We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect breakfast spot - too adorable to just be a diner.”
Review of Fire Sign Cafe

Fire Sign Cafe
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1978, Fire Sign Cafe has been a family owned and operated Breakfast and Lunch restaurant. We pride ourselves on our extensive menu, full of homemade food. Our restaurant has been a local favorite since it opened. It has been featured in several publications such as Sunset Magazine, as well as shown on Rachael Ray's, "Tasty Travels". Our great service and even better food are what keep people coming back!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
266 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A perfect breakfast spot - too adorable to just be a diner.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Don't miss it... it's the fabled home comfort breakfast and lunch that you remember from your youth. Stunning menu, awesome service... the penultimate "mountain town" diner. Well done. We'll be back over and over.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank OnlineConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    94
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vegas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and coffee in Tahoe City”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a phenomenal breakfast along with "great" coffee. Cool atmosphere with several different types of breakfast available. I liked the annex in the rear to wait with coffee and nice friendly staff!

Helpful?
Thank VegasIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Worth the drive--absolutely”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I drove from Incline Village to get this Lake Tahoe landmark and it was COMPLETELY worth it. The kielbasa scramble was fresh and innovative--like nothing I'd ever seen before. And yet it was already warm and familiar, like a comfort food that I *should* have grown up with--all my life.

The special bakery item was a banana bread--clearly made with those over-ripe bananas that Mom used to use. And with a crispy light crust that I haven't seen in *years* of made-with-a-mix or store-boughten bread wannabes.

Even in the culinary doldrums between breakfast and lunch on a lazy Lake Tahoe offseason weekday, the Fire Sign was PACKED. I can only imagine how ludicrous it must get during peak season.

Hints? Can't think of many ... The home fries weren't all that great, but the scramble knocked my socks off. Other popular items are the huevos rancheros, and any of the benedicts. OK, maybe I wouldn't drive an hour from South Lake Tahoe or Round Hill for breakfast. But Kings Beach? Squaw Valley? Or the town named after a font (Tahoma)? Absolutely.

Hope this helps!

OK, one more tidbit: Despite the late-sixties music that's playing in the background, the name of the cafe has nothing to do with the famous LA comedy troupe from a similar vintage ... Firesign Theater. Still ... if you push something hard enough ...

:-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4allisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
275 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Always good food”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is one of my favorite places to eat in Tahoe City. They serve consistently good breakfasts and have a wonderful setting just across the lake.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breakfast or Lunch”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

On the west shore...
its thee premiere place for breakfast or lunch!!!!
Get there early on weeekends!
It gets very busy.
But you'll not be disappointed!
Go!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrHoneyDoTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Sign Cafe also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Fire Sign Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing