We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fun!”

Truckee River Rafting Company
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really fun!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

It was fun and beautiful. It is appropriate for beginners, but not for children under 7yrs. The kids should have basic swimming skills. We were told over and over again how it was safe for anyone over 1yr old and that is definitely not the case. I took my 3yr old and she was scared most of the time. We helped 3 people who fell out of their raft and slammed against large boulders. One man we picked up out of the water had hit his head and was scratched up quite a bit. There is some risk involved, but super fun for older kids and adults.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindavp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great way to escape the heat of the valley”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

So much fun. We took our 4 year old & it was great. Easy float with some easy class 1 rapids. The water was just the right temp. Recommend going early enough to beat afternoon thunderstorms.

Helpful?
Thank PeaceMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well run company good for relaxing float down the river”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

These guys are pro at what they do - got us in the river quickly and efficiently despite a few minor snags. Good equipment and the ability to self guide boats is excellent. River got crowded, but stil loads of relaxing fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ottom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“family fun”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Fun time for our family. Took about 2 hrs to float down the river. The steering took some time to get the hang of.
Staff was helpful and nice.
Not inexpensive, but lots of fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank familytravelerswith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Place for River rafting”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I can't recommend this place high enough - they should get 10 stars.

Great service, great and friendly personnel, great equipment - all in all a wonderful experience for floating down the Truckee River for about a 5 mile trip that takes about 2+- hours.

Pack a lunch and your favorite beverages and stop along the way at many friendly spots.

There were 9 of us - 7 adults from 23 to 63 years old and 2 children ages 4 and 5. The equipment was perfect and the folks at both ends were friendly and informative - a very safe and fun trip for all.

Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truckee River Rafting Company also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Truckee River Rafting Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing