We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarack Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Sacramento
1 review
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

We've stayed here a few times, the most recent was July 2009 and had a wonderful time. Very friendly Managers! I would highly recommend The Tamarack!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elko, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

We love staying at the lodge! The short nice walk to the lake is great, it is quiet and peaceful on the grounds. I have stayed in the motel rooms and a cabin in the back and was very happy with both. The large cabin in the front is beautiful. Sitting around the fire at night is great! The Inn Keepers (Susanne, Sean and Family) are very friendly and inviting!! We will be back soon! Can't beat the price for a nice vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cranerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

I have stayed here 10 or more times and have never had any problems. The rooms all have fridges, microwaves and stove tops. The buildings are old, but they did remodel some years ago and put in double pane windows. If you're a big sissy and scared of a spider you might like the hilton better, but if you know what it means to stay in a building that is over 70 years old you understand spiders are our friends. I rather see a couple spider (although I have never personally seen one here) than know that they spay a bunch of toxic chemicals to kill them. The Front Street pizza place is fabulous and the Sawmill cafe has a great breakfast. Will be back many times I hope.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santa_Cruz_Brewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kowalski214
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

Yes this place is about as cheap as you'll get around Lake Tahoe and it does show in what you get. That really doesn't excuse the general shabiness of the place though. Our cabin was in real need of updating - especially the bathroom. The bed was terribly uncomfotable - the base of the bed was actually about 2/3 the size of the mattress! I'm not that fussy so it really didn't ruin my stay but don't come with any great expectations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kowalski214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

I stayed there for a weekend with our dive group and was welcomed in with open arms! The owners sat out with us by the fire and shared stories and their wine. They were wonderful!! The rooms were rustic cabins, though small, but it was just me, so I did not need much more. The grounds were nice as well, and it smelled of Pine. I would be happy to stay there again and have reserved a room in June. If you want a nice, quiet and relaxing place that is close, THIS IS THE PLACE!!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diverhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

Yes, the Tamarack is inexpensive compared to other Tahoe City options, but those who have never stayed there before should understand that you get what you pay for. My brother and I stayed there for two nights while on a ski trip. We rented a standard motel-style room (#24) with two queen beds. I am not a motel snob, but this room was barely acceptable. Here's what we got:

Positive:
- Close proximity to Tahoe City (just about a 1-minute drive)
- Decent discounts on lift tickets

Negative:
- An overwhelming scent of PineSol when we arrived
- A 15-inch TV with snow on every channel
- One tiny bar of soap at the vanity
- Two plastic sample size packets of body wash in the shower (not refreshed the 2nd day until we asked)
- The most low-flow shower head I have ever experienced
- Debris (tissues, cups) from a previous guest still behind the night stand
- Large black ants crawling on the nightstand (and perhaps on my brother at night)

We were afraid to walk in bare feet or socks in the room, and we didn't want to touch anything that fell on the floor anywhere in the room. If you can afford to stay elsewhere, you probably should. If not, then be forewarned.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

We have stayed at the Tamarack on numerous occasions for business and just for fun. The managers, Sue and Eric are wonderful people. We really enjoy the setting on the property.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank citiesCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
3.6 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
5.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.2 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
1.1 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Property: Tamarack Lodge
Address: 2311 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Tahoe City
Tamarack Motel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing