We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend Some Money!”
Review of Tamarack Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Yes this place is about as cheap as you'll get around Lake Tahoe and it does show in what you get. That really doesn't excuse the general shabiness of the place though. Our cabin was in real need of updating - especially the bathroom. The bed was terribly uncomfotable - the base of the bed was actually about 2/3 the size of the mattress! I'm not that fussy so it really didn't ruin my stay but don't come with any great expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kowalski214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 77 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2009

I stayed there for a weekend with our dive group and was welcomed in with open arms! The owners sat out with us by the fire and shared stories and their wine. They were wonderful!! The rooms were rustic cabins, though small, but it was just me, so I did not need much more. The grounds were nice as well, and it smelled of Pine. I would be happy to stay there again and have reserved a room in June. If you want a nice, quiet and relaxing place that is close, THIS IS THE PLACE!!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diverhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Yes, the Tamarack is inexpensive compared to other Tahoe City options, but those who have never stayed there before should understand that you get what you pay for. My brother and I stayed there for two nights while on a ski trip. We rented a standard motel-style room (#24) with two queen beds. I am not a motel snob, but this room was barely acceptable. Here's what we got:

Positive:
- Close proximity to Tahoe City (just about a 1-minute drive)
- Decent discounts on lift tickets

Negative:
- An overwhelming scent of PineSol when we arrived
- A 15-inch TV with snow on every channel
- One tiny bar of soap at the vanity
- Two plastic sample size packets of body wash in the shower (not refreshed the 2nd day until we asked)
- The most low-flow shower head I have ever experienced
- Debris (tissues, cups) from a previous guest still behind the night stand
- Large black ants crawling on the nightstand (and perhaps on my brother at night)

We were afraid to walk in bare feet or socks in the room, and we didn't want to touch anything that fell on the floor anywhere in the room. If you can afford to stay elsewhere, you probably should. If not, then be forewarned.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We have stayed at the Tamarack on numerous occasions for business and just for fun. The managers, Sue and Eric are wonderful people. We really enjoy the setting on the property.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank citiesCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

This place is about 1.5 miles from Tahoe City. We had stayed in one of the cabins This place has lots of history and the people at the front desk make sure you know that. They give you this paper about it being in the family since 1927. If you are a history buff, then you would like this. The cabins are all knotty pine, so you feel real woodsy staying there. We were there in the Winter time, so we really did not get to take a long walk, but from what I can see it would be nice in the spring and summer. The ski slopes are about 10-15 minutes away, depending on the traffic. We could see the lake from the place and the walk is not far to get there. We definely would go back in the summer to see the property without the snow.
The rooms are real quiet and conformable and they have small kitchens to beable to cook in.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jujuSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

This is the best value you can get in the area. It's located less than a 5 minute drive from Tahoe City and approximately 15 minutes from Sqaw or Alpine. The cabins with queeen rooms are cozy but don't expect top quality accomodations. I've stayed in this place 2 winters and do recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Febrazuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2008

Tamarack Lodge is located a mile or so east of Tahoe City, which is located on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe, California. As 2 couples, we were looking for a 'condo' with 2 bedrooms and decent kitchen facilities. The 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin fitted the bill perfectly and at around $150 a night for the 4 of us it represented good value. Each bedroom had its own bathroom which made it ideal for 2 couples. The cabin was clean and really cozy, but we had a fair few ants in the kitchen, not quite reaching invasion quantities but noticeable. For us it wasn't really a problem and we accepted that the cabin was located in the forest and this was their turf, also we weren't paying premium rates. There is a nice walk to the nearby lake front and Tahoe City is not too far, although after a days skiing we weren't up for walking there. Tahoe City is very small but really nice and worth giving up a few hours to spend a lazy afternoon by the lake shore. I can imagine that it is beautiful place for sailing in the summer. If you want to ski the resorts around the north shore then this is a great accommodation choice for those on a budget. Cook your own food, (a Safeway is in Tahoe City) and save a packet. I would definitely stay again providing the rates stay this good.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank moo_mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
6.0 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
631 reviews
5.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
533 reviews
1.0 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Address: 2311 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range: $70 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our 90th year, Tamarack Lodge offers 21 rooms and cabins at surprisingly affordable prices. On nearly four acres of land one mile east of Tahoe City, we are at the edge of Burton Creek State Park, and are near everything you want to see in North Tahoe. There is also plenty to do right here on our own property. Families and groups love it here, and we are pet friendly too. Our "Poker Rooms" and cabins are genuinely "Old Tahoe". The cabins have full kitchen and are great for a weekend or a week. Our King and Double Queen rooms are spacious and comfortable. All rooms have microwave ovens and refrigerators; many have kitchens. Bring your boat! We have plenty of parking and boat launching is just 60 seconds away. Bring your bike and boots too. Mountain and road trails leave from here. We're 15 minutes from downhill skiing, or head out the back door with your nordic skis or snowshoes. We have been family owned since 1927, and we are committed to treating you well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Tahoe City
Tamarack Motel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing