We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christy Hill Restaurant

Christy Hill Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Christy Hill Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Bus stop available right across the street.
Wine Country,Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Beautiful view of Lake Tahoe, nice heat lamps and they give you blankets as well. Food was very good. Our waiter had other interests (like the table with 2 women only) so the service was horrible from him.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kcpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    52
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Average Food, Excellant View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I recently visited Christy Hill for her birthday. We arrived early and had a glass of wine at the "Sand Bar," great little spot to visit with friends over a beer or glass of wine. Great views of Lake Tahoe! We were not impressed with the wine selection at the Sand Bar or the restraurant. How can a high end restraurant in northern CA not have a good wine selection?? My wife had the Moroccan Lamb, good not great and I had a pasta dish with chicken, also good not great. We were the first to be seated on the deck and were sat at the only table that was directly in the sun. Fortunately the sun fell behind the trees within 15 or 20 min. Wait staff was polite and attentive. We would likely visit the Sand Bar again for beers with friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank walde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Creative food, warm atmosphere and a great view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had the best time at this Tahoe City restaurant. We arrived with no reservation but were promptly seated at a table in the bar with an amazing view. (I'm stumped by another review here that says "no view" - there are only about 50 seats inside and they ALL have great views.) Food and service was top notch - we were waited on by the bartender who had some great wine recommendations and was very pleasant. Food was very seasonal and fresh including a wonderful house-cured salmon, an heirloom tomato salad, and a great ribeye. We will make this a regular stop on our visits to Tahoe!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zythos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely but no view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Excellent halibut. Not a full bar, and we did not get a view. Waiter was flip but a good server. Nice atmosphere but they are not flexible on adding a person.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank vabene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views, was expecting much more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Arrived early for our reservation and were told we could walk down to the sand bar area and wait. Nice little area. Tried to order a cocktail but they only serve beer and wine. Surprised that there were only a few selections for wine, and nothing stood out. Ordered a glass of wine, not sure when this bottle was opened but it wasn't fresh. For $9, eghads. The server was nice enough.

The rest of the evening I was expecting so much more from the reviews here. The food was good, not outstanding. Service seemed rushed. We have plenty of excellent restaurants here in the NW, hopefully we'll find something better in our next visit to Tahoe. It's such a beautiful area.

Maybe it was just an off night at this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleD_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christy Hill Restaurant also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Christy Hill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing