We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother Nature's Inn

Mother Nature's Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mother Nature's Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I'm writing this right now from room 8 of Mother Nature's Inn, because I couldn't wait to share about this little gem. If you've read all the other reviews, you know by now that it's a small two-story inn behind a crafts shop, and decorated right out of its inventory. There are wild-vine wreaths on the walls of my room, and a big ancient clock with roman numerals, and a small wooden canoe holding my soap and shampoo.

Nothing about this place is fancy, but the owner put her soul into it and it shows. It's immediately across the street from a public beach on the lake, and within a few-minute walk of most of the vicinity's food and drink. The inn is pet-friendly, but the pets stay in certain rooms; I did not bring a pet, (though I enjoyed sharing the company of the Australian Shepherd who is staying in a downstairs room right now), and my room smells immaculately clean.. The rooms have refrigerators, and there is a microwave to share down the hall. The beds are among the best I've experienced in a hotel, and they are sold at the store.

I have nothing bad to say about this place. To the person who complained that their car got dinged by a passing drive from the nearby golf course, they've now got a net protecting the parking lot from stray tee shots. This is the most beautiful way I could imagine to see a beautiful area, where you don't leave Tahoe just because you come inside, and you aren't stuck with a cookie-cutter room or cookie-cutter service. All at about half the price of the other area hotels I've seen advertised. We' love it so much weve decided to stay an extra day.

Room Tip: If you need a ground floor room let them know, stairs are the only way to the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PocketTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Positives: Quaint decor.
Negatives: The upkeep is poor. The bathroom had a broken glass shower door on which I cut my foot. The charming decor has a thick build up of dust..There is also a noisy arcade right next door. This not only created noise all night, but also flashing lights that beamed into my room. There is also a baseball diamond behind the inn where youth groups played games well into the evening. To add insult to injury, the supposed 'manager' kept forgetting that I was a guest and interrogated me every time she saw me on the premises.

I don't usually write reviews, but I think you should know what your getting into by staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cadence b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Had a great stay at Mother Nature's Inn. Quaint rooms in a great location in the heart of Tahoe City. You can walk to everything in town. Staff is very nice too.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobfraser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

A very decently priced, beautifully located, friendly and clean hotel! I will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emrhoades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

This is a nice little place-simple, clean, and a good value for the money. The rooms are decorated to look like cabins, with nicely placed decorations and a comfortable bed. The rooms are off the main road so it is pretty quiet. I am having to work in the room all day while I am here. This place is nice because there is a narrow enclosed hallway in front of all the rooms on the bottom floor. They have put chairs and tables for people to sit and enjoy the sun (it just pours into this little space). I am able to leave the door of the room open and my dog is able to lounge around and catch some winter rays.
P.S. They also leave a doggie basket with treats-nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank starfishsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

I chose this hotel because it was near a rafting trip my friends and I were taking. However, it is also near the local golf course and my car that had no dings now has several serious dings from being hit while parked in the hotel lot. When I called the hotel about this, one workers said "oh yes, this happens" and please call the owner tomorrow. When I spoke with the owner she told me I was the only person this had ever happened to and perhaps it was from a car door. She has hard pressed to explain the perfectly round ding in the roof of my car. When I asked her to pay the deductible she told me that she would think about it and call back. She never did. Whatever you may save staying at this hotel, it is not worth the repair of the damage to your car.

I wanted to give no stars, but the form doesn't allow that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank imoff60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

This is a simple motel extension to a quirky gift / furnture store on N Lake Blvd but the owners have filled each room with lots of character and made them very comfortable and charming. It is in a great location and is very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
4.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pepper Tree Inn
Pepper Tree Inn
#5 of 7 in Tahoe City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Nature's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Nature's Inn

Property: Mother Nature's Inn
Address: 551 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mother Nature`s Hotel Tahoe City
Mother Natures Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing