a great bed, was quiet, and had free, fast wifi. It is across the street from the lake. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpcharlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way from the Midwest to the West Coast. We loved being able to walk across the street and sit in the park, enjoying the view of Lake Tahoe, and taking a walk on the trail just below that park. We had a great dinner at Hacienda, overlooking the lake, and a lovely breakfast at Syd's Bagelry, just across the street. The room itself was cute and quite comfortable. One downside was that we had a very hard time controlling the heat; we turned it on, it got uncomfortably warm, we turned it way down, and it stayed uncomfortably warm. Also there was no ice whatsoever in the cabinet where the ice was supposed to be. The place was clean and the proprietor was pleasant and helpful. Since the inn is behind a home decor store on the road directly across from the lake, one cannot see the lake from the rooms. Also it is important to note that there is no elevator; this didn't cause us a problem but it might be important to others. The price was excellent for the location. We were glad we stayed!

Room Tip: If carrying your bags up a flight of stairs is a problem for you, make sure to ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is clean and comfortable and really loved by the owners. The only issue is the paper thin walls. It's an old quaint place where the thin walls will always be the same. If you are lucky like we were it will be annoying at most. The owners take really good care of this place and even the pet rooms have special features just for the pets. One of the two of us won't go back; I would give it another try.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Pros:
Crazy close to everything.
Amazingly wonderful warm and accommodating staff from check-in to check-out.
Well priced even on the weekends.
Comfy beds.
Mini fridge, coffee maker hair dryer, iron supplied.
Cozy and quaint decor.
Pet friendly.


Cons:
Walls are a little on the thin side.

I didnt want to even mention the small detail, but worth mentioning if this is a trip you will be bringing a small child or pet. It was not disruptive by any means noticeable. Loved loved looooovvvved it and will be staying again, and hopefully very soon. Traveled with my boyfriend, stayed the weekend. We wanted to add another day.

Go say "hi" to Carolyn at Fat Cats Bar & Grill two doors down. Have a shot-ski!!!! :)

Rosie's for bfast next door. Awesome!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetSassyLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The first thing I want to praise about this little hotel is the kindness and availability of the owner, who was able to accommodate our last minute changes not once, but twice, with ease and no penalties.

The place is cozy and warm: our room (#10) had a lovely mountain-style decor and was spotless. The room also had a little whiteboard where we found a personal welcoming note, which was a nice touch. WiFi was available and working. It is located just in front of the lake--but one can't see the lake from the windows.

The hotel does not offer breakfast, but there is a good place just next door (and you can get a weak yet working hotel's wifi signal just in case!), but no discount for hotel guests :(

Room Tip: Room 10 is at the end of the corridor, so you won't have many other guests walking in front of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
4.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
18.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Nature's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Nature's Inn

Property: Mother Nature's Inn
Address: 551 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mother Nature`s Hotel Tahoe City
Mother Natures Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing