We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Nature's Inn

Mother Nature's Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mother Nature's Inn
Save
You added Mother Nature's Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

like the price and comfort compared to others in the area, only about 10 rooms, very clean, owner cleans the rooms! nice decor, nice part of town, walk to everything, walls a little thin but was not a problem, use earplugs at night, our room had a big bathroom and king bed. Probably will never see owners, find your key in an envelope on a bulletin board. Have to spend about double for anything really nice in the area and the same price or more for worse. i'd stay again!!

  • Liked — comfortable surroundings
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonMarieGokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

Cute little motel near the lake in the center of North Lake Tahoe. I was really impressed with the little things in the room that made it special and cozy. The fireplace, welcome packet, tea/coffee, snacks, pet pillow...etc. I liked the rustic cabin like look and feel of the room and homeliness of the bathroom. Most motel bathrooms can be sort of sterile but this had nice towels and products.

My only negative was the staff. I think they realize what a nice place that they have that they sort of take their customers' business for granted. They didnt say 'Thank you' or 'How was your stay?', etc... and were fairly cold and unwelcomiing. But....if that doesnt bother you, it's a very nice place to stay. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Rustic style room
  • Disliked — Friendliness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joysafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

Cozy, clean, convenient location, good amenities, easy parking & walking around town, low price with AAA discount. Walls a little thin, so noisy neighbors might have been a problem., but wasn't for us. No window to open, so during the night we opened the door to the room and opened the hallway door to the outside to get fresh air. Hiked Mt. Rose & stayed a second night. Great splurge dinner at Jake's on the Lake and compensated with the $5.95 prime rib at Tahoe Biltmore the next night. Rosies, next door, had great breakfast & we chose to picnic at the beach across the street. Have to contact Jane, the manager, by cell phone to register.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank homefreeUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We went up to Tahoe for just one night to celebrate a birthday. We were looking for something inexpensive and available (on short notice) and had originally planned on bringing our small dog. We found Mother Nature's Inn, which is pet friendly and affordable. I had no idea what to expect, but I must say we were pleasantly surprised. It's a very small place tucked behind a small (but very cute) giftshop right in the heart of Tahoe City. The room was immaculately clean, even given the fact that it was a "pet friendly" room and nicely decorated. The bathroom even came stocked with toothpaste and a razor...more than the typical shampoo, conditioner & body lotion. The room also had a small refrigerator that kept our drinks ice cold! This is a small place - no restaurant on site, but just next door is a great place for breakfast - Rosie's Cafe. And the very best thing was the public beach across the street. Commons beach has a very shallow, gradual entry into the beautiful waters of Lake Tahoe. It has a sandy area and a grassy area, nice restrooms, and a nice playground just behind the beach for the kids. They were setting up for a free evening concert on the beach the day we went. This is definitely a place I could return to. The only small drawback was the the bed was very firm. Some people prefer this, but I usually like my bed a bit softer. All in all a great value and a gem of a place to stay right near the lake!

PS - We went in the summer, but if you are planning a winter trip, this place is just a hop, skip and a jump from Squaw Valley.

  • Liked — Location, location, location...and clean as a whistle
  • Disliked — Bed was a bit too hard
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank RD-Goes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
2.4 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
4.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pepper Tree Inn
Pepper Tree Inn
#6 of 7 in Tahoe City
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Nature's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Nature's Inn

Property: Mother Nature's Inn
Address: 551 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mother Nature`s Hotel Tahoe City
Mother Natures Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing