We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Spend Some Money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarack Lodge
Save
You added Tamarack Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
kowalski214
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spend Some Money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Yes this place is about as cheap as you'll get around Lake Tahoe and it does show in what you get. That really doesn't excuse the general shabiness of the place though. Our cabin was in real need of updating - especially the bathroom. The bed was terribly uncomfotable - the base of the bed was actually about 2/3 the size of the mattress! I'm not that fussy so it really didn't ruin my stay but don't come with any great expectations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kowalski214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

I stayed there for a weekend with our dive group and was welcomed in with open arms! The owners sat out with us by the fire and shared stories and their wine. They were wonderful!! The rooms were rustic cabins, though small, but it was just me, so I did not need much more. The grounds were nice as well, and it smelled of Pine. I would be happy to stay there again and have reserved a room in June. If you want a nice, quiet and relaxing place that is close, THIS IS THE PLACE!!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diverhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Yes, the Tamarack is inexpensive compared to other Tahoe City options, but those who have never stayed there before should understand that you get what you pay for. My brother and I stayed there for two nights while on a ski trip. We rented a standard motel-style room (#24) with two queen beds. I am not a motel snob, but this room was barely acceptable. Here's what we got:

Positive:
- Close proximity to Tahoe City (just about a 1-minute drive)
- Decent discounts on lift tickets

Negative:
- An overwhelming scent of PineSol when we arrived
- A 15-inch TV with snow on every channel
- One tiny bar of soap at the vanity
- Two plastic sample size packets of body wash in the shower (not refreshed the 2nd day until we asked)
- The most low-flow shower head I have ever experienced
- Debris (tissues, cups) from a previous guest still behind the night stand
- Large black ants crawling on the nightstand (and perhaps on my brother at night)

We were afraid to walk in bare feet or socks in the room, and we didn't want to touch anything that fell on the floor anywhere in the room. If you can afford to stay elsewhere, you probably should. If not, then be forewarned.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

We have stayed at the Tamarack on numerous occasions for business and just for fun. The managers, Sue and Eric are wonderful people. We really enjoy the setting on the property.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank citiesCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

This place is about 1.5 miles from Tahoe City. We had stayed in one of the cabins This place has lots of history and the people at the front desk make sure you know that. They give you this paper about it being in the family since 1927. If you are a history buff, then you would like this. The cabins are all knotty pine, so you feel real woodsy staying there. We were there in the Winter time, so we really did not get to take a long walk, but from what I can see it would be nice in the spring and summer. The ski slopes are about 10-15 minutes away, depending on the traffic. We could see the lake from the place and the walk is not far to get there. We definely would go back in the summer to see the property without the snow.
The rooms are real quiet and conformable and they have small kitchens to beable to cook in.

  • Liked — how quiet and clean it was
  • Disliked — that we could not stay longer
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jujuSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

This is the best value you can get in the area. It's located less than a 5 minute drive from Tahoe City and approximately 15 minutes from Sqaw or Alpine. The cabins with queeen rooms are cozy but don't expect top quality accomodations. I've stayed in this place 2 winters and do recommend this place.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Febrazuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

Tamarack Lodge is located a mile or so east of Tahoe City, which is located on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe, California. As 2 couples, we were looking for a 'condo' with 2 bedrooms and decent kitchen facilities. The 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin fitted the bill perfectly and at around $150 a night for the 4 of us it represented good value. Each bedroom had its own bathroom which made it ideal for 2 couples. The cabin was clean and really cozy, but we had a fair few ants in the kitchen, not quite reaching invasion quantities but noticeable. For us it wasn't really a problem and we accepted that the cabin was located in the forest and this was their turf, also we weren't paying premium rates. There is a nice walk to the nearby lake front and Tahoe City is not too far, although after a days skiing we weren't up for walking there. Tahoe City is very small but really nice and worth giving up a few hours to spend a lazy afternoon by the lake shore. I can imagine that it is beautiful place for sailing in the summer. If you want to ski the resorts around the north shore then this is a great accommodation choice for those on a budget. Cook your own food, (a Safeway is in Tahoe City) and save a packet. I would definitely stay again providing the rates stay this good.

  • Liked — Value, setting, staff.
  • Disliked — Ants.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moo_mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
3.5 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
5.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Property: Tamarack Lodge
Address: 2311 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Tahoe City
Tamarack Motel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing