We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpine Meadows

Alpine Meadows
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Intermediate and advanced skiers and riders will most enjoy this resort, known for its especially long season.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for families with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is our go-to resort in Tahoe since we have two kids who are learning (quickly). Lots of slopes they can go on while honing their skiing skills. It's less crowded than other resorts, as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbmoore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    32
    7
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Best Ski Resort in Tahoe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Alpine is our home base...great mountain, friendly staff, low key. People here like to ski, not shop in a village@

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Davismamawolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“small mountain with big lines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Smaller than its neighbor Squaw Valley, but you wouldn't know it when you get there. If its spring hike the Sunrise Bowl. My favs were also Keyhole, waterfall, wolverine bowl and Idiots. Big lines for big line skiers!

Helpful?
Thank bldmbtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a top five on the north shore!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

One of thee best spots on all of the north shore and south !!!!
Great views and food!
Watchout for the "wetwoodys'" they are potent!!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrHoneyDoTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spring/Summer skiing at a price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Been skiing here for years with my family, but this will probably be the last. This is a great ski area and there was lots of snow on April 21st for Spring/Summer skiing(94 degrees in parts of Sacramento), but it's getting too expensive. Ticket prices went way up this last year since the merger with Squaw Valley and there's nothing new to justify the added expense. From the S.F. bay area, I can cut my drive time, ticket costs, and food/drink costs significantly by going to Sugar Bowl or any number of other closer resorts.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Meadows also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Alpine Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing