We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love the hiking!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area

Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area
Ranked #10 of 37 things to do in Tahoe City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The area's oldest ski resort is a perfect choice for families with children and beginners looking to learn in a low-pressure, intimate setting. With 1/2 off rates for people lodging at Granlibakken Tahoe and on-site rentals, the Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area is an affordable and convenient option for families and beginners. Our sled hill is also fun for all ages! With a complimentary saucer rental included in each day pass, and a warming hut serving authentic Mexican food at the base, the sled hill is the perfect place to spend a day!
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Love the hiking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I like this place for the hiking. I've never been skiing here but the trails for hiking lead up to Page Meadows and beyond. I usually get lost but that's the point sometimes! It is just lovely here. Great for mountain biking as well.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Granlibakken is thrilled that you enjoyed our hiking trails, as we are the only resort along the Tahoe Rim Trail. Paige Meadows is one of our favorite spots, very beautiful and peaceful. The Rim Trail is extremely popular for mountain biking as well. Next time we hope you do get a chance to experience our ski and sled hill! Sledding is open every day through the winter, while our ski lift runs Friday-Monday. Granlibakken looks forward to your next visit Cindy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for Sledding”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

I would not consider this a ski area as it only has one hill. It is however a great place to sled especially with young kids.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have a small ski hill for beginner to intermediate skiers and a great sledding area for all ages. Granlibakken thanks you for your review and is looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family sledding park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

I have taken my 6 year old son sledding at Granlibakken for the last 2 years. It is a great family activity. The sledding hill is groomed which makes for a fast, smooth ride which is good for the children & those of us still young at heart. We have taken family friends to the resort as well and had so much fun that now it has become a tradition to get together to sled with the children on christmas eve.

There have always been staff members at the bottom of the hill to make sure the children do not get run over by the other sledders behind them. It is a small resort so the children do not get lost in crowds.

We took our office staff sledding for a christmas party this year and it was a big hit for a staff party. Those staff members with children were appreciative of including the entire family. My younger employees ( in their 20's) kept saying how "awesome" it was.

This is a great family activity for those with children, and we will continue to return for years to come.

Helpful?
1 Thank docmom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Granlibakken thanks you for your review. We are thrilled that your son and family has been enjoying our sled hill over the years. Granlibakken staff is always trying to make sledding as safe and fun as possible! We hope you will return soon, we just got some great snow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2007

The only place for my kids to sled safely! They also learned how to ski with super instructors in small classes. This place i too cool with a little log cabin that serves great kid friendly mexican food.

This place has to be the best kept snow play secret at Tahoe! A must if you have kids.

Helpful?
2 Thank busymomtctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Granlibakken is a great kept secret! We appreciate your kind words. Our Snack Bar has some of the best Mexican food in Tahoe. Granlibakken is happy to hear that your children had a great time learning with our amazing ski instructors. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing