We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A lovely old authentic tahoe home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hellman-Ehrman Mansion

Hellman-Ehrman Mansion
Ranked #6 of 37 things to do in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A lovely old authentic tahoe home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a great place to picnic, and to visit the ol HELLMAN-ERHMAN Mansion. We have gone through many times, and each time learn something new, This is a good way to see how the rich and famous vacationed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had trouble finding this as it is in a park. We parked and headed for the lake instead of the mansion. But the walk was lovely and we saw the mansion up on the hill. We peaked in windows. There were tours available but we were in a hurry. I think the tour would be interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouisaCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family spent some time in Lake Tahoe and were busy with kayaking, hiking and boating most of the time. We took some time away from all the sports to see this mansion and really enjoyed all the information that Dave (the docent) provided about the home and the history of the Lake Tahoe area. The home has many interesting features and there are beaches and areas to walk around the grounds. We really learned a lot about the history and nature of the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana34088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“How the wealthy lived a hundred years ago.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Docent guided tour through a portion of the enormous mansion.
Original kitchen and many original furnishings. Nice beach in front. Well worth the time for tour. Smaller children may be bored. Grounds are enormous.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank slaterock1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A View from the Mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

My husband & I travel up to the Lake a few times every year and have found mid-September to be the best time. We love this time of the year the best because the pace slows a bit -- after the summer crowds and before the ski season begins.

When we arrive in September, we take one full day to visit the Mansion. The grounds are beautiful and quiet. There are times they still hold the tours so you can go into the home.

You can actually take time to slow down, breath deep and enjoy. Best of all is the VIEW from the grounds. From the Mansion's front door/porch, you can enjoy an uninterrupted view of this pristine lake and the surrounding mountains.

Remember to bring your tennis racket, as the courts are open to the public. Not many times "normal" folks can say they played at a Mansion.

Helpful?
14 Thank Crazy4Tahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellman-Ehrman Mansion also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Hellman-Ehrman Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing