We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellman-Ehrman Mansion

Hellman-Ehrman Mansion
Ranked #6 of 34 things to do in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
california
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our tour guide was knowledgable, local and very, very nice.
The home is wonderful and it was fun to take this trip back in time. Just sitting on the front porch watching the lake was relaxing and a great way to take a break.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank foreverart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A lovely old authentic tahoe home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a great place to picnic, and to visit the ol HELLMAN-ERHMAN Mansion. We have gone through many times, and each time learn something new, This is a good way to see how the rich and famous vacationed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had trouble finding this as it is in a park. We parked and headed for the lake instead of the mansion. But the walk was lovely and we saw the mansion up on the hill. We peaked in windows. There were tours available but we were in a hurry. I think the tour would be interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouisaCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family spent some time in Lake Tahoe and were busy with kayaking, hiking and boating most of the time. We took some time away from all the sports to see this mansion and really enjoyed all the information that Dave (the docent) provided about the home and the history of the Lake Tahoe area. The home has many interesting features and there are beaches and areas to walk around the grounds. We really learned a lot about the history and nature of the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana34088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“How the wealthy lived a hundred years ago.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Docent guided tour through a portion of the enormous mansion.
Original kitchen and many original furnishings. Nice beach in front. Well worth the time for tour. Smaller children may be bored. Grounds are enormous.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank slaterock1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellman-Ehrman Mansion also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Hellman-Ehrman Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing