We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!!”

Tahoe Sailing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tahoe Sailing Charters offers lake Tahoe's premier sailing charter experience. Friendly crew and competent captains make your sail interesting and fun. We are passionate about creating positive experiences for all of our guests. Daily sailing cruises and private charters are available. Operating 7 days a week from May to October. Come join us!
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I would strongly discourage anyone from booking with Tahoe Sailing Charters. One hour before we were scheduled to leave, the company cancelled our cruise. It ruined our entire evening. Highly unprofessional.

1  Thank rnwy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler_TSC, Owner at Tahoe Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2015

Hi there!

We are so sorry you had less than an epic experience with us. Since you wrote this review, we have new ownership and management with an awesome staff to make sure you have a great time. If you are ever in Tahoe again, we would love to have you out sailing with us complimentary so we can make up for your poor experience last time. Also, since I was not the owner back then, I can't say why they cancelled the trip, but sometimes if the weather switches drastically, we feel it's unsafe to go sailing, so we have to cancel. It's unfortunate, but safety is our number one priority. We hope to see you again!

Cheers,
Captain Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went on the two-hour evening cruise and had a great time. Check-in at their office at the public marina at the north end of the lake was smooth and friendly and there was time to get to know our fellow passengers while we all gathered. The boat (Santa Cruz 50) is a re-purposed racing sloop and is comfortable with high rails to keep you feeling secure. The drinks and snacks are plentiful and tasty; and the skipper, Captain Mike, was affable and competent at the helm. The wind was light, but the boat ghosted along nicely and we had a great time. I suspect this boat is a screamer in a breeze.

Thank Rightbrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler_TSC, Owner at Tahoe Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2015

Thank you so much for sailing with us and we loved having you! We hope to see you again next year for another epic sail!

Cheers,
Captain Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Sailing Charters also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Tahoe Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing