We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Breakfast in the Woods!”
Review of Fire Sign Cafe

Fire Sign Cafe
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Since 1978, Fire Sign Cafe has been a family owned and operated Breakfast and Lunch restaurant. We pride ourselves on our extensive menu, full of homemade food. Our restaurant has been a local favorite since it opened. It has been featured in several publications such as Sunset Magazine, as well as shown on Rachael Ray's, "Tasty Travels". Our great service and even better food are what keep people coming back!
Dayton, MD
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast in the Woods!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Oh, what a meal. Party of six- eggs, pancakes, breakfast burrito, and fruit. Fresh squeezed orange juice was exceptional. Great food and great service. I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnowmanHOCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    99
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plumas Lake, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stopped for breakfast before going hiking. The veggie potatoes with salsa were amazing. Great variety on the menu, for both breakfast and lunch. Great value. Will definitely return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, extremely populat”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

They plan for the crowds by having a separate place to get coffee and enjoy the view. We waited 30 minutes for a table on a Sunday morning. Friendly wait staff, some innovative foods.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Another great meal at Fire Sign”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We know crowds are large around lunch time, so we planned for a 2pm arrival. Got seated immediately.
My wife and I had lunch; my teen son opted for the berry crepes special. I enjoyed my turkey, green chili, cheese and cranberry sauce sandwich. My wife enjoyed her spinich salad. Staff is very attentive. We sat on outdoor deck. No lake view, but quiet and peaceful setting under the trees. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GQtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Still great”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have been bringing friends to Fire Sign for years. They have great breakfasts and lunches. The service is very friendly and good. The meal portions are large. The location is easy. Sometimes there is a wait, but it's worth it. Check out their specials. Any of the egg dishes are good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Sign Cafe also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Fire Sign Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing