We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”
Review of River Grill

River Grill
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Being tourist we tend to get fed up of the same diner style food, which feels stoogy and everything fried. We ate there on our first night and really enjoyed it. Food was light, tasty and good quality. The calamari excellent, as even though fried was crisp and tasted really fresh. Hostess and waiter was really nice and service was great. Place is cosy and has a slighty more upmarket feel.
Really happy we found it and thought it good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank villamunayki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    69
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch fish tacos , lake view the best!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Bar area in the eve is warm, friendly and nice to relax by the fire. I love the breadsticks with hummus. The ambiance is what you pay for and food is second, except those lunch Tacos!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food. Great atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We asked to be seated outside because the weather was so nice and warm. The hostess was very accommodating. Food was great. My husband had some of their red wine, and he said it was very lovely. You can see the lake from our table. I posted a picture. Will definitely revisit this place again next time we return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank maifiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoma, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service, food and deals”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Always great service, food and deals to be had a the River Grill. We always feel confident when we send guests there that they will enjoy a great meal. Look for their ski season happy hour deals. It's great bang for your buck.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tahomameadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great dining in Tahoe City!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Probably one of the best spots in the Tahoe City area for dining.
Great ambiance, food and service!
This place has it all, don't miss out!
A locals favorite!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrHoneyDoTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Grill also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing