We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job, but not again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepper Tree Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
SW Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Did the job, but not again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2004

Ideal location...right across the street from the lake. However, rooms were a bit worn. Found out the hardway that local calls are charged after 30 minutes (we had our laptop and needed to connect to intenet). When I asked the manager he said there should be something in the room exlaining the policy. There wasn't and that is the first thing I look for when going to hotels. There was no AC and while it was cool in the evening you had to keep the room window open (fine) and the bathroom window open to get a cross breeze. The bathroom did not have a screen and thus bugs galore. There are lots of other places we will stay next time we come to Tahoe.

Helpful?
4 Thank TravelGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    71
    36
    14
    15
See reviews for
47
82
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2004

We were incredibly disappointed with the quality of this hotel. The building is run down, the outside is rundown, the room was very small, sheets barely fit the bed, there was no tub-just a small shower in a very small bathroom with small towels. There was no air conditioning, which would not be a problem if you could open the windows and still be secure, but if you open the window anyone walking down the walkway could get into your room - not to mention you would listen to traffic noise all night. The traffic noise in Tahoe City is huge and there was not even a fan to provide "white noise." Nice view of lake (we were in tower) but, again, you have to sit on the common walkway to appreciate it. Nothing "cute" or nice about this hotel to make it worth the money. You would expect to get this sort of room at Motel 6 but not at the rates this place charges.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tahoe City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2004

Upon arrival, the outside of the hotel didn't impress us too much. However, we were pretty impressed by the quality of the rooms and the view. The rooms don't dazzle you with fancy chandeliers or anything. But they are exactly what we were looking for. Clean, cozy, quiet, and as my girlfriend put it.... "really cute." Not to mention the jacuzzi tub was really nice. We were in one of the tower rooms, so the view was really nice too. We booked through Expedia ($96 a night, I think) and didn't have any problems with the front desk staff. I must admit, they weren't the friendliest or most talkative of people, but they weren't rude either.

We agreed we would love to stay here again. Pretty good deal we think.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2004

Unlike the last review we came across on here, we booked the room through the hotels website so didn't encounter any of the problems mentioned there.

We stayed mid may 04 for two nights and had a newly refurbished tower room with great views of the lake. The room was pretty large and had a very comfortable bed along with a fridge, microwave etc... The location is also pretty good if you are after a quiet time away from the hustle of South Tahoe. All in all, well worth the money.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2004

PLEASE BEWARE!!! This hotel treats guests like trespassers. They tried as hard as possible to ruin our anniversary trip last month. We have never been treated this rudely by anyone at anytime in the hospitality industry. If you have pre-paid reservations through Expedia or Travelocity (like we did) they will intentionally give you the worst possible room regardless of what was advertised on the website and then try to blame the internet company. They told me my only solution was to pay again for the room I wanted, but at twice the price, and then try to get my money back from the internet company later.By everything they said and did, it was obvious that could care less about their guest and they only wanted my money. Stay far away from this place because they have mastered the art of ripping people off!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank USC-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2004

Stayed 1 night at the newly renovated room. Very clean and absolutely gorgeous room design! Would defintely go back again!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2003

Even though we paid for an economy room, the friendly staff had upgraded us to an upper floor, remodled room when we arrived. The room had a terrific view of the lake and was nicely decorated, although a little small. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning, but that wasn't a problem, even in July! Located in Tahoe City, the hotel is walking distance from many shops and restaurants, which is really convenient.
We liked that it was away from the hustle and bustle of South Shore, but still had a great atmosphere. We would definately return.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
4.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Inn

Property: Pepper Tree Inn
Address: 645 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pepper Tree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a privately owned one-of-a-kind B & B, centrally located in the heart of Tahoe City, directly across the street from Lake Tahoe. Our 7-story tower building is the 2nd tallest structure on the CA side and affords our guests a beautiful view of the lake from their balcony. Recent room linen & towels upgrades and 32" flat screen TV's. We offer our guests free off-street & underground parking, free access to our newly upgraded secure WiFi, 8-free HBO Channels via our new (60 channel) Direct TV upgrade, a free "extended" continental breakfast in our quaint breakfast room, and a Staff who is sensitive and dedicated to our guests needs and comfort. We have a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool to which we have just added a new privacy fence, and offer recommendations to area attractions and even discount coupons to our favorite area restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Hotel Tahoe City
Pepper Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing