We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sisters passing through town on cross country drive”

Christy Hill Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Christy Hill Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Bus stop available right across the street.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sisters passing through town on cross country drive”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My sister and I had dinner on the deck on the lake front. It was cool and they had both heat lamps and offered blankets. We had excellent service, he was attentive and just the right amount of conversational (not too much, not too little). He even recommended some things to do in town given our limited amount of time during our stay. My sister is vegetarian and they were very accommodating - their menu had enough to cover her or else they would have made something.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgriffing87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    56
    15
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magnificant”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We dined here on our last evening at Lake Tahoe. We sat on the balcony overlooking the lake. The setting was stunning and the food was delightful. I got a bit chilly as the sun went down and a lovely waiter provided me with a warm fleece blanket. There are also patio heaters so plenty to keep you warm on the chillier nights. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant and if we return to Lake Tahoe we will definitely go again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank holidayloversOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine Country,Ca
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Beautiful view of Lake Tahoe, nice heat lamps and they give you blankets as well. Food was very good. Our waiter had other interests (like the table with 2 women only) so the service was horrible from him.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kcpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, CA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average Food, Excellant View”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I recently visited Christy Hill for her birthday. We arrived early and had a glass of wine at the "Sand Bar," great little spot to visit with friends over a beer or glass of wine. Great views of Lake Tahoe! We were not impressed with the wine selection at the Sand Bar or the restraurant. How can a high end restraurant in northern CA not have a good wine selection?? My wife had the Moroccan Lamb, good not great and I had a pasta dish with chicken, also good not great. We were the first to be seated on the deck and were sat at the only table that was directly in the sun. Fortunately the sun fell behind the trees within 15 or 20 min. Wait staff was polite and attentive. We would likely visit the Sand Bar again for beers with friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Creative food, warm atmosphere and a great view!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had the best time at this Tahoe City restaurant. We arrived with no reservation but were promptly seated at a table in the bar with an amazing view. (I'm stumped by another review here that says "no view" - there are only about 50 seats inside and they ALL have great views.) Food and service was top notch - we were waited on by the bartender who had some great wine recommendations and was very pleasant. Food was very seasonal and fresh including a wonderful house-cured salmon, an heirloom tomato salad, and a great ribeye. We will make this a regular stop on our visits to Tahoe!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zythos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christy Hill Restaurant also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Christy Hill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing